Jump to content
IGNORED

Have you ever lost a ball in the fairway?


Note: This thread is 1267 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Have you ever lost a ball in the fairway?  

94 members have voted

  1. 1. Have you ever lost a ball in the fairway?

    • Yes
      87
    • No
      3
    • What are you talking about?
      4


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 89
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Yes, this has definitely happened to me...it's the golf equivalent of losing socks in the washing machine/dryer.  THEY HAVE TO BE IN THE DAMN HOUSE SOMEWHERE!!! You still should post your score

wait a minute.  are their people who haven't???   

Did you see it roll? I ask this because in soft conditions I have had my ball disappear before because it 100% plugs.  Because the USGA rule say you should. It should be stroke and distance. 

Many times,I hit the ball very high so on a wet course in winter the ball could go a couple of inches into the turf,if you dont see exactly where the ball lands its lost more often than not.

Link to post
Share on other sites

50 minutes ago, knucklebuster said:

Many times,I hit the ball very high so on a wet course in winter the ball could go a couple of inches into the turf,if you dont see exactly where the ball lands its lost more often than not.

Same thing has happened to me several times. Even if you know exactly where the ball landed, it's so soggy and muddy you still can't find the ball.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, last Tuesday for the first time, I lost a beautiful drive in the fairway. There were heaps of grass clippings - everywhere. 

I was playing really well up to that point, but I admit I lost my cool after that. I will not play that course again until late summer when everything is dead.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have too and it drives me crazy..and no, I don't give my self a penalty stroke if I'm 100% sure it landed in the fairway. Unless I'm playing with others, out of courtesy and because the rules dictates it. I do not want them to think I'm cheating them either. 

But if I'm playing by myself I'm mostly practicing, same reason why I would not hit a shot of a tree root and risk getting injured. No I don't take mulligans or give myself 5' gimmes either but I use as much honesty as I can and common sense. 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

lots of times. Most recently at a course that was reopened after a year of renovation. The grass had been mowed after a heavy rain and the clippings were deep. I lost a few balls right down the middle. So nothing unusual there.  I am impressed with the OP's assertion of hitting a 4 Iron 235 yards with  a double digit index, but then again considering his apparent age, completely understandable. Envious, yes.  Obtainable by me...not a chance.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In the fall I know I have lost at least one ball in the fairway over the years. My home course has trees lining every fairway, meaning that it gets pretty hard to find golf balls when all of those leaves start to fall.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, David in FL said:

I don't want to get OT, but since you brought up procedure, it's worth following up here...

What do you mean by the highlighted.  How exactly did you post a "17 hole  score of 80"?

On the handicap system on our course website, you're allowed to post as little holes as you played for the day, as long as there are more than 6. It will automatically calculate what score you would have gotten based on the handicap of the hole and such. It told me I'd get a 6 and so my true score was an 86, but I truly don't know what I would have shot so I said 80 for 17.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have plugged a ball a few times, once I knew it because as I was searching for my ball, I found the skull cap of another ball right near where I saw my ball hit and not bounce, I played that one. (I don't keep a handicap) 

Also I have noticed that if you inadvertently hit into another group, because of a blind shot when you think you have waited long enough, of which there are a few on my home course, you can "lose" a ball in the fairway pretty easily.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I was playing The Links at Spanish Bay in Monterey last year when a seagull swooped down and took my ball... dropped it 50 yards further down the fairway !

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 minutes ago, todgot said:

I was playing The Links at Spanish Bay in Monterey last year when a seagull swooped down and took my ball... dropped it 50 yards further down the fairway !

Better that, than this...

:-) 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, todgot said:

I was playing The Links at Spanish Bay in Monterey last year when a seagull swooped down and took my ball... dropped it 50 yards further down the fairway !

Just realized I played it wrong.  The caddie I had working for me said to play it as it lies.  With ball moved by outside agency it should have been replaced without penalty. oops.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I can't recall ever losing a ball in the fairway... If it was lost I obviously didn't find it ... so it wasn't in the fairway... it was someplace else.  It could be that I so rarely hit the fairway my chances of this occurring are low. 

