Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
bkuehn1952

Using the flag stick

Note: This thread is 1226 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

21 posts / 2323 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

You arrive near the green to find the flagstick has either blown down, was not replaced properly and fell over or the prior group just didn't bother to replace it.  You are playing a stroke play event.

The flagstick is positioned perfectly to assist you in stopping your chip near the hole.  Do you replace the flagstick or use it as a backstop?

Now let's say you are in a match.  Your opponent walks up and replaces the flagstick.  You want it to remain where it was.  Does your opponent have to lay the flagstick down where it was?  What if he is away and the stick is a problem.  He moves it.  Once he plays do you have the option to lay it down again?

001.JPG

002.JPG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

8 hours ago, bkuehn1952 said:

You arrive near the green to find the flagstick has either blown down, was not replaced properly and fell over or the prior group just didn't bother to replace it.  You are playing a stroke play event.

The flagstick is positioned perfectly to assist you in stopping your chip near the hole.  Do you replace the flagstick or use it as a backstop?

Now let's say you are in a match.  Your opponent walks up and replaces the flagstick.  You want it to remain where it was.  Does your opponent have to lay the flagstick down where it was?  What if he is away and the stick is a problem.  He moves it.  Once he plays do you have the option to lay it down again?

001.JPG

002.JPG

If you leave the flagstick lying on the ground, and your ball strikes it, you incur the general penalty under 17-3a: This Rule does not just apply if the ball is on the PG

17-3. Ball Striking Flagstick or Attendant

The player's ball must not strike:

a.

The flagstick when it is attended, removed or held up;

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

does this decision counter 17-3?

Quote

17-3/3 

Ball Strikes Flagstick Lying on Ground

Q.Generally, the player's ball must not strike the flagstick when removed from the hole (Rule 17-3). What is the ruling in the following situations:

  • (a) A player putts too strongly and his ball strikes the flagstick which has been removed by someone in his match or group and placed on the ground behind the hole.
  • (b) A player plays his second shot to the green and the ball strikes the flagstick, which had been blown down by the wind and was lying on the ground.
  • (c) A player, not believing he can reach the green which is occupied by the preceding match or group, plays his second shot at a par-5 hole and the ball rolls onto the green and strikes the flagstick which has been removed from the hole and placed on the ground by someone in the preceding match or group.

A. (a) The player incurs a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play under Rule 17-3a

    (b)&(c) No penalty is incurred. Rule 17-3a is not applicable in either case. It applies only when the flagstick has been removed with the player's authority or prior knowledge by someone in the player's match or group.

I am not sure what the ruling would be if you intentionally leave the flagstick on the ground when it wasn't removed by you or someone in your group. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

35 minutes ago, Martyn W said:

If you leave the flagstick lying on the ground, and your ball strikes it, you incur the general penalty under 17-3a: This Rule does not just apply if the ball is on the PG

17-3. Ball Striking Flagstick or Attendant

The player's ball must not strike:

a.

The flagstick when it is attended, removed or held up;

Except the flagstick was not "removed" by any of the players.  I believe hitting the flagstick under those circumstances does not result in a penalty (Decision 17-3/3).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Except the flagstick was not "removed" by any of the players.  I believe hitting the flagstick under those circumstances does not result in a penalty (Decision 17-3/3).

I know that the decision cites two examples of where no penalty is incurred, but in the circumstance in your scenario I would consider the act of leaving the flagstick in place as a backstop so contrary to the spirit of the game I would have a hard time not penalizing the player, If not under 17-3 then either 1-2 or in a pinch 1-4.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

13 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

The flag is not a loose impediment or a movable obstruction. 

Quote

Flagstick

The "flagstick" is a movable straight indicator, with or without bunting or other material attached, centered in the hole to show its position. It must be circular in cross-section. Padding or shock absorbent material that might unduly influence the movement of the ball is prohibited.

You have this, 

Quote

When a ball is in motion, an obstruction that might influence the movement of the ball, other than equipment of any player or the flagstick when attended, removed or held up, must not be moved.

In this situation the flagstick was not attended, but it was removed. The opponent can move that flagstick, even when the ball is in motion, with out penalty. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Interesting situation. Without knowing the rules on something like that, i would have just assumed to play as normal. Its not like you get penalized for hitting the flagstick from off the green from a 150 yards away in that situation, so whats the difference from 15 yards? I would think if the flag out of the hole without your groups intention, its just rub of the green. And if you ball is stopped by the stick or even ricochets into the hole, then so be it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

38 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

The flag is not a loose impediment or a movable obstruction.

Pretty sure the flag stick is a movable obstruction when it is not being attended or in the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A flagstick matches the definition of an immovable obstruction. It does not match any exception.

Of course, it is not unusual for things to satisfy two (or more) definitions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

A flagstick matches the definition of an immovable obstruction. It does not match any exception.

You sure about that one? ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

52 minutes ago, iacas said:

You sure about that one? ;-)

Tell me a) where it doesn't or b) where it does.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

21 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

Tell me a) where it doesn't or b) where it does.

Surely you meant moveable obstruction, no?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Bottom line is that if you're about 100 yds from the hole. You see the flagstick had blown over and you hit your shot. It goes on the green and hits the flagstick. Stops or channeled into the hole. It could be in a position where it kept your ball from going in, or put it in an even worse position. So no penalty. After all, no one in the interest of pace of play is going to walk 100 yds up to the hole, insert the flag, then walk back to their ball and hit.

