IGNORED

Ten finger grip - amazing

Note: This thread is 2359 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Just wanted to share. I've been playing for about six years. I'm a bogey golfer. All this time I've been using an interlock grip. (The overlap grip is very uncomfortable for me). Last night I was reading several articles about the  ten finger grip  and why it is not as terrible as many people think. Today I decided to try it and went to play nine holes. I went straight to the tee, no practice balls. My first drive was a great drive, then my iron shots were better than ever. To make a long story short, I shot a 38, my best score ever for nine holes (five pars, three bogeys and a birdie). The ten finger grip (not to be confused with the baseball grip) gave me more control and power. The fact that I hit balls so well without practicing  first tells me that is the grip that is natural for me. Why didn't I try it before???

Question, why is the ten finger grip demonized so much?

Just to clarify, when I say ten finger grip I mean the grip with my left hand is exactly as before, a traditional left hand golf grip. The difference is in the right hand, all five fingers on the club and my left thumb under my right palm crease.

• Thumbs Up 1

16 minutes ago, arturo28mx said:

Just to clarify, when I say ten finger grip I mean the grip with my left hand is exactly as before, a traditional left hand golf grip. The difference is in the right hand, all five fingers on the club and my left thumb under my right palm crease.

Probably because you have golfing legends like Jack who used the interlocking grip. Vardon created the overlapping grip. Probably more so to do with the best golfers using primarily those two style of grips.