Jump to content
IGNORED

Ball Interferes with Play (Through the Green)


Note: This thread is 1743 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

My dad and I were playing the other day and both hit slices off the tee. They ended up less than 6 inches away from each other, mine in back of his. The hole was in the direction the balls were pointed (you could draw a straight line through both balls and to the hole). I obviously couldn't hit mine without his being marked because I would hit his on my follow through. He would probably hit mine on his up swing, so he couldn't hit first. So he marked his by laying his driver down, placing the ball at the other end of it, then when I hit he replaced it. Is this the correct way?

 

Thanks. 

2 golf balls.jpg

Link to post
Share on other sites

19 minutes ago, Costanza1980 said:

My dad and I were playing the other day and both hit slices off the tee. They ended up less than 6 inches away from each other, mine in back of his. The hole was in the direction the balls were pointed (you could draw a straight line through both balls and to the hole). I obviously couldn't hit mine without his being marked because I would hit his on my follow through. He would probably hit mine on his up swing, so he couldn't hit first. So he marked his by laying his driver down, placing the ball at the other end of it, then when I hit he replaced it. Is this the correct way?

 

Thanks. 

2 golf balls.jpg

Rule 22 covers this. This is one of the few occasions when the ball may not be cleaned. As far as marking the position of the ball (Rule 20), the only stipulation as to how the position of the ball is marked is that it must be marked with sufficient accuracy to be able to replace it in the same place. One more thing - if your Dad's lie is altered as a result of your shot, he may find the nearest most similar lie to the original lie within 1 cl no nearer the hole.

  • Upvote 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator

I have nothing to add about the rule here.  If its me, I would have moved it a shorter distance (a couple of club-head lengths, maybe), but as long as it goes back to its original spot, not cleaned, in the same orientation, you've done everything right.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Ball Interferes with Play (Through the Green)
  • Moderator
2 minutes ago, Martyn W said:

Not, required, Dave.

I was thinking about the possibility of mud or anything else stuck to the ball.  As you mentioned, you can't clean the ball in this situation.  I've always been taught, and I'm too lazy to look it up right now, that you have to replace it with the mud still facing the same way.  That's why I mentioned the orientation.  If I'm wrong, then I've learned something today.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
11 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I was thinking about the possibility of mud or anything else stuck to the ball.  As you mentioned, you can't clean the ball in this situation.  I've always been taught, and I'm too lazy to look it up right now, that you have to replace it with the mud still facing the same way.  That's why I mentioned the orientation.  If I'm wrong, then I've learned something today.

There's nothing in the Rules of Golf that says you must replace the ball in the same orientation.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator

So to be clear, my ball interferes with another player's swing, so I mark it.  Prior to me marking it, there's a big blob of mud just where my club would strike the ball.  I can't clean the mud, but when I replace the ball I CAN rotate it so I'm now striking a clean portion of the ball.  This seems to violate the principle of playing the ball as it lies, but if that's what the rules allow, then that's what they allow.  Thanks

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

26 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I've always been taught, and I'm too lazy to look it up right now, that you have to replace it with the mud still facing the same way.  That's why I mentioned the orientation.  If I'm wrong, then I've learned something today.

The only prohibition is against using the mud as a tee!:

21/5

 

Player Lifts Ball Under Rule Not Permitting Cleaning and Rotates It When Replaced

Q.A piece of mud adheres to a player's ball. The player lifts the ball under a Rule which does not permit cleaning. When he replaces the ball, may he place it facing another direction so that the mud would not interfere between the clubface and the ball?

A.Yes, provided the ball is replaced on the spot from which it was lifted. However, if the player rotated the ball in such a way so as to "tee" it on the mud, he would be in breach of Rule 20-3a.

  • Upvote 2
  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator

Thanks, gentlemen, I've learned something today, so my day is complete.  Again, this seems to go against the principle of playing it as it lies, as I might gain a small advantage by rotating the ball, but I'll definitely remember it for the future.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Just now, DaveP043 said:

Thanks, gentlemen, I've learned something today, so my day is complete.  Again, this seems to go against the principle of playing it as it lies, as I might gain a small advantage by rotating the ball, but I'll definitely remember it for the future.

You aren't changing the lie of the ball.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

 Again, this seems to go against the principle of playing it as it lies, as I might gain a small advantage by rotating the ball, but I'll definitely remember it for the future.

I learned this many years ago and still to this day put my identification 'dots' on only one pole so that I may need to ID my ball under 12-2 and can rotate the ball. Its hasn't given me an advantage in 40+ years, but it could! :)

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
10 minutes ago, iacas said:

You aren't changing the lie of the ball.

And in this, we have to go to the meaning of "the lie".  I said earlier i was too lazy to look right now, but I got more interested so I double-checked the rules, and the term "lie" is not specifically defined.  I don't have my copy of the "Principles..." at the office, so I can't refer to that just now.  Certainly the ball would be sitting on the same blades of grass, so in that way the lie isn't changed.  I am thinking that "lie" should cover the potential playing characteristics of the situation, and in allowing myself to hit a clean patch of golf ball, I've changed those characteristics, without cleaning or moving it.  Without the fortunate coincidence that allows me to lift my ball, I'd be hitting on a blob of mud, so that I'd have an even less predictable shot pattern than my normal level of unpredictability.  Again, I now understand what the rules say, but I feel like I'm gaining a little bit of an advantage simply because the guy playing with me hit his shot so close to mine.

 

Just now, Martyn W said:

I learned this many years ago and still to this day put my identification 'dots' on only one pole so that I may need to ID my ball under 12-2 and can rotate the ball. Its hasn't given me an advantage in 40+ years, but it could! :)

And I've done the opposite, marked both sides so I have less reason to need to mark it to ID my ball.  @iacas, do you encourage your players to mark only one side?  :-P

Spoiler

This is largely in jest, after reading the thread about leaving the flagstick in whenever possible.  This seems like another small statistical advantage to be gained.  Certainly not as significant as the flagstick, but still there.

