Jump to content
IGNORED

Modernized Rules Discussion: Player Behavior


Note: This thread is 1529 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas pinned this topic
  • Administrator

The first two basically say… if you want to adopt a rule that says it's a two-stroke penalty for swearing, or for slamming your club into the ground, or throwing your club, that's allowable.

The third deals with the non-need to call over another player to let them observe you picking up the ball for identification, etc.

But you don't just get to pick it up whenever as there's still a penalty for doing so if you had no reason.

The fourth, honestly, I don't even feel is really a change. Players always had to use their best judgment. So what am I missing? What's really different? Something subtle? Admittedly I'm going pretty fast right now.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

These seem pretty reasonable to me. 

My only reservation is with the last one.  I hope that over time, it doesn't erode the honesty principles underlying the rule.  I agree that if someone gives their best effort to get it right, there should be no penalty.  I just worry that under the proposed rule, rather than giving their best effort to find the correct spot, players may start to choose the most advantageous spot that is not unreasonable

Edited by dsc123
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
3 minutes ago, dsc123 said:

I hope that over time, it doesn't erode the honesty principles underlying the rule.  I agree that if someone gives their best effort to get it right, there should be no penalty. 

I'm going quickly right now so not focusing on any one particular set… but what really changed about this? Don't we now just pick the spot we think is the right one and drop there (or whatever)?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, iacas said:

I'm going quickly right now so not focusing on any one particular set… but what really changed about this? Don't we now just pick the spot we think is the right one and drop there (or whatever)?

 

Under new Rule 1.3a(2), whenever required to estimate or measure a spot, point, line, area or distance, the player’s reasonable judgment would be accepted if:

  • The player did all that could be reasonably expected under the circumstances to make a prompt and accurate estimation or measurement.
  • This means that the player’s reasonable judgment would be upheld even if later shown to be wrong by other information (such as video technology).

 

They don't reference any particular current rule, and I'm no rules expert, so please correct me if I'm wrong.  I think of this in the context of replaying a shot that is lost.  Currently, you have to play from the same spot.  But practically speaking, unless you can find the divot or some marker, that's not possible in an absolute sense, so you're always just trying to make a reasonable estimate.  In that sense, there may be no difference.  But there may be a slight difference, psychologically even, in changing the focus from finding the "same spot" to finding a "reasonably close spot," as giving the player more leeway.  Just my slight hesitation in fully embracing the rule; I don't oppose it. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

They said on Morning Drive this would have saved Tiger Woods at Augusta on the 15th hole… and I disagree. His spot was known and he didn't exercise judgment to drop as closely as possible to where he was originally.

So I think he still would have been found at fault there.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 hours ago, iacas said:

The fourth, honestly, I don't even feel is really a change. Players always had to use their best judgment. So what am I missing? What's really different? Something subtle? Admittedly I'm going pretty fast right now.

The only thing I can think of is consistency, to make sure that any rule that involves judgement has the same language for "protection" from the high-definition-video review factor.

9 hours ago, iacas said:

They said on Morning Drive this would have saved Tiger Woods at Augusta on the 15th hole… and I disagree. His spot was known and he didn't exercise judgment to drop as closely as possible to where he was originally.

Agreed - especially since he said aloud that he just f--ked up the rule.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator

@iacas does this mean you now have to take your hat off when shaking hands after a round? ;-) (inside joke)

Screen Shot 2017-03-01 at 9.58.39 PM.png

15 hours ago, iacas said:

Elimination of the Requirement to Announce the Player's Intent to Lift a Ball

Even though most of the time I would just give a "yep" when a competitor let me know I think it's a good thing that they had to do it.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
7 hours ago, mvmac said:

@iacas does this mean you now have to take your hat off when shaking hands after a round? ;-) (inside joke)

Screen Shot 2017-03-01 at 9.58.39 PM.png

Ha! Those guys weren't wearing hats! Look at their hair!

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I am ambivalent about the removal of the need to announce when one is lifting the ball. Frankly, a lot of players lift their ball to identify it without announcing it and/or when it is not really necessary.  I don't think they should be penalized for the inadvertent failure to announce. The USGA got that right.  On the other hand, there are some members of our club that are pretty consistently handling their ball.  While I know they are not consciously seeking an advantage, the replacement of their ball is, in virtually all cases, better than when they picked it up.  Also, lots of golfers are hazy about when one can clean the ball. 

At least in the past, when these guys got ready to lift and they remembered to announce it, I had a chance to say, "Hold on, I will be over in a sec."  Now, when I turned around he is going to have his ball in his hand, getting ready to replace it.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
36 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

On the other hand, there are some members of our club that are pretty consistently handling their ball.  While I know they are not consciously seeking an advantage, the replacement of their ball is, in virtually all cases, better than when they picked it up.

Yup. And if the old rule didn't thwart them… the new one's just gonna let them feel freer to do it more. That's part of why the USGA is emphasizing the "honor" part. Hopefully people show that honor a bit more sometimes. (I doubt you're talking about formal competitions much there… no?)

36 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Also, lots of golfers are hazy about when one can clean the ball.

One of the easier things to look up and know. Basically, if it's a penalty or you're on the green, go ahead. Otherwise, don't. That's the simplest form. The new proposed rules are similar to the current ones:

Quote

A ball lifted from the putting green may always be cleaned (see Rule 13.1).

