Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
No Mulligans

Golf Rules Quiz - How well can you do?

Note: This thread is 1290 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

0  

  1. 1. How many of the questions did you get correct?

    • Aced it
      6
    • 10 or 11 correct
      8
    • 8 or 9 correct
      12
    • 7 or 8 correct
      8
    • 5 or 6 correct
      16
    • less than 5 correct
      5


73 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

I got 6 of 12 right.  I guess I don't know the rules.  Here is the quiz:

http://www.golfdigest.com/magazine/cbsquizwithanswers

No checking the rules book while taking the test please.  This is a closed book test.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

11 out of 12.

For whatever reason I thought the answer to #3 was one stroke.
For #7, wasn't sure whether the answer was C or D but I guessed correctly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Damn, guess I need to bone up, 6 of 12. Didn't realize there were so many 2 stroke penalties.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Didn't realize there were so many 2 stroke penalties.

They are generally awarded if the player had some control over the situation rather than a straight-forward accident.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8

but see the thing is that instead of slipping that donut over the club he could have taken out a second iron and swung two clubs. I don't believe there is a rule against that.

Now what if you only have 13 clubs in your bag and an orange whip.... could you use the orange whip?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8

but see the thing is that instead of slipping that donut over the club he could have taken out a second iron and swung two clubs. I don't believe there is a rule against that.

Now what if you only have 13 clubs in your bag and an orange whip.... could you use the orange whip?

You may not swing the Orange Whip during the stipulated round. (You may carry it in your golf bag, however.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6/12

I knew most which were penalized, but not what the penalty was.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6/12

I knew most which were penalized, but not what the penalty was.

Ask yourself 'could the player have avoided doing what he did (or didn't)?'. It usually gives you the answer. The notable exception is Rule 18, where an accidental movement of the ball and a deliberate movement get the same penalty. The 2 strokes is for not replacing the ball; which the player does control.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11

I skipped the bridge question because i knew it was one of 2 answers but just could not recall which, and I didn't feel this was the kind of quiz on which guessing was appropriate.  It is about what we KNOW, not just how we score.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't really understand why asking what iron the guy hit should be penalized when he could have just as well made sure to look at it. Can you ask before the swing like when everyone is standing around waiting?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't really understand why asking what iron the guy hit should be penalized when he could have just as well made sure to look at it. Can you ask before the swing like when everyone is standing around waiting?

Only if you haven't yet started your round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Now I was asked what I hit on the hole during a tournament after everyone hit. Not that it would have made any difference if they'd asked me before anyway. It was a 147 yd par 3 (11th hole). I hit a 7 iron into a 20 mph wind and put it on the green. They hit 5 woods.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1290 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  



×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...