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I learned the re-orientation of the replaced ball was permitted a few years ago.  Another player was asked to mark his ball on the fringe.  I was going to mention that he should be careful to not clean it but decided I did not want to assume the player did not know the Rule.  When he replaced his ball, he oriented it very carefully, like some people do with the alignment line when putting.  It seemed odd but not knowing whether re-orientation was permitted I just decided to look it up later.

Of course my golf buddy piped up and accused the guy of cleaning his ball (allegedly rolled it around in his hand).  The other player denied it and they went back & forth. All hell broke loose over the next hole or two, ending with the other twosome cursing out my buddy and leaving mid-round.

At least I learned something new that day. ;-)

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
9 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

And in this, we have to go to the meaning of "the lie".  I said earlier i was too lazy to look right now, but I got more interested so I double-checked the rules, and the term "lie" is not specifically defined.  I don't have my copy of the "Principles..." at the office, so I can't refer to that just now.  Certainly the ball would be sitting on the same blades of grass, so in that way the lie isn't changed.  I am thinking that "lie" should cover the potential playing characteristics of the situation, and in allowing myself to hit a clean patch of golf ball, I've changed those characteristics, without cleaning or moving it.  Without the fortunate coincidence that allows me to lift my ball, I'd be hitting on a blob of mud, so that I'd have an even less predictable shot pattern than my normal level of unpredictability.  Again, I now understand what the rules say, but I feel like I'm gaining a little bit of an advantage simply because the guy playing with me hit his shot so close to mine.

Sometimes the rules benefit a player.

Also, they have to be practical. At what point should a fellow competitor or opponent worry about the size of a bit of mud adhering to a golf ball?

10 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

And I've done the opposite, marked both sides so I have less reason to need to mark it to ID my ball.  @iacas, do you encourage your players to mark only one side?  :-P

No.

The odds of a player needing to rotate his ball to identify it are incredibly slim compared to the odds of striking the flagstick. Especially since they play with golf balls with huge school logos on them.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

13 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

And I've done the opposite, marked both sides so I have less reason to need to mark it to ID my ball.  

  Reveal hidden contents

This is largely in jest, after reading the thread about leaving the flagstick in whenever possible.  This seems like another small statistical advantage to be gained.  Certainly not as significant as the flagstick, but still there.

Same here.  The more I think about it, a single mark would often allow one to lift the ball to check, thus allowing the re-orientation if a glob of mud is involved.  Also, one can clean enough of the ball to see the mark whereas two marks pretty much eliminate mud covering one's "mark."

We should get one of our statisticians working on the strokes gained/lost from re-orienting the ball versus mistakenly hitting the wrong ball because the mark wasn't visible enough.  Then again ... never mind.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1743 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjan21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • I'm inviting Annika and Gary to my house for cocktails and the Medal of Bad Timing.
    • Oh brother. RL has a measure of control over some of those things, and very little to no control over some of the others. It’d be hypocritical if their CEO said something like what JT did and faced no repercussions, but they fired JT for saying it. See above. RL has won awards for their support of the LGBTQ in the world.
    • I can see how, if you think they should have refused the medals, you think it would have been okay to cancel the ceremony. But surely you can see how, if it’s okay to accept the medals, canceling the ceremony would have been stupid. First of all, presumably they traveled up to DC the day before, so now they flew in for nothing. And again, neither Gary nor Annika did anything “wrong.” So why should they cancel the ceremony. That’d be like Lucy pulling the football away from Charlie Brown. Also, why no media? Because I’m pretty sure most of them were busy covering things down the street. Let’s avoid the political commentary, too, please. Obama gave out over a hundred of these things. I’m sure you could find some stinkers in there, too. Bill Cosby has one, after all (from Clinton I believe). P.S. Again, I just don’t buy the idea that two people, neither of which (to our knowledge) have done anything “bad” really, should willingly give up an award that is not exactly handed out lightly. Had they beers given the award a week prior, should they have had to give them back? If so, how about everyone else who got this award from Trump at any point in his presidency. Should Tiger have to give his back? And isn’t it possibly true that they could have used the time they had with Trump to speak their mind to him, and that perhaps they did so? I’m fine with what Coach Hoodie did, just as I’m fine with what Annika/Gary did. But, I can separate the “I earned this award,” and “That guy is terrible.” They’re different things to me.
    • I don't know the truth to it, because I haven't looked into it myself, but there is lots of talk that RL manufactures their products in places that have openly anti-gay governments, even to the point of outlawing being gay. For them to drop a player for a comment he made to himself including an anti-gay slur, and then go and exploit labor in countries that are truly awful would be hypocrisy on the highest order, and not the right move at all.
    • Look, I am not dead set against these 2 getting a medal, although I think their accomplishments on (less so for Annika) and off the course are significantly less than those of Jack and Tiger, and thus devalue the medal in question (but after Rush Limbaugh and David Nunes, that value has probably hit rock bottom now, after once being given to Mother Teresa...) Anyway, Gary and Annika get to keep their medals: no-one is asking that they give them back, but they should have refused to participate in a charade after what had transpired just the day before. If it was all good and fine, why was the press not invited then? IMHO, this ceremony should have been postponed or even just canceled, if all involved, included Trump of course, had any decency, but then of course we wouldn't be discussing this now, would we? Perhaps Biden would have given them a medal later, or not. It does not really matter.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Cy McCaffrey
      Cy McCaffrey
      (39 years old)
    2. MPD
      MPD
      (64 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...