Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
amished

Determining Honor in Handicapped Match Play

Note: This thread is 878 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

10 posts / 1643 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

This year is my first year playing in my course's handicapped match play tournament and who had honor was a question that had come up that I was not sure of the answer.

On hole three, he ended up winning the hole so he had honor for hole four.  On hole four I had to give him a stroke, we both tee off and I end up making par and he ends up making bogey, which turns into net par when playing against me according to my understanding of the rules.  He then thought that I should have the honor on hole five since I had the better natural score (par vs. bogey) and I thought that he should retain honor since the hole was halved due to handicap.

We ended up playing the way that I thought (he retains honor because of the halved hole) but we weren't sure.

His opinion, I believe, comes from our Men's League where it's both stroke and match play, where whomever has the better natural score goes first.  I thought that rules were different in pure match play so that's where our confusion came up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

You were right.  :beer:

Rule 10-1 applies.

The player (or side) that wins a hole has the honor on the next hole.  If a hole is halved, the honor remains the same as the prior hole.  Since you were playing a handicapped match, you decide each hole by net score.

Interestingly though.  In match play, if 2 players are unsure how to proceed under the rules, they can come to a decision between themselves and continue from there.  Which is exactly what you did. :-) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If you win the hole-Handicap included-You tee off first. Same as regular play. Apply the handicap strokes because that is how you determine who won the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, Phil McGleno said:

 Same as regular play. 

Just to be clear, in STROKE play the low gross score has the honor on the next tee.  I know the original question was about match play, but I'm adding this so folks understand that a different criteria applies.

Edited by DaveP043

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

16 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Just to be clear, in STROKE play the low gross score has the honor on the next tee.  I know the original question was about match play, but I'm adding this so folks understand that a different criteria applies.

For those interested, decision 10-2a/1 pertains.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

Just to be clear, in STROKE play the low gross score has the honor on the next tee.  I know the original question was about match play, but I'm adding this so folks understand that a different criteria applies.

This has to be so because stroke play (except for stableford) does not recognise a net score for a hole. The net score only applies to the whole round.

In stableford the lowest net score takes the honour.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

48 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

This has to be so because stroke play (except for stableford) does not recognise a net score for a hole. The net score only applies to the whole round.

In stableford the lowest net score takes the honour.

Actually, the highest net score takes the honor... :-) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

No. If you read 32-1b, you will that points are determined converted from scores. The player with the highest points takes the honour. The lowest score has the highest points

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

No. If you read 32-1b, you will that points are determined converted from scores. The player with the highest points takes the honour. The lowest score has the highest points

I didn't know that.  I'll remember it though.  I bet I can win a bar bet or two with it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 8/22/2017 at 4:11 PM, Rulesman said:

This has to be so because stroke play (except for stableford) does not recognise a net score for a hole. The net score only applies to the whole round.

In stableford the lowest net score takes the honour.

True. The only time the hole by hole net score matters in stroke play events (or qualifying rounds) is under many "match of cards" methods.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 878 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2020 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • After the All Star stuff tonight there was an hour long documentary (or Masterson application video, probably) on the amount of damage done to Connor McDavids knee in the final game of last season.  I'm not sure how you'd watch it in the States since it isn't on YouTube yet, but wow, just wow.    The Oilers picked up the rumored four million dollar tab for his rehab, and even still it's hard to believe he skated on opening day, let alone the preseason.   I already had a lot of respect for the guy, but after watching this it's shot through the roof now.
    • Day 16, January 24 2020.  Putting over the aluminum yardstick this evening after work.  Longest streak:  7 in a row, all 36" (at speed to go at least twice that far).
    • Got my first today! It was a pretty easy hole to birdie, but good to start it off right. 
    • I understand that.  But, if I’m striking the ball well one day, I tend to be striking the ball well for a time.  I’ll always take good ball striking over dumb luck, whether good or bad...
    • My golf season is starting in just under three weeks! What we’ll do is practice for a few weeks before our first match on March 2. Anytime we play, I’ll post about it here and on “What’d You Shoot Today?”. Also, if I have any crazy stories from practice, I’ll post those here as well. We do a lot of fun things at practice, from going out and playing a few holes to competitions on the practice green. Our favorite wager: pushups. I’ve got a few crazy stories from last year, so I can put those here too if you want! Definitely looking forward to the season. Just some info from last season: •My scoring average last season was something in the neighborhood of 48.5, with a low score of 45. Hoping to bring that average down to 45 this season. •We made it to regionals as a team last year as one of the top three teams in our conference. At regionals, we played okay, but came up well short, placing ninth out of 12. Top two teams go to state level, and top twelve individuals go to states as well, which leads me to my third point: •We had two of our team members (neither of which were me) go to states. And the final point: •I made a 10 on my last hole of the season. The last hole of regionals, with my family and just about the whole team watching. If you want to know the hole, look up Keith Hills Golf Club, Orange Course #9. Drive to the center of the fairway, then knocked one in the hazard. Dropped, then into the bunker. Took four to get out and onto the green, and then I two-putted. So, there you go. Looking forward to posting my performance this season!
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. BraxtonGolf
      BraxtonGolf
      (24 years old)
    2. Dan2501
      Dan2501
      (30 years old)
    3. Finch
      Finch
      (33 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...