Jump to content
iacas

What'd You Shoot Today?

16,875 posts / 348283 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

91 - stonebrooke golf course - shakopee, mn.  71.5/137, 6,430.

the actions the got me here are just not unusual.  I think anything that is between 79 and 92 is in the cards.  That’s a big part of my problem.   I just don’t know what I’m gonna bring to the course.  And when it’s bad, it spirals out of control. 

Only lost 1 ball off the tee, which was off hole 1.  Shanked two approaches into the water. Blades two chips over the green (coincenentally, water past the green both times.).    Putted 10ft past the hole twice.   Just an all around bad day.   It happens.  It’s in the past.   

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Shot an 83 on a par 72 course on Friday, which is 2.5 strokes better than my HI, but I wasn't happy with the round. Well, let's say I wasn't happy with my score! From tee to green I was quite happy. I don't know where my approach game and wedge play came from that day, but it's the best it's been this season. I gave myself all kind of opportunities for birdie, but a gang of 3 jacks led to the 83! 

For whatever reason, I just could not putt that day. This is an older course built in the 60's, and the greens feature a lot of "tilt". Also, it's been hot and dry here lately, so the greens were pretty fiery. Even with an uphill, right to left breaker, a putt I normally love, I had no luck. I hit a lot of "shepherd's crook" putts uphill. They'd break across the face, or behind the hole, and start to come back to me! And woe be unto you if your approach left you above the hole! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

My most recent round was at Pierce Lake Golf Course.  Shot 77 (69.6/131).  Generally played well but had a little bit of everything: great drives, flubbed fairway woods, pin point iron shots, fat wedge into the penalty area, etc...  I birdied three of the four closing holes to turn a meh round into one that made me feel pretty good.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

New day at a new course. Par 71, 5297 yards, played from forward tees. My score 90:  44 Out 46 In

0 Birdies, 4 Pars, 9 Bogies, 5 double

Penalties 4 Out of Bounds (all to the left) 4 swimming.

Conditions: 83º at tee off and humid (for AZ).  There was no significant winds to fight. At the start, course was damp from storms last night. seemed much drier as the round went on. No standing water.

Many of my problems were due to not knowing the course.  I went for what I though would be good for the next shot, only to pay too far left or placed myself near a tree or pond (and in a few). I will be playing this again soon.  Seems like a course that fits my game well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Played one of the Lake Tahoe courses today. Shot an 84 for my effort.  (43/41/32). +4 over my personal target score

No real bad shots, but no real good ones either. Missed a few skinny fairways, and a few putts.

Funny. Just a few days ago I was playing in high triple digit temps. Today's high was in the low 70s. Started the round in the high 60s.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

43-37 for an 80.

Another round where I ruin my scorecard in the first 3 holes. Went 8 over through 3. It was bad.. Hole 1 I striped my driver but aimed too far to the right since my typical shot is a pull draw. Proceeded to bode the wedge over the green, hit a tree, then get stuck behind another, chipped to the side to give myself an angle, bladed the chip across the green then chipped to about 6 feet and missed the putt for a 7. Hope 2 I drove it into the water because to be fair I gunned the hazard and my range finger said 315 and I thought I didn’t have a chance of hitting it but upon reaching the hazard I shot back to the golfer behind me and it said 265 so I’m not sure what I actually gunned. Re-Teed into the rough, left myself 165 out into the wind I hit a 7 iron and smoked it by the green, hit the cart path and went in the water behind the green. dropped behind the green shot to about 4 feet and sank the putt for a 9. I then made 4 pars, a bogey and a birdie. +8 front.

Made the turn and immediately bogeyed, made 6 pars in a row, then birdied the 17th and double bogeyed to finish. +2 back.

+10 80.