A ball lifted from anywhere else may always be cleaned except when it is lifted:

  • To See if It is Cut or Cracked. Cleaning is not allowed (see Rule 4.2b).
  • To Identify It. Cleaning is allowed only as much as is needed to identify it (see Rule 7.2).
  • Because It Interferes with Play. Cleaning is not allowed (see Rule 15.3a(2)).
  • To see if It Lies In Condition Where Relief is Allowed. Cleaning is not allowed, unless the player takes relief under a Rule (see Rule 16.4). 

Pretty straightforward.

36 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

At least in the past, when these guys got ready to lift and they remembered to announce it, I had a chance to say, "Hold on, I will be over in a sec."  Now, when I turned around he is going to have his ball in his hand, getting ready to replace it.

If he doesn't have a reason to have done so, he can be penalized. Call them on THAT a few times, even without actually assigning the penalties, and they'll figure it out.

Maybe.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 1 month later...
  • Administrator
On 3/1/2017 at 9:07 AM, iacas said:

http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rules-modernization/major-proposed-changes/proposed-change--elimination-of-the-requirement-to-announce-the-.html

Still not a fan of this one.

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 10.13.35 AM.png

:-)

This almost never happens. You almost never need to lift your ball to identify it because you can almost always see your mark. Most players mark both sides of the ball, further reducing the odds of this happening.

If this rule is put into place, though, you'll have players putting their hands on their ball more frequently. Then they'll be unlikely to re-create the lie or replace their ball, and anyone who wanted to take advantage of this could.

I understand and support the USGA/R&A's desire to treat golfers as trustworthy, but this situation doesn't beg for an extension of that, due to the infrequency by which it is necessary to identify your ball by lifting it.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
14 minutes ago, iacas said:

http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rules-modernization/major-proposed-changes/proposed-change--elimination-of-the-requirement-to-announce-the-.html

Still not a fan of this one.

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 10.13.35 AM.png

:-)

This almost never happens. You almost never need to lift your ball to identify it because you can almost always see your mark. Most players mark both sides of the ball, further reducing the odds of this happening.

If this rule is put into place, though, you'll have players putting their hands on their ball more frequently. Then they'll be unlikely to re-create the lie or replace their ball, and anyone who wanted to take advantage of this could.

I understand and support the USGA/R&A's desire to treat golfers as trustworthy, but this situation doesn't beg for an extension of that, due to the infrequency by which it is necessary to identify your ball by lifting it.

Agree. What does it take, 10 seconds?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

20 minutes ago, boogielicious said:

Agree. What does it take, 10 seconds?

Right.  It's not like you have to wait for them to come over and observe.

And, since nobody has to actually observe your procedure, I don't think this contradicts the ideal of "trust".  All it does is make you announce when you're taking an action that is (effectively) contrary to the principle of playing the ball as it lies.

I think it's the same as playing a provisional ball.  The announcement is a good requirement.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas unpinned this topic
Note: This thread is 1529 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Might be slow, but I'm sorta liking these guys...
    • Slow play is not keeping up with the group in front, unless its a group of really fast players.   The question is how to remedy it.  I play with guys who shoot high 70’s low 80’s whose pre-shot routines are intermidable.  In addition they are elderly and just move slow.  So as the young-un in the group I rush, especially on the green.  They play from the correct tees, it just takes them forever to go thru their routine.   Yesterday I played as a single.  Arrived at the course at 3 and was told to be off before 5 due to league play. I finished in 92 mins and played thru two other groups.  My goal is to not 3 putt and no 7’s on the card.  Shot 85. High scores does not automatically mean slow play.  
    • Day 63, July 27, 2021: Three-quarter swing work again today, hey I may lose a little bit of distance, but I know where the ball is going. Rinse, Repeat, keep working on it kind of deal. I’m having small successes with the 3/4 swing so something must be working.
    • Day 153.  Before grocery shopping, I stopped at a putting green and worked for half an hour on 3' and 30' putts.  The end of the 3' practice included taking 17 shots to finish all 12 for my clock drill (not great, but not as bad as a month ago) and the 30' finished with my final six putts from 30' (due to this green, they weren't significantly different on the clockface, so I'm still getting a similar read, but I know better than to assume it.  And of course, I had to hit them the right speed) with a total of 11 strokes (five 2-putts and I also sank one). After lunch and before gym, I did the quarantine days 9 (again, with feedback from yesterday) + 10 (which took a while to get right... I'm not even sure I got it right, video to show up later today). Addendum:  I haven't figured out my trigger for the day 10 practice plan.  That's going to take me a bit more thought
    • MD: 89 (Black/Orange combo tees): 89. Up and down sandy on 17th was nice. One of my better sand shots of the week.  SV: 98 (Black tees).. Tough day. Bit too much of a course for me from black tees. Drive on 18 uphill was a bright spot that stood out though.  SV: 89 (Orange tees).. phew.. much better. 2nd shot on 16 uphill from 198 out over bunker with a borrowed 3 iron (thanks @DeadMan.. :-)) that dropped and stopped within a two feet for a kick-in might be the shot of the week for me.  LL: 92, 92 back-to-back on the same day. Tried my darndest hard to break 90 but couldn't twice. Best shot 8 iron on 7th par 3 from 155 for a bird.  Lac La Bell: 107. Forgettable day score-wise except for holes 15-16 where I finally hit couple of good drives.  
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 3putt71
      3putt71
      (64 years old)
    2. cdutra40
      cdutra40
      (22 years old)
    3. Doovy
      Doovy
      (27 years old)
    4. JLeeWildcat9
      JLeeWildcat9
      (35 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...