Jump to content
IGNORED

Leaving the Ball on the Green in a Position to Help?


Note: This thread is 1762 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Player A's ball is on green. In our club it has been established that player who is off green, player B, may ask player A to "leave it there". My question is, does player A have to mark ball. In other words leaving it there and with a mark. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Decision 22/6 Competitor Requests That Ball in Position to Assist Him Not Be Lifted
Q.In stroke play, B's ball lies just off the putting green. A's ball lies near the hole in a position to serve as a backstop for B's ball. B requests A not to lift his ball. Is such a request proper?

A.No. If A and B agree not to lift a ball that might assist B, both players are disqualified under Rule 22-1

  • Upvote 4
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • iacas changed the title to Leaving the Ball on the Green in a Position to Help?
  • Moderator

We had a long discussion of this issue in another thread, in particular as it relates to the pro tours.  Based on my reading of the rules, if Player A should mark it if it could assist his fellow-competitor, AND if he can mark it without delaying play.  If Player B simply goes ahead and plays while Player A is walking up, its OK.   As @Asheville say, if Player B requests the ball be left, and Player A agrees, they've both violated the rule.  It sounds as if your club has accepted this violation of the rules.

And here's the link to the previous thread:

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 weeks later...

Maybe have a look at this decision.

3-4/1

Competitor Not Given Opportunity to Lift Ball Assisting Fellow-Competitor

Q.In stroke play, A's ball lies near the hole in a position to assist B, whose ball lies off the putting green. A states his intention to lift his ball under Rule 22-1. B mistakenly believes that A does not have the right to lift his ball and plays before A has an opportunity to lift his ball. What is the ruling?

A.B is disqualified under Rule 3-4 as he intentionally denied A's right to lift his ball. It is irrelevant that B did so in ignorance of the Rules.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator

@6Aces, in this case I believe the difference is communication.  Once player A states his intention, player B is required to wait.  If Player A doesn't say anything, its a different matter.

  • Upvote 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
On 9/24/2016 at 8:07 PM, DaveP043 said:

@6Aces, in this case I believe the difference is communication.  Once player A states his intention, player B is required to wait.  If Player A doesn't say anything, its a different matter.

I'll add to my previous post.  What appears to happen on the pro tour is that Player A quite consciously dawdles in getting to his ball, leaving player B plenty of time to hit his shot, potentially taking advantage of Player A's ball on the green.  There no overtly stated intent to collude in giving Player B a potential advantage, but it really seems like that's what they're trying to do at times.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So if I am reading this correctly, B can not ask A to leave it there. But, if A decides to clean his spikes or towel off, B may hit without penalty. Seems pretty much the same without the formal question being asked, could you please leave it there. Wonder how that applies to 2 and 4 man competitions?

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
24 minutes ago, Fizbo said:

So if I am reading this correctly, B can not ask A to leave it there. But, if A decides to clean his spikes or towel off, B may hit without penalty. Seems pretty much the same without the formal question being asked, could you please leave it there.

A referee could require that A mark it before B plays, assuming A is in position to do so without unduly delaying play. (Decision 22/7)

25 minutes ago, Fizbo said:

 Wonder how that applies to 2 and 4 man competitions?

In match play, you may mark and lift your ball (whether its on the green or not) if you if you think your ball could assist your opponent.  I didn't find a requirement for your opponent to wait for you to mark it, however.  In a fourball match, you may require your opponent to mark his ball if it is in position to assist his partner (your other opponent).  (Decision 30-3f/11).  In that case, I believe that he does have to wait.  

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I had a situation happen last week where my ball was in a location that would act as bumper for a FC (the ball was about 1" - 2" to the front and left of the cup.  As I attempted to walk onto the green to mark my ball the FC seemed to rush his putting stroke.  His ball hit my ball on the right side, bounced off of it and into the hole.  It was a cool shot but if my ball wasn't there he'd have rolled well past the hole.  

I'm not sure if he was aiming for the hole or my ball but having my ball there gave him a much greater margin of error.  

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
4 minutes ago, newtogolf said:

I had a situation happen last week where my ball was in a location that would act as bumper for a FC (the ball was about 1" - 2" to the front and left of the cup.  As I attempted to walk onto the green to mark my ball the FC seemed to rush his putting stroke.  His ball hit my ball on the right side, bounced off of it and into the hole.  It was a cool shot but if my ball wasn't there he'd have rolled well past the hole.  