 

Edited by freshmanUTA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Played 2 rounds last fri and sat. One was at my friend’s course which I have always played awful in our head to heads there. I typically have putting disasters. Managed 32 putts and beat him 40-42 on front but I shot 47 on back and eventually lost. Only 3 putted one green tho and wasn’t all that sad. Next day another course in the area I’m not that familiar with. 38/40 on a par 70 layout that is not all that tough. Was happy to get through with 27 putts. Didn’t have my best ball striking day but 9 up and downs will make the scorecard look a little better!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Local 18 hole course.  Was hitting well for the most part.........  ended with a 90, not counting the 3 Mulligans......  LOL

1 3 putt - 3 1 putt - the rest were all 2 putts.......  Happy with that........ Several nice drives and follow up shots.

Beautiful day to be out on the course.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Intended to just work on the range with my wonky driver, but got roped into subbing in a two-man scramble league afterward.

Thanks largely to my much-stronger partner we finished even with a bogey and a birdie.

I seemed to hit some ok shots on the range, but only managed two decent drives in nine holes when it counted. Lost a ridiculous three balls to hazards.

Other than a couple of odd shots, my only significant contribution were a couple of putts in the 10-12 foot range for a birdie and a par-save. Sad day when my putting is the strongest part of my game. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Got in 9, "chilly"  holes this morning before we start heading towards NorCal.

Carded a +4, 40. 5 pars,  4 B-1s, and 16 putts. Missed a couple of makeable putts, I did. Maybe it was cool morning grass on the greens. 

Hit some nice drives, hitting, and staying in 7/9 fairways. The two missed ones were not that bad. 

Where ever our next golf stop is, I am going to put in some practice on my putting. I seem to be developing a little issue I need to look at. Not really worried about yet

Edited by Patch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1st round with a ball switch. Clean round as in no doubles but shot 83. 11 bogeys and 8 pars. Just fighting it with my driver for the last couple rounds but making a score with my short game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For some reason, I can't play the back nine now. Last four rounds:

41-46-87   39-45-84  40-47-87  42-46-88

Everyone at my club believes that the back nine is easier. It may be shorter, but I contend it is harder because it requires all your clubs. Mistakes are more penal and I've been making plenty of them. I won't be breaking 80 this year if this keeps up. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12 minutes ago, phan52 said:

For some reason, I can't play the back nine now. Last four rounds:

41-46-87   39-45-84  40-47-87  42-46-88

Everyone at my club believes that the back nine is easier. It may be shorter, but I contend it is harder because it requires all your clubs. Mistakes are more penal and I've been making plenty of them. I won't be breaking 80 this year if this keeps up. 

Perhaps that back 9 does not fit your game as well as the front 9. Golf is a game of adjustments. Maybe changing the way you approach that back 9 might help your score. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, Patch said:

Perhaps that back 9 does not fit your game as well as the front 9. Golf is a game of adjustments. Maybe changing the way you approach that back 9 might help your score. 

 

