Direction of play is to the right - the trench runs more or less perpendicular across the fairway.
There’s definitely a lot of foot wedging going on there. Because the trench was shaped to collect and divert water along the natural slope of the hole, it also tends to collect balls and divert them into the flatter parts of the trench.
I may have just been helped to find the answer.
Is rule 1.3b the answer? Is the measure now “reasonable judgement” of the player rather than KVC?
If so, I think that opens the door for those who would be inclined to bend (I’m being kind) the rules to benefit themselves.
It seemed clear to me that Jimenez didn’t agree with the “reasonable judgement” that Cejka used - and I’m not implying that Cejka cheated - just that Miguel disagreed with the drop.
How was KVC determined for Cejka’s drop after hitting into the water (I think on 15)?
Jimenez questioned the ruling and I think that he was correct in doing so.
How did that official determine with KVC that the ball, before going back into the water, bounced inbounds on the green side of the hazard? Nobody saw it and TV footage only showed the golf ball bouncing before returning to the water (not that it ever cleared the line for the penalty area).