Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
boil3rmak3r

Playing a Round of Golf Solo

Note: This thread is 1127 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

318 posts / 21938 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

7 hours ago, CarlSpackler said:

You might want to check this link.

Here is a thread post that might help too.

I can't use 26-1c unless I see the ball lying in the creek or creek bed, correct? Otherwise, there's no certainty it didn't just go deeper into the woods or under some debris. The image below shows how thick the woods are in the spot where I pulled my drives. From the tee box, all you see is the ball heading towards the tree line.

Hole9.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

45 minutes ago, JonMA1 said:

I can't use 26-1c unless I see the ball lying in the creek or creek bed, correct? Otherwise, there's no certainty it didn't just go deeper into the woods or under some debris. The image below shows how thick the woods are in the spot where I pulled my drives. From the tee box, all you see is the ball heading towards the tree line.

Hole9.jpg

The ball doesn't necessarily have to be wet to be in the hazard. My guess would be that the entire area past the creek bed is OOB. If it's a course you play often, I would ask in the pro shop to be sure. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I play solo at least 2 times a month.  Because it is "not official", I generally just use them as practice rounds.  There are times that I don't even bring a score card, times that I just count my good swings/golf shots along with my bad shots I wanted back and finally there are times I am just working on specific practicing that normally come as follow up from my 5 minute practice or just generally something I want to work on.

I do enjoy playing by myself but I really hope I never ace one while I am alone

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, JonMA1 said:

I can't use 26-1c unless I see the ball lying in the creek or creek bed, correct? Otherwise, there's no certainty it didn't just go deeper into the woods or under some debris. The image below shows how thick the woods are in the spot where I pulled my drives. From the tee box, all you see is the ball heading towards the tree line.

Hole9.jpg

You are correct.  unless you find the ball within the natural boundary of the stream, you can't just assume that it's in there.  The only recourse is to proceed under Rule 27-1. 

3 hours ago, CarlSpackler said:

The ball doesn't necessarily have to be wet to be in the hazard. My guess would be that the entire area past the creek bed is OOB. If it's a course you play often, I would ask in the pro shop to be sure. 

It pretty much does in his case.  Since the hazard isn't marked, you have to use the natural boundary of the stream, which is essentially the river bank.  Anything outside of that is not hazard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, Fourputt said:

You are correct.  unless you find the ball within the natural boundary of the stream, you can't just assume that it's in there.  The only recourse is to proceed under Rule 27-1. 

It pretty much does in his case.  Since the hazard isn't marked, you have to use the natural boundary of the stream, which is essentially the river bank.  Anything outside of that is not hazard.

This is why I would ask in the pro shop. I've noticed on scorecards of a lot of courses with unkempt wooded areas that they are considered hazards. If not, then you are SOL.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, CarlSpackler said:

This is why I would ask in the pro shop. I've noticed on scorecards of a lot of courses with unkempt wooded areas that they are considered hazards. If not, then you are SOL.

And marking such unkempt areas as hazards is not allowed under the Rules of Golf.  Water hazard is clearly defined in the rule book, and what you describe does not qualify.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, Fourputt said:

And marking such unkempt areas as hazards is not allowed under the Rules of Golf.  Water hazard is clearly defined in the rule book, and what you describe does not qualify.

The pro at my place is keenly concerned about this.   We have a number of "hazards" that are there for pace of play.  Plus drop areas on the other side of the water.  Plus forced OB for pace of pay.  Plus areas where you hit and you cannot determine where the ball is, or have a chance to see it.   So they are thinking about removing some trees.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, CarlSpackler said:

... I've noticed on scorecards of a lot of courses with unkempt wooded areas that they are considered hazards. If not, then you are SOL.

My home course runs through a residential development, and 14 of 18 holes have OB and/or hazard on both left and right side of hole (tight!!). Hazards are those wonderful "native grassland" areas marked in red, or creekbeds overgrown with trees, also bordered in red.

Key idea: on tee shots, I favor the hazard side of the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, WUTiger said:

My home course runs through a residential development, and 14 of 18 holes have OB and/or hazard on both left and right side of hole (tight!!). Hazards are those wonderful "native grassland" areas marked in red, or creekbeds overgrown with trees, also bordered in red.

Key idea: on tee shots, I favor the hazard side of the hole.

I see that a lot these days, but courses use a local rule to define "All Landscaped/Wooded/Whatever Areas" as lateral hazards instead of spending the time and money to put out hundreds of red stakes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 hours ago, CarlSpackler said:

I see that a lot these days, but courses use a local rule to define "All Landscaped/Wooded/Whatever Areas" as lateral hazards instead of spending the time and money to put out hundreds of red stakes.

The USGA had a ruling a few years back that "ecologically sensitive" areas (you don't go in) could be played as hazards. You drop a ball "two club-lengths/no closer" to where your shot crossed the hazard line, take a 1-stroke penalty, and play on.

(I found the "ecologically sensitive" item in a FAQ segment a while back, but couldn't resurrect it via Google.)

Possibly the  "All Landscaped/Wooded/Whatever Areas" arose out of a liberal interpretation of this "ecologically sensitive."

And, thanks for clarifying... I think we have a couple of Whatever *#~! areas at my course.