I struggled with the back at my normal home track for a while. Went out and started on 10 a couple times to play it while I was fresh. Built up my confidence on a few of the holes I struggled with. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Within the past few years, we've had topics of discussion surrounding the idea and practice of girls playing in boys tournaments in high school golf. To recap: In this topic, a 14-year-old 8th grader won the boys state championship in Delaware competing from 85% of the distance. Delaware at the time didn't have a separate tournament for girls as there were apparently not many girls at all playing. They noted that they have hope to have enough girls to some day have a separate girls tournament. The girls competed on the "team" as well, and the team won too. In this instance, boys play in the fall, and girls play in the spring. The high school for which this girl played doesn't have a girls team, so she's eligible to play for the boys team, and still compete in the regional and state events in the spring for the girls. She played from shorter tees than the boys, and her team did not win/advance. And again, she could compete in the spring against other girls from the same tees. In PIAA, apparently, we have two sisters in the WPIAL (a Pittsburgh area league) that compete for Carmichaels. The school doesn't have a girls golf team, and there's apparently a PIAA rule that says that only one girl from each school can compete in the girls championship (districts, regionals, and then states). Remmey competed for the girls as a freshman and sophomore. Her year-older sister Delaney competed on the boys side those two years but didn't get out of her district (the WPIAL). This year, they put Delaney (a senior this year) through the girls so she'd have a better chance of going to States, and Remmey (junior) went through the boys track. These are individual tournaments, not the team events, which are run separately. I believe they both play on the boys team for Carmichaels. Anyway, Remmey (in the boys track) shot 72 playing from 85% of the distance that the boys played to finish second. The top 22 of 44 players advanced. Her sister, Delaney, shot 90 to miss the playoff to move on to states for AA girls by two. Club House Leaderboard - Scrolf.com Get real-time leaderboard and mobile scoring for your next golf event or league. Works on any mobile device with no app downloads. Here's the first story: Sisters Remmey and Delaney Lohr to compete in WPIAL golf finals — for girls and boys Carmichaels junior Remmey Lohr placed third in the WPIAL girls golf finals last year, but this year she’s competing on the boys side. Here's the second: Carmichaels golfer Remmey Lohr qualifies for PIAA boys championships Lohr used an eagle to place second at the PIAA western regional qualifier. My stance on this stuff remains the same. If a girl CHOOSES to compete against boys (when there's a girl's team available, or a girls track), when she has an alternative, she should be allowed to compete so long as it's on actually equal terms. That means the same tees. This basically treats the boys division as "open." I'm also fine if the rules simply say "boys" and don't allow girls to compete at all for individual titles. For teams, I think the 85% is a good compromise, because some teams literally might not even have enough players to compete if they don't allow girls to play for them, and that would hurt more people than allowing girls to play. Still, these girls should compete through the girls individual track, if available, not the boys. Unless, again, they made a choice to play for the boys when an alternative (girls) was available. Should a girl playing quarterback for the high school team only have to advance the ball 8.5 yards for a first down? Should a girl playing on a boys basketball team get a second, lower basket because girls aren't generally as tall as boys? Should a girls high school pitcher that chooses to play baseball get to pitch from, oh, 50 feet instead? P.S. It's not said above, but the best fix here is to adjust the "one girl" rule. Adjust that, and this isn't an issue. Why penalize girls who don't have a girls team by only allowing one of them to qualify, when four or five girls from a high school with a program could all qualify?
    • I think it's fun. You get to take runs at every hole because every chip shot becomes much easier, and even if not that, you get to take a run at the resulting putt. It's fun to push it to the limit sometimes in order to see how low you can go.
    • That's a very specific scenario covered by the rules. He would be DQed for a serious breach of Rule 14-7b for playing from the wrong place. I take your point, but there really isn't much of a difference between a DQ and 58 penalty strokes.
    • Where have you been? 🙂 Remember? She made a 5 and wrote down (signed for) a 4. She knows what score she had, and signed for a lower one. This isn't the same thing. Because Dave got it wrong. You're DQed for a lower score, you take the higher score. Well, she got 58 penalty strokes, so… It's not like she just got away with it or something. Again, did you miss that whole conversation in the topic I posted up above? You didn't, because you replied in it. He'd be DQed for playing from a wrong place. Such an act can't be "rectified" by correcting the scorecard. Rule 1 says this: That would be such a case. The scorecard could not be adjusted sufficiently because the ball was literally not played from anywhere near where it should have been.
    • I guess I just don't understand why the penalty for that infraction is DQ (especially since in that case she wasn't gaining an advantage since she signed for a higher score) but the penalty for breaking a different rule 29 times over two different days is just the applicable penalty strokes simply because the golfer "didn't know the rules".  I get that they are completely different rules about completely different scenarios, I just don't think it's right that a golfer can break the same rule 29 times over 2 different rounds and not be DQ'ed simply because they didnt know they were breaking a rule. To that point, let's say there was a newer golfer in a tournament and he hit multiple balls out of bounds throughout the round but played them as red staked hazards because he didn't know any better, but then it was discovered after the round and after signing the scorecard that he had played them as such, does that mean he would only get the applicable penalty strokes added to his score instead of being DQ'ed simply because he didn't know it was a rule that white stakes are treated differently than red stakes? That doesn't seem right IMO.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. boxofballs
      boxofballs
      (45 years old)
    2. CaptainsChoice
      CaptainsChoice
      (33 years old)
    3. Dozer
      Dozer
      (56 years old)
    4. Pcorys
      Pcorys
      (34 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...