I was playing once at Torrey Pines after the Buick Tournament... my friend topped his drive about 20 yards in front of the tee box and we couldn't find it in the rough. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 18/05/2017 at 5:45 AM, freshmanUTA said:

On the handicap system on our course website, you're allowed to post as little holes as you played for the day, as long as there are more than 6. It will automatically calculate what score you would have gotten based on the handicap of the hole and such. It told me I'd get a 6 and so my true score was an 86, but I truly don't know what I would have shot so I said 80 for 17.

It's amazing how computers can calculate your 18 hole score after you've played 6 holes. Next time I'm doing well after 8 holes I'll call it a day. ;-)

Link to post
Share on other sites

On 5/17/2017 at 2:34 AM, Patch said:

Oh yeah. I have lost plenty of balls in the fairway. Most of them because of leaves, and few more due to rodent holes. 

Losing a ball like this, is probably the only thing that might get under my skin when golfing. 

What gets under my skin, which is loosely related to losing a ball in the fairway is piping a drive down the middle and having the ball kick into the rough because the fairways are crowned.  There is a course in Austin which was notorious for this.  It was a nice track otherwise.  It's one thing to not be rewarded for hitting a good shot, but it's another to be penalized for hitting a good one.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, 1badbadger said:

What gets under my skin, which is loosely related to losing a ball in the fairway is piping a drive down the middle and having the ball kick into the rough because the fairways are crowned.  There is a course in Austin which was notorious for this.  It was a nice track otherwise.  It's one thing to not be rewarded for hitting a good shot, but it's another to be penalized for hitting a good one.

I once heard a guy say that golf was one of the games where a player can be penalized for something they have no control over. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1267 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • What I’ve read is that cnn requires vaccination if you come into the office and they weren’t, so I guess this is the right thing to do.  We are faced with a very difficult situation and we need everyone to pitch in.  Flying on an airplane, going to a crowded nightclub or concert or many of the things we do is not a right, it’s a privilege based on a private company offering up something.  They have the right to request saftey for their employees and other customers.    Vaccine has been given to millions of people without incident, just go if you haven’t already.  
    • CNN Fires Three Employees For Going Into Office Without Covid Vaccinations Unvaccinated People Need to Bear the Burden - The Atlantic Beyond limiting the coronavirus’s flow from hot spots to the rest of the country, allowing only vaccinated people on domestic flights will change minds, too.  
    • And… Post elsewhere a bit. More frequently. Add an avatar. 😄
    • Calkins: Bryson DeChambeau is unvaccinated, unrepentant — and delusional - Memphis Local, Sports, Business & Food News | Daily Memphian Isn’t Bryson DeChambeau supposed to be smart? Then why is it, when it comes to the COVID-19 vaccine, he sounds like such a dummy?  Isn’t Bryson DeChambeau supposed to be smart? That’s his schtick, isn’t it? He studied physics at SMU. His nickname is the “Mad Scientist.”  He can talk endlessly about training his brain to find the proper balance between the “parasympathetic and sympathetic states.” Turns out that’s bunk. DeChambeau is a dummy. Indeed, he is the worst kind of dummy, the kind that likes to pretend he is smart. You know the type, don’t you?
    • I don't know if it can be repaired and if it's even worth repairing. That said, the metal in the dented area has been severely stretched so it will need to be shrunk to get it back. I think you're on the right track with heat and cold but I see a couple of potential issues. First, I'm not certain a heat gun will heat a small enough area and, second, it actually needs to "bubble" out a bit in the opposite direction of the dent - if that makes sense. I think you can get it to come back some but I don't think it'll "pop" back with the rounded shape it should have. Good luck and please let us know how it goes.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. arctic fox 1950
      arctic fox 1950
      (71 years old)
    2. markluther
      markluther
      (30 years old)
    3. NoShanks78
      NoShanks78
      (43 years old)
    4. soikeo247
      soikeo247
      (24 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...