The whole thing seems messed up right now. As fast as I understood the new system and why my cap went from 16 to 12, it went back to 16 again. At least it's winter so scores shouldn't change anything anyway but my skins group is going to be a little confusing for a while.
Neither do I, but I try anyway. I focus on the general concepts and know how to look up the specifics when needed, like in this case. I couldn’t even tell you it was rule 14 until I looked it up.
Good thing I never became a lawyer 😃
@Bonvivant, rules for replacing a ball on a spot is 14.2. The section you want is d which covers where to replace a ball when the original lie is altered. Specially, 14.2d(2) for the putting green:
No, ball embedded in side of hole is covered in the interpretations which I quoted earlier.