Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Club Rat

Ball moved accidentally when player is getting stung by bee?

Note: This thread is 1521 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

41 posts / 2540 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

During our annual Member/Member last weekend, my friend was about to putt.

He get's stung by one of those pesty sweat bees and accidentally bumps the ball with his putter.

How should he proceed and are there any rules which covers these mishaps?

I wasn't sure and could not think of any rule which covers a situation like which happened.

I advised him to mark the original spot, continue play as the ball lies and then play a second ball from the original spot.

Then inquire with the Pro before turning in the score card.

Club Rat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Since there is no consideration in the rules for such an incident, it is treated like any other case where the player causes the ball at rest to move.  One stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced.  If the ball is not replaced, then two strokes and the score stands.  It doesn't sound as if the ball moved far enough to call it a serious breach.

In your case, the score with the second ball would be the one that counts, adding a penalty stroke.  When the player is the cause of the ball moving, it must always be replaced - the act of the bee is irrelevant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hmmm.... just throwing this out there... could the bee be considered an "outside agency" that technically was the cause of the ball moving? e.g. the bee caused the ball to move by the act of stinging the player?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since he bumped the ball with his putter, why would that not be one stroke and play the next stroke from where it lies? As if he had putted it ... even though it may not had gone any distance at all. I don't understand the "why" behind the penalty when you hit(bump) with a club.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hmmm.... just throwing this out there... could the bee be considered an "outside agency" that technically was the cause of the ball moving? e.g. the bee caused the ball to move by the act of stinging the player?

Nope. While the bee is an outside agency, it did not, itself, move the ball. It's an argument I'd expect one of my buddies to try to make though..... ;-) [quote name="isukgolf" url="/t/83788/ball-moved-accidentally-when-player-is-getting-stung-by-bee#post_1182888"]Since he bumped the ball with his putter, why would that not be one stroke and play the next stroke from where it lies? As if he had putted it ... even though it may not had gone any distance at all. I don't understand the "why" behind the penalty when you hit(bump) with a club.[/quote] Because in order for it to count as a stroke, you must intend to strike the ball. One of only a handful of places in the Rules where intent matters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

" When the player is the cause of the ball moving, it must always be replaced"

.....except:  " If the ball is moved , it must be replaced, unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since there is no consideration in the rules for such an incident, it is treated like any other case where the player causes the ball at rest to move.  One stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced.  If the ball is not replaced, then two strokes and the score stands.  It doesn't sound as if the ball moved far enough to call it a serious breach.

In your case, the score with the second ball would be the one that counts, adding a penalty stroke.  When the player is the cause of the ball moving, it must always be replaced - the act of the bee is irrelevant.

Stroke

A " stroke " is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke .

However 18-2

b . Ball Moving After Address

If a player's ball in play moves after he has addressed it (other than as a result of a stroke ), the player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty of one stroke .

The ball must be replaced, unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made.

Exception: If it is known or virtually certain that the player did not cause his ball to move , Rule 18-2b does not apply.

At first I thought it would be considered a stroke since he hit the ball with his putter. However it seems that there was not intent to hit the ball as defined above.

Therefore if there was no intent to move the ball the golfer must replace the ball and take a stroke.

hmmm.... just throwing this out there...

could the bee be considered an "outside agency" that technically was the cause of the ball moving? e.g. the bee caused the ball to move by the act of stinging the player?

The "outside agency" did not cause the ball to move. The golfer did.

I think using your logic you would say that when a rain drop hits the golfer on the back of the neck causing the golfer to flinch and move the ball, it is an "outside agency".

it is the golfer who moves the ball not his/her surroundings!

but that is just my opinion!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by ccotenj

hmmm.... just throwing this out there...

could the bee be considered an "outside agency" that technically was the cause of the ball moving? e.g. the bee caused the ball to move by the act of stinging the player?

The "outside agency" did not cause the ball to move. The golfer did.