At some courses, I've seen a heavy red paint stripe marking the hazard, but no red stakes.

The residential development model - with lots of single, isolated holes -  has increased the need for red paint and stakes 5x to 10x over older courses.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think that the worst thing about 'Playing A Round of Golf Solo' includes....

I started off a solo round last week. The first hole - I was on the green (par 4) in 2. 30' from the hole my putt goes right in. Amazing. I've never birdied this hole. Second hole a par 3. I manage to land on the green with my drive. I'm still about 35' feet from the hole. Uphill putt. The flag is way back at the end of the green. I'm in the lower left part of the green. And I sink the putt.

So, now I've just birdied the first two holes, from the other side of the green. But, I'm by myself with no witnesses. This is a once in a lifetime score for me. A 5 for the first two holes.

Would have been a little bit more happy to have been playing with a group when this happened.

Ended the front 9 with a 46. Yes, the Golf Gods soon caught up with me.

I play alone, most of the time. I'm wondering when I'm going to have a 'hole in one' when I'm playing a 'solo round'. Yes, that would be the worst thing to happen when 'Playing A Round of Golf Solo'.

BTW - I already have a 'hole in one' with witnesses. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1127 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Day 170.  I got home way too late, but remembered the challenge so I'm doing some of UGP's stretches.  Probably good given how little I moved today.  (Incidentally, earlier today I saw my future golf room for the first time, better than the previous one!  Ten days until setup!)
    • Almost always putt. Either with my putter or a club from PW-7 iron using the same putting stroke depending the pin location and grass condition. 
    • Yeah you must’ve missed that. It was posted earlier by @fredf then reposted by @Missouri Swede.
    • This is good stuff and interesting to hear from someone that plays on such big greens. I have never had that luxury/challenge, depending on the green. I find it so interesting that some people love partial shots (could be full swing but reduced power), and others don't want any part of it. For me, in that same situation of 100 yards with back edge at 110, this is how I would take it. Full shots are 80-85 yards for 53o, 95-100 yards for PW, 110 yards for 9I. I would almost always take a 9I into this green, unless there is serious trouble long. A 85-95% 9 iron is going to leave me on the green almost all of the time, barring L-R miss. If I hit it super pure, or I have some extra adrenaline pumping, I'm over for sure, but close. If it is sloping toward the back, then its a pitching wedge, and an almost certain downhill putt, but that's the nature of the beast. I use a Garmin approach S20, which is fairly basic, but has done a really good job of telling me center, front and back of the greens when I have played. When I know the pin layout for the day, I do cater to that, but if I have any doubt, or it is scary at all, I play for the center
    • I have gone through the replies and the main claim is 'Serious misconduct'. I get that but it seems like a grey area. open to interpretation.  I can't find any section of the rules that describe the scenario that i provided and the rules are very specific in terms of objects, balls hit, touched, where participants stand, act etc. There are other reasons the said example could count as legitimate play. Perhaps Player B is putting away from the hole because he wants an easier uphill putt to finish the hole. Also if  Player B's ball is directly opposite Player A's ball and putts it pass the hole and just pass his partners mark it is an over hit and the putt coming back is going to show the line for the next putt. Misconduct or inherent part of the game. Have we lost the freedom to decide on the direction of the next stroke. NB. The 4BBB I am referring to would be part of a Team Stableford competion. So there is no conceding putts involved.   Ahhh I have found some clarity. Point 7.  1.2a/1 - Meaning of Serious Misconduct The phrase “serious misconduct” in Rule 1.2a is intended to cover player misconduct that is so far removed from the expected norm in golf that the most severe sanction of removing a player from the competition is justified. This includes dishonesty, deliberately interfering with another player’s rights, or endangering the safety of others. The Committee must determine if the misconduct is serious considering all the circumstances. Even if the Committee determines that the misconduct is serious, it may take the view that it is more appropriate to warn the player that a repeat of the misconduct or similar misconduct will result in disqualification, instead of disqualifying him or her in the first instance. Examples of actions by a player that are likely to be considered serious misconduct include: Deliberately causing serious damage to a putting green. Disagreeing with the course setup and taking it on himself or herself to move tee-markers or boundary stakes. Throwing a club towards another player or spectator. Deliberately distracting other players while they are making strokes. Removing loose impediments or movable obstructions to disadvantage another player after that other player has asked him or her to leave them in place. Repeatedly refusing to lift a ball at rest when it interferes with another player in stroke play. Deliberately playing away from the hole and then towards the hole to assist the player’s partner (such as helping the player’s partner learn the break on the putting green). Deliberately not playing in accordance with the Rules and potentially gaining a significant advantage by doing so, despite incurring a penalty for a breach of the relevant Rule. Repeatedly using vulgar or offensive language. Using a handicap that has been established for the purpose of providing an unfair advantage or using the round being played to establish such a handicap. Examples of actions by a player that, although involving misconduct, are unlikely to be considered serious misconduct include: Slamming a club to the ground, damaging the club and causing minor damage to the turf. Throwing a club towards a golf bag that unintentionally hits another person. Carelessly distracting another player making a stroke.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Robert  D McCabe
      Robert D McCabe
      (57 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...