IGNORED

Experience with Taylormade Project A golf balls

Note: This thread is 2165 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have a higher swing speed around 105-110 or so.  I had been playing pentas and loved them, but looks like they stopped selling them.  

I started playing this project A ball and while i do like it there are some wierd traites with it that makes me wonder if others are seeing it.

Anyway..according to game golf my driver distance has dropped wich I thought might happen due to the compression.  The one thing I didnt see happening was that I was seeing HUGE distance gaines from my 52 degree and short irons.  Where I was usually hitting my 52 degree from 110 to 115 im hitting this from 120 to 140!  Thats crazy!

Has anyone else noticed this?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I am guessing that the compression of this ball is best suited to your "short iron" swing speed.  Would figure if you tested your swing speed with irons from say 8i to LW most would be within 10 mph of each other and probably in the ideal Project A range for compression.

What's in the bag

• Taylor Made r5 dual Draw 9.5* (stiff)
  • Cobra Baffler 4H (stiff)
  • Taylor Made RAC OS 6-9,P,S (regular)
  • Golden Bear LD5.0 60* (regular)
  • Aidia Z-009 Putter
  • Inesis Soft 500 golf ball

I played the Project a when they first came out and I thought it was a great ball. One reason that I was attracted to them in the first place was that it was a really good ball at a good price ($30ish/dozen).

Now, I've found a better ball at the same price, the Snell My Tour Ball. I suggest you try them.

(Also, the Snell balls are made by Dean Snell. I'm pretty sure that he created the Project a before he left Taylormade to start his own company).

• Like 1

Tristan Hilton

My Equipment: