Jump to content
Note: This thread is 1233 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Bad Luck or Bad Shot?  

24 members have voted

  1. 1. Watch the video in the first post. Give it some thought. Was the shot bad luck or a bad shot?

    • Bad Shot/Bad Decision
    • Rotten Luck


30 posts / 1897 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Both? I don't think we know enough to know. I actually caught this on TV last night. The wind was blowing from left to right, and Gribble played his stock draw. He needed a birdie to win outright, and a par to go to a playoff. This hole is apparently the hardest hole on the Web.com tour, too. So, with that all in mind...

If he was going for the spot he hit, then it was an awful decision. The margin for error there was tiny, as you can see from the result. A birdie on this hole is pretty unlikely, and he had something like 180 yards to the green. Flag hunting, on this hole, when a par will get you into a playoff, with that slope on the green, is a terrible idea.

I can't watch that video right now, but he says right away when he hits the shot that the ball has to sit. That said, I don't think he was actually trying to flag hunt. That makes me think like he overcooked the ball. And playing a draw with the wind like that will make the ball hook a lot more than it would usually. I tend to think that he was aiming a lot further left and the ball took off on him. If that's the case, then it's bad luck.

Bottom line, if he was aiming for that spot, it was a bad decision. If he was aiming a lot further left, and it overdrew from the wind, then bad luck. Without knowing where he was aiming, I think it's impossible to tell. But going for the flag is the wrong decision.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't watch Web.com Tour events on TV, so I'm not familiar enough with how that green received approach shots to that pin to make a choice.

It looks like a good shot that had a bad result, but that doesn't necessarily mean bad luck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't imagine that he was aiming to the right of the flag, or anywhere near it. From the video, it looks like he's lining up left - but hard to tell for sure. My best guess is that he aimed for the left part of the green and either pulled it, hooked it, or the wind took it, and it was therefore a poorly executed shot or a miscalculation of wind speed/direction.

That said, there could have been a huge gust of wind after he hit the ball, in which case it is bad luck.

Edited by chspeed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I can't believe that that was the shot and landing spot he actually planned, so in my mind, that makes it a bad shot.

Contrast that with Tom Watson's infamous 8-iron at Turnberry in 2009.  It was struck perfectly, landed well short of the hole and inexplicably bounded long.  That was a well planned, well executed shot, that should have resulted in the win. If Cody's had held, he would have "gotten away with one"...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, chspeed said:

I can't imagine that he was aiming to the right of the flag. My best guess is that he aimed for the left part of the green and either pulled it or the wind took it, and it was therefore a poorly executed shot or a miscalculation of wind speed/direction.

That said, there could have been a huge gust of wind after he hit the ball in the air that caused the ball to go right, in which case it is bad luck.

Or, for a draw that would release, maybe he took too much club.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't see him react on the shot like he hooked it or pulled it. He was eyeing it down because it looked good. If he over cooked it left then you would have seen him react much differently as the ball was in the air. The only thing he said was, "It needs to sit"

I think he played a bad shot.

1. It looks like that green is domed a bit there. Being as such, landing near the pin or past the pin will obviously kick the ball away from the pin. Especially if he hit a draw. These guys know the pin placements and the contours of the green.

The play should have been the front left half of the green. Having the ball land anywhere to the right of that pin is a poor shot decision for the club he was hitting.

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He landed it too close to the hole. He either misjudged the wind, hit too hard of a shot being amped-up due to nervousness or chose the wrong club. He should have landed it 20+ feet short of where it landed to take the water out of play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

My first thought after watching the video that I saw as a headline on my Facebook feed was how I was baited into that click because of the headline.

It didn't take a "huge" or "bad" bounce, it just spun right.  With a one shot lead on the 72nd hole, he should have been 15-20 feet left of that flag, so I voted bad shot/bad decision.

Doesnt mean I don't feel bad for the guy though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I voted poor shot decision; facing that harsh a result for playing to the right side he just has to take that out of play - he didn't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I was watching it live and thought it was bad luck but after watching the replay, it was a bad shot or decision.  With a one shot lead, he should have made sure he landed short of the hole.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I voted bad luck because I have a hard time calling a tremendous shot like that a "bad shot", although I acknowledge that he turned it over more than he hoped.  So, I don't have a problem with the bad shot crowd since it didn't come off as he planned, I just couldn't bring myself to characterize it thusly.  Gotta manage your misses and he didn't there but it sure was close.

Edited by Gunther

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Had to be a bad shot or bad decision.  I'm going to go with he was amped up and hit it farther than he wanted and probably offline, too.  It wasn't even close to holding the green - he would've known that. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bad shot/decision.  I think he definitely should not have planned to hit it there.  If he did, bad decision.  If he planned to hit it elsewhere and did not, bad shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would say bad decision, but there are a couple of factors I am unsure of. How hard was the wind blowing? Looks like quite a bit which would mean he could have made a good decision but did not account for enough wind.

I will add that it is a pretty tough pin position set by the tournament committee. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Whoa, lots of people voting for "bad shot/decision." Even if you're right, don't you guys know never to blame yourself in this game?? :-D Hurts the confidence. 

It's always someone else's fault.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, JetFan1983 said:

Whoa, lots of people voting for "bad shot/decision." Even if you're right, don't you guys know never to blame yourself in this game?? :-D Hurts the confidence. 

It's always someone else's fault.

Yeah, lol . .flawed poll. You forgot "Caddie gave him the wrong club"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 1233 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...