If you're on the fringe of the green or pin high in the rough and the flagstick was blown over earlier or left on the surface of the putting green, put the flag stick in the hole. I'd say draw the line at about 25 yds. or if you have to traverse the green to get to your ball. I'd probably want the flag put in correctly because of an OCD thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The OP's question was actually a question on this year's MGA Quiz.  The Metropolitan Golf Association is not a ruling body, but FWIW, they said no penalty.

2. In stroke play, the preceding group has left the flagstick lying on the putting green nearby the hole. A lies two just short of the putting green and B lies two on the putting green. They agree to leave the flagstick where it is as it could assist them. A’s chip shot is stopped by the flagstick but B’s putt comes up short of it. A takes one putt and B takes two more putts to complete the hole.

The result of the hole is: A) A scores 4 and B scores 5.
                                       B) A scores 6 and B scores 7.
                                       C) A scores 6 and B scores 5.
                                       D) Both A and B are disqualified

Answer:

#2 A    D17-3/3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On May 27, 2016 at 4:59 PM, Dormie1360 said:

The OP's question was actually a question on this year's MGA Quiz.  The Metropolitan Golf Association is not a ruling body, but FWIW, they said no penalty.

2. In stroke play, the preceding group has left the flagstick lying on the putting green nearby the hole. A lies two just short of the putting green and B lies two on the putting green. They agree to leave the flagstick where it is as it could assist them. A’s chip shot is stopped by the flagstick but B’s putt comes up short of it. A takes one putt and B takes two more putts to complete the hole.

The result of the hole is: A) A scores 4 and B scores 5.
                                       B) A scores 6 and B scores 7.
                                       C) A scores 6 and B scores 5.
                                       D) Both A and B are disqualified

Answer:

#2 A    D17-3/3

D may be the correct answer, but I dont's see how 17-3/3 justifies it since it was the preceding group that removed the flag. 17-3/3 is quite clear on this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

18 minutes ago, gblackwell said:

D may be the correct answer, but I dont's see how 17-3/3 justifies it since it was the preceding group that removed the flag. 17-3/3 is quite clear on this.

The correct answer is A as it was stated by @Dormie1360.

D17-3/3 is the equitable ruling they are referring to with this case. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1226 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • The only problem I found on bending clubs are the ones that have little plastic/metal inserts on the back side of the clubs.  Because of these inserts, some local proshops, and/or club builders won't touch them for fear of breaking/cracking/popping those inserts. The owner, in need of an adjustment, may be required to send their clubs back to manufacturer. 
    • Day 478 It arrived today. What arrived was my new driver: a Ping 410 Plus with Alta CB Red Soft Regular Shaft. As I am still getting used to the new toy, I started with all the adjustable parts set to the most neutral settings.  Soon I adjusted to help with a slice. All after that change were straight where I was aiming.  I seemed to have picked up 10 MPH in terms of ball speed.  I need to work now on the results not being so high. I intended to hit only 20-25 balls.  I ended up hitting 45 as this club made driving fun.  It was easy to hit towards  various target greens.  What I need to adjust after a few more practice section I the launch angle to lower the fact that wit my older drive I tend to hit high spin. I rarely, if ever, fall in love with a club so quickly, but even with days of getting used to it ahead, as I said in my review on the Ping web site, it was love at first whack.
    • Was wondering if anyone has played here. Playing the ledgends course. 
    • Totally agree with keeping them standard length to start with. Can always grip down when they are long, but can't go the opposite way. Bending Pings is difficult at best and don't assume you will be able to have it done easily. May have to send back to Ping if you want them bent after the fact but they can do it.
    • Day 28 What a GREAT day!  This is why everyone should have a golf coach! So, about 5 weeks ago I was playing great. Then suddenly I completely lost it. Then I got hurt (non-golf related, but screwed up my game). When I came back from my injury I was pretty close to hopeless.  I got with my golf coach and he and I worked through what all had changed in my swing. It turns out I had made a minor adjustment without realizing it. Then I made an adjustment to counter act that adjustment, then another and another and pretty soon my swing was nothing like what my swing used to be like.  My coach brought up the video of my swing when it was good. We compared it to where I found myself after … I'll call it my melt down. Anyway, my coach was able to quickly get me back where I was before. Suddenly I was striping the ball down the middle again. Yay!  Anyhow, back to today's practice. I hit trajectory drills with the driver. I'd hit a high fade, then hit an 8-iron shot. Next I'd hit a low draw, then hit a hybrid. After that I'd hit a high trajectory drive, then hit a 4-irion. Basically I'd work through the 9 shots with the driver: high, medium and low, Draw, straight and fade combinations. But after each driver shot, I'd hit a different club from my bag, picking the club pretty much at random. I didn't want to hit any club more than one time in a row.  In the end I hit the ball so well on the range I had to run out and play 9 holes. My game has returned, I went 3 over for 9. I hit the ball so much better than I'd been hitting it recently. It felt great.  That's the reason everyone should have a golf coach.   
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Covert
      Covert
      (76 years old)
    2. Landonhux
      Landonhux
      (19 years old)
    3. opie
      opie
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...