I think using your logic you would say that when a rain drop hits the golfer on the back of the neck causing the golfer to flinch and move the ball, it is an "outside agency".

it is the golfer who moves the ball not his/her surroundings!

but that is just my opinion!

nah, i'd consider "rain" to be the same as "wind" (not an outside agency)...  a golfer can reasonably expect wind/rain to impact his person, whereas the bee sting isn't something in his "expectation"...

like i said, just throwing it out there...   but there is a definite link of causality between the bee sting and the ball moving...  which is why "outside agency" popped into mind...

let's make it an alligator running out of a pond at a player, player runs, accidentally moves ball...  ruling?  a penalty for avoiding mauling/death seems rather extreme...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

let's make it an alligator running out of a pond at a player, player runs, accidentally moves ball...  ruling?  a penalty for avoiding mauling/death seems rather extreme...

Yep, penalty. Not for "avoiding mauling/death", but for causing his ball to move. Had the alligator moved the ball in chasing the golfer, the ball would have actually been moved by the outside agency , and there would be no penalty. It's worth remembering, that the Rules aren't necessarily "fair", but they must be "equitable", that is, they treat all like situations the same. The like situation in these cases is that the golfer caused his ball to move, for whatever reason.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I played a shot recently back up a slope and just as I was about to make contact with the ball it moved down the slope a fraction towards on the oncoming club head I take it that should be a 1 stroke penalty?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I played a shot recently back up a slope and just as I was about to make contact with the ball it moved down the slope a fraction towards on the oncoming club head I take it that should be a 1 stroke penalty?

Not necessarily, unless you caused the ball to move or had addressed it. As in putting on a slope, in a situation like that you're better off not to address the ball.... Addressing the Ball A player has "addressed the ball" when he has grounded his club immediately in front of or immediately behind the ball, whether or not he has taken his stance. Decision 14-5/1 pertains. 14-5/1 Ball Moving During Backswing Struck While Still Moving Q.A player's ball starts moving during his backswing and he strikes the ball while it is still moving. What is the ruling? A.There is no penalty under Rule 14-5 because the ball began to move after the player had begun his backswing. However, if the player had caused the ball to move or addressed it, he incurred a penalty stroke - Rule 18-2a or b.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I played a shot recently back up a slope and just as I was about to make contact with the ball it moved down the slope a fraction towards on the oncoming club head

I take it that should be a 1 stroke penalty?

No penalty UNLESS you either caused the ball to move or had addressed it

14-5/1

Ball Moving During Backswing Struck While Still Moving

Q. A player's ball starts moving during his backswing and he strikes the ball while it is still moving. What is the ruling?

A. There is no penalty under Rule 14-5 because the ball began to move after the player had begun his backswing. However, if the player had caused the ball to move or addressed it, he incurred a penalty stroke - Rule 18-2a or b.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I can say is that you have to be pretty damned observant to notice something in that 1/4 second. If you entered your score already it's too late.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

nah, i'd consider "rain" to be the same as "wind" (not an outside agency)...  a golfer can reasonably expect wind/rain to impact his person, whereas the bee sting isn't something in his "expectation"...

like i said, just throwing it out there...   but there is a definite link of causality between the bee sting and the ball moving...  which is why "outside agency" popped into mind...

let's make it an alligator running out of a pond at a player, player runs, accidentally moves ball...  ruling?  a penalty for avoiding mauling/death seems rather extreme...


I dont think it matters if it is a bee that hits you or a drop of rain or a leaf. The golfer caused the ball to move.
Would you say there is no penalty if someone blew a horn or yelled and it caused you to jump and make contact with the ball? These are things that are not in "expectation"


it is still the golfer who moves the ball and this is what the rules address.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I played a shot recently back up a slope and just as I was about to make contact with the ball it moved down the slope a fraction towards on the oncoming club head

I take it that should be a 1 stroke penalty?


Hitting the moving ball does not incur a penalty. The stroke counts.

Then you need to consider whether you had addressed the ball or not (i.e. grounded your putter behind or in front of the ball)?

1.  If you had addressed the ball, you need to ask:

Did anything else definitely cause my ball to move such as a sudden gust of wind (the slope doesn't count)?

If yes, something else could be identified as the cause of the movement, there is no penalty.

If no, nothing else could be identified that moved the ball,  you are deemed to have caused it move and incur a one stroke penalty.  You do not replace the ball.

