Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
wannabe

2017 Dean & Deluca Invitational

Note: This thread is 874 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

11 posts / 1080 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

2017 D&D Invitational

Pretty tight leaderboard with some big names, going out in threesomes due to weather threats.  Should make for some good watching.

Simpson has been trending this year of late.  He's back on with his putting after several changes since the anchoring ban.  I'm rooting for him.

I also like the D&D shops.  Ridiculously high dollar, but some good eats.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

I might actually find the time to watch some golf today.

Will Webb shank one today? Odds are about 50/50. :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Man, exciting final stretch.

Edited by Apoc81

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Great tournament ending. Was pulling for Rahm. noticed the title of this thread...For me, it's always just "the Colonial." -Marv

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Well, if it couldn't be Simpson, I'm happy for Kisner.  Lots of guys were in the hunt.  Kisner was dialed in.

Season's really beginning to heat up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Tweet and photo out there of ZJ with a meltdown after being put on the clock, I'm reading that he threw his bag or clubs (or both).
Looking for video - anyone on TST with a clip from Z "TinCup" Johnson

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

39 minutes ago, Wally Fairway said:

Tweet and photo out there of ZJ with a meltdown after being put on the clock, I'm reading that he threw his bag or clubs (or both).
Looking for video - anyone on TST with a clip from Z "TinCup" Johnson

Zach said that he was mad over being put on the clock & making a double bogey. He said he was taking his putter out of the bag and it got stuck on several other clubs, he pulled the putter out with force and several other clubs went flying.

Believable story as I've had that happen to me as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

As slow as the tour plays, how the hell does anyone ever get put on the clock is what I want to know. Jesus, the waiting they go through must be excruciating sometimes. Gotta slow the pace so the camera's can get all the big names on tv... I hate that. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 hours ago, MrGolfguy67 said:

Believable story as I've had that happen to me as well.

In a Tour bag? Hmmmmm…

https://www.thescore.com/pga/news/1308963

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I wish the sponsors, Dean & DeLuca, had kept "Colonial" in the name.  I understand they want the biggest advertising bang for their bucks but it is hard for me to recognize exactly what the Dean & DeLuca Invitational is.  Two weeks ago, if someone had said they were looking forward to the Dean & DeLuca Invitational, I would have been hard pressed to even say within which state the tournament was being held.

It is not just Dean & DeLuca, either.  CareerBuilder Challenge anyone?  Or Genesis Open? 

Time for my nap, I guess.

Edited by bkuehn1952

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, bkuehn1952 said:

I wish the sponsors, Dean & DeLuca, had kept "Colonial" in the name.  I understand they want the biggest advertising bang for their bucks but it is hard for me to recognize exactly what the Dean & DeLuca Invitational is.  Two weeks ago, if someone had said they were looking forward to the Dean & DeLuca Invitational, I would have been hard pressed to even say within which state the tournament was being held.

It is not just Dean & DeLuca, either.  CareerBuilder Challenge anyone?  Or Genesis Open? 

Time for my nap, I guess.

I still enjoy watching the Crosby Pro-Am, and the Los Angeles Open (or what ever they want to call them)
Now get off my lawn!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 874 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Day 170.  I got home way too late, but remembered the challenge so I'm doing some of UGP's stretches.  Probably good given how little I moved today.  (Incidentally, earlier today I saw my future golf room for the first time, better than the previous one!  Ten days until setup!)
    • Almost always putt. Either with my putter or a club from PW-7 iron using the same putting stroke depending the pin location and grass condition. 
    • Yeah you must’ve missed that. It was posted earlier by @fredf then reposted by @Missouri Swede.
    • This is good stuff and interesting to hear from someone that plays on such big greens. I have never had that luxury/challenge, depending on the green. I find it so interesting that some people love partial shots (could be full swing but reduced power), and others don't want any part of it. For me, in that same situation of 100 yards with back edge at 110, this is how I would take it. Full shots are 80-85 yards for 53o, 95-100 yards for PW, 110 yards for 9I. I would almost always take a 9I into this green, unless there is serious trouble long. A 85-95% 9 iron is going to leave me on the green almost all of the time, barring L-R miss. If I hit it super pure, or I have some extra adrenaline pumping, I'm over for sure, but close. If it is sloping toward the back, then its a pitching wedge, and an almost certain downhill putt, but that's the nature of the beast. I use a Garmin approach S20, which is fairly basic, but has done a really good job of telling me center, front and back of the greens when I have played. When I know the pin layout for the day, I do cater to that, but if I have any doubt, or it is scary at all, I play for the center
    • I have gone through the replies and the main claim is 'Serious misconduct'. I get that but it seems like a grey area. open to interpretation.  I can't find any section of the rules that describe the scenario that i provided and the rules are very specific in terms of objects, balls hit, touched, where participants stand, act etc. There are other reasons the said example could count as legitimate play. Perhaps Player B is putting away from the hole because he wants an easier uphill putt to finish the hole. Also if  Player B's ball is directly opposite Player A's ball and putts it pass the hole and just pass his partners mark it is an over hit and the putt coming back is going to show the line for the next putt. Misconduct or inherent part of the game. Have we lost the freedom to decide on the direction of the next stroke. NB. The 4BBB I am referring to would be part of a Team Stableford competion. So there is no conceding putts involved.   Ahhh I have found some clarity. Point 7.  1.2a/1 - Meaning of Serious Misconduct The phrase “serious misconduct” in Rule 1.2a is intended to cover player misconduct that is so far removed from the expected norm in golf that the most severe sanction of removing a player from the competition is justified. This includes dishonesty, deliberately interfering with another player’s rights, or endangering the safety of others. The Committee must determine if the misconduct is serious considering all the circumstances. Even if the Committee determines that the misconduct is serious, it may take the view that it is more appropriate to warn the player that a repeat of the misconduct or similar misconduct will result in disqualification, instead of disqualifying him or her in the first instance. Examples of actions by a player that are likely to be considered serious misconduct include: Deliberately causing serious damage to a putting green. Disagreeing with the course setup and taking it on himself or herself to move tee-markers or boundary stakes. Throwing a club towards another player or spectator. Deliberately distracting other players while they are making strokes. Removing loose impediments or movable obstructions to disadvantage another player after that other player has asked him or her to leave them in place. Repeatedly refusing to lift a ball at rest when it interferes with another player in stroke play. Deliberately playing away from the hole and then towards the hole to assist the player’s partner (such as helping the player’s partner learn the break on the putting green). Deliberately not playing in accordance with the Rules and potentially gaining a significant advantage by doing so, despite incurring a penalty for a breach of the relevant Rule. Repeatedly using vulgar or offensive language. Using a handicap that has been established for the purpose of providing an unfair advantage or using the round being played to establish such a handicap. Examples of actions by a player that, although involving misconduct, are unlikely to be considered serious misconduct include: Slamming a club to the ground, damaging the club and causing minor damage to the turf. Throwing a club towards a golf bag that unintentionally hits another person. Carelessly distracting another player making a stroke.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Robert  D McCabe
      Robert D McCabe
      (57 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...