IGNORED

Game improvement irons

Note:Β This thread is 2807 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

So I have been golfing for about 5 months now and been working on swing inside to outside which is coming along nicely thanks to a practice net I bought about a month ago. I finally broke into the 70s with a 79 and was starting to wonder when I should possibly upgrade my clubs? Right now I'm using taylormade aeroburner irons 5- approach wedge and then I have the tour preferred sand andΒ lob wedges. And after researching my irons I know that they are game improvement irons so they are forgiving but aren't gonna give me the same consistency that higher end irons will. Would anybody recommend when might be a good time to upgrade? Any advice is greatly appreciated

That's awesome progress - breaking 80 in 5 months is pretty amazing.Β  I would say - upgrade your clubs when you, personally, feel the need.Β  I recently went from some SGI clubs to some "players" cavity backs - there is still some forgiveness but not nearly as much.Β  What I notice is that I get less total distance and more variance in my distances - the SGI clubs give me more of the same distance even on slight mishits.Β 

I can tell the players clubs have higher spin . .not only do I lose some total distance but I get more stoppage on the greens.Β  Not like I'm zipping it back - but it's definitely something I perceive.Β  The big thing for me is I like how my new irons look at address and feel at impact.Β  That was the reason I upgraded - the chunky topline of my SGI clubs was getting on my nerves and I thought it was making me hit everything left.Β  It wasn't really making me hit everything left but I still much prefer the thinner topline.Β  It just looks more "money" to me as I get ready to hit the ball, lol. Β