IGNORED

Adjustable driver (better to turn loft down or up)?

Elmer
Note: This thread is 2498 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am in the market for a new driver. Although I may end up settling for a used, newer model driver.
I am currently using a 2008 taylormade, reg flex 10.5 driver.
I have a 16 degree launch and I get the ball well into the air. 
I am driving the ball on average of 260, but get very little to no roll.
My thought was to go to a 9 degree driver for a bit of a lower trajectory.
Is it better to buy an adjustable driver at 9 degrees, or 10.5 and just turn it down?

I would go to my local golf shop and ask, but I feel like they are mostly salesman or young golfers who work at the shop just to get a discount. 

In my Grom:

Driver-Taylormade 10.5 Woods- Taylomade 3 wood, taylormade 4 Hybrid
Irons- Callaway Big Berthas 5i - GW Wedges- Titles Volkey  Putter- Odyssey protype #9
Ball- Bridgestone E6
All grips Golf Pride

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think it will depend on the club maker.  I have a 10.5' Ping G30 which I adjust up to 11.5' - I believe this gives it a slightly more draw bias/ closed look (not sure if that is just my belief or reality) but it works really well for me.  Going down in loft is supposed to make it more fade biased.  I guess different manufacturers are going to be different in that regard and some might have a draw/fade adjustment that is independent of loft.  

As always though there probably isn't going to be anything better than trying them out in person (which will take even more time what with all the loosening and tightening of hosels!)

Edited by ZappyAd

Adam

:ping: G30 Driver 

:callaway: XR16 3W
:callaway: Big Bertha 5W
:ping: S55 4-W 
:ping: 50' , 56', 60' Glide Wedge
:odyssey: White Hot #7 Putter