If your FC was on the putting green, and his ball hit your ball which was also on the putting green, he incurs a two-stroke penalty (Rule 19-5a).  If he was off the green, it was just a good (and lucky) shot..

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

If your FC was on the putting green, and his ball hit your ball which was also on the putting green, he incurs a two-stroke penalty (Rule 19-5a).  If he was off the green, it was just a good (and lucky) shot..

He was off the green on the fringe

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

 I didn't find a requirement for your opponent to wait for you to mark it,

I would say 2/3 applies. He would be denying your right to mark it and would lose the hole in equity.

Link to post
Share on other sites

18 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I didn't find a requirement for your opponent to wait for you to mark it, however.  

I agree.  If one had stated that one intended to mark the ball and the competitor played any way, 2/3 may apply. In all the decisions it seems like proceeding after a competitor has requested an action is a breach.  Until something is said, a competitor may proceed.

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

23 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

I agree.  If one had stated that one intended to mark the ball and the competitor played any way, 2/3 may apply. In all the decisions it seems like proceeding after a competitor has requested an action is a breach.  Until something is said, a competitor may proceed.

For clarity, 2/3 is a matchplay decision; it would be 'opponent', not 'competitor'. R3-4 is the equivalent in strokeplay.

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
1 hour ago, Martyn W said:

I would say 2/3 applies. He would be denying your right to mark it and would lose the hole in equity.

 

33 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

I agree.  If one had stated that one intended to mark the ball and the competitor played any way, 2/3 may apply. In all the decisions it seems like proceeding after a competitor has requested an action is a breach.  Until something is said, a competitor may proceed.

Thanks for helping further my golf rules education.  I thought that he should be required to wait, but couldn't find the specific rule.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

39 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

 

Thanks for helping further my golf rules education.  I thought that he should be required to wait, but couldn't find the specific rule.

I looked as well, so don't feel bad.  It didn't seem right that in stroke play I wouldn't have the right to mark so that's why I posted here.  Thanks to all for their time pointing me to the right rule. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1762 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Did you wake up feeling a bit nausea this morning Scott? Sab damn near pulled it off with a remarkable final round. After Shaf's drive on 18, I'm like Holly Shit ... 
    • New irons. I will probably swap out the 4 with a CB utility iron as things get cooler here, but so far I really like them.
    • Congrats to Schauffele! May not be a major but it ranks high on the list of a golfers resume. It does with me anyway.....
    • Mine was my mother.  She was a very angry person with a temper.   Golf was not her game.  She took it up to spend time with me when I was a teenager, after I started playing when I was a caddie. she had a violent, slashing swing.   Her clubs were a set of old MacGregor blades and she would hit the 2-iron a lot off the tee.   It would go far, but rarely where she wanted.  Seriously, it was like some type of hockey motion. she was easily frustrated and had zero short game.  She would ping pong back and forth across the green because her chipping miss was blading the ball.  She’d get mad, start swearing and sometimes take 4 chips/pitches around the green.  Several times I’d have to apologize because she’d get mad and swear so much.  If she was in a bunker, forget it.  Just run! Her main quirk was water though.   It could be a lake or a 2 foot wide stream in front of her.  She’d find it.   We were in Myrtle Beach at Wild Wing Hummingbird years ago and there is a creek hat winds through.  She was about 20 feet in front of he creek that was only a couple of feet deep in front of her.  Sure enough, she topped it and it went in the creek, carried away by the current.   She was super pissed and I couldn’t stop laughing.   We didn’t talk for most of the rest of the day. 
    • Played in an event with a pair that both felt the need to stretch and practically do calisthenics on the first tee right behind me from my warm up, address and right through my swing. I guess they didn’t arrive early enough. It was almost like a parody sketch.    one of the guys was a super nervous sort that could not be still or refrain from fidgeting. He liked to stand on the green behind the flag and be in constant motion. I typically don’t mind where people stand or even if they move around a little, but this was almost like the student section waving giant foam fingers when the opponent is attempting a field goal, extra point, or foul shot. he seemed like a nice guy, just oblivious 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Architex
      Architex
      (51 years old)
    2. cygnusjen
      cygnusjen
      (48 years old)
    3. Garbz3
      Garbz3
      (72 years old)
    4. Joefree
      Joefree
      (38 years old)
    5. KurtActual
      KurtActual
      (36 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...