2.  If you had not addressed the ball, you need to ask:

Did I cause the ball to move?

If yes,  you incur a one stroke penalty but do not replace the ball.

If no, there is no penalty and you do not replace the ball.

Rules 14-5, 18-2a and 18-2b apply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My advice is don't overthink the problem. You'll drive yourself nuts. You probably broke at least 4 laws just driving to the golf course. You're worried about whether you caused the ball to move a fraction of an inch during your downswing? Honestly I can't tell if I caused my ball to move a fraction of an inch during my downswing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1521 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Best part about 12 holes is you get to hit the local watering hole after your round and respond to those nosy patrons that you shot a 68.  No need to tell them you were 20 over par... 😊
    • Spent time this past weekend doing my annual club/bag cleaning. I wipe down my clubs after every shot. During my golf year, about every couple of months they get get a more thorough cleaning. All this cleaning helps with longevity.  This weekend's work involved cleaning grips, and buffing the the club heads. I use dish detergent, and a light scratch pad on the grips, which helps to regain some of the tackiness to them. Gets the accumulated oil, and grime off of them.  I buff the heads to regain the lost luster. Just making them shiny again. I put my groove cleaner to good work. I pay close attention to the soles, to see how perpendicular the scratch lines are to the club face. This gives me a little info on my impact position.  Cleaning my bag is an adventure in itself. Old, forgotten snack bars that made their way to bottom of the bag. That, and lost change, and forgotten trash. I found my favorite divot tool that I thought I lost at Bandon Dunes a few months ago.  Everything gets taken out, and cleaned. Trash gets thrown away. The compartments get vacuumed. The zippers get some very light (Vaseline) lube. I check all the seams, and connecting points for stitching repairs as needed. Strap connections get a thorough look see. Electronic stuff gets new batteries.  I also clean, and repair the 5 head covers I use. They tend to get a little dirty. I use puppet heads on my metal woods. The "Big Dog" (St.Bernard) cover required a little stitching.  Good thing my wife tought me how to stitch with out poking my fingers too many times. Proper tools makes this an easy chore.   The last thing I do is give the outside of the bag a good wipe down, with a light coating of Amor All. Then I set it out in the sun to dry off, followed by another wipe down.   Once the cleaning is all done, I do the restocking of clubs, tees, balls, divot tools,  ball marker coins, rags, shoes, gps, lazer, extra batteries,  blank score cards, and anything else I think I might need. One of the larger compartments stays empty for that spur of the moment stuff, that might require an ice block. Like others, I always seem to miss that "NO OUTSIDE COOLERS, FOOD, OR BEVERSGES ALLOWED" signage.    As I said previously. Clean tools, properly maintained, last longer. I'd also hate to think I lost a stroke or two, due to a slippery grip, or dirty club head. 
    • 1. Inconsistent pre shot routines 2. Chatting too much 3. Playing to quickly
    • I carry mainly so don’t want too much extra weight.  1 13xclubs 2 6xballs 3 2xgloves 4 Bag of tees 5 Pencil 6 Sharpie marker 7 Pitchmark repair tool and ball marker 8 Towel 9 Rules book 10 Spare card of the course 11 Waterproof jacket ( if the W forecast is really bad) 12 Umbrella (as above) 13 Drink 14 Snack        
    • Let it all out, folks. 1. Having made an approach shot that came to rest off the green, I do what most of us do. I park the cart, grab the putter and maybe a couple of clubs for the most likely next shot.  The problem is that when I guess wrong, I rarely then go back to the cart.  I will make do with what I brought. 2. At address, I often simply forget to go through the proper swing thoughts that I know I have to keep in mind.  The consequences are predictably awful. 3. Knowing full well that alcohol spoils my round, I can not turn down a beer or two.  And my friends love to bring them.  I even buy them at times. I am sure there are more.  What are yours?
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. adamlevine
      adamlevine
      (25 years old)
    2. don28
      don28
      (51 years old)
    3. pope1086
      pope1086
      (33 years old)
    4. rosemiche
      rosemiche
      (5 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...