Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
DeadMan

Was this Poor Etiquette?

Was conceding the putt poor etiquette?  

21 members have voted

  1. 1. Was conceding the putt poor etiquette?



19 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

Okay, something that's been bothering me a bit, and I wanted to get others' opinions on it.

Here's the situation - it's a four ball match (i.e., team match play, you take the best score of your team). My team's 4 is already conceded. The other team has a player who is putting for a 5, and the other player is putting for a 3. The player putting for a 5 is furthest away, close to the same line as the player putting for a 3. Because I know the player putting for a 3 wants to see this putt to get help for his line, I concede the 5. The player putting for a 3 is annoyed by this and says "**** you" to me. It's not relevant, but he missed the putt for a 3, but made a 4 so we halved the hole.

Ignore his reaction, because it was mostly joking (and a little ridiculous, too, obviously). I was talking about this after the round with my wife, who said what I did was a little over top and overly competitive given the situation. It's a competitive Ryder Cup-style event, but it's mostly a friendly end of the year event. My wife is a golfer, for what it's worth.

I really didn't think too much of it at the time - this guy has a bit of a foul mouth, and it's usually directed at himself. But now I'm questioning if I was a little too over the top here. Curious to see what other's thoughts are.

For what it's worth, I wouldn't hesitate to do something like that in the Newport Cup, but that's probably more competitive than this is. I really think this is just good strategy and nothing more, although I can see how it is over the top if there's nothing on the line.

Edited by DeadMan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Decision 2-4/6 Putting Out After Concession of Stroke

Rule 2-4 does not cover the question of whether a player may putt out after his next stroke has been conceded. A player incurs no penalty for holing out in such circumstances. However, if the act would be of assistance to a partner in a four-ball or best-ball match, the partner is, in equity (Rule 1-4), disqualified for the hole.

 

I was wrong see above rule. I originally posted they did nothing wrong but I stand corrected. You learn something new everyday!

Edited by NM Golf
Wrong info

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hmm....I wouldn't drop an "eff you" unless I was VERY good friends....that's not nice.

But yeah, he can still putt it even if you've conceded the putt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

13 minutes ago, colin007 said:

But yeah, he can still putt it even if you've conceded the putt

Not in this situation. He could only do it after his partner putted.

Edited by DeadMan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This is completely appropriate  in a 4 ball match. I do the same thing routinely, and I expect my opponents to do the same thing. I'm surprised if I'm allowed to hit a meaningless putt that could help my partner.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Glad to see there's a rule on this, that I agree with. I would have done the exact same thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

This is completely appropriate  in a 4 ball match. I do the same thing routinely, and I expect my opponents to do the same thing. I'm surprised if I'm allowed to hit a meaningless putt that could help my partner.

I think maybe the only real issue is that my concession came a little late. He was starting to line up his putt when I had my "eureka" moment. He wasn't over the ball or anything, but he had spent 15-30 seconds getting ready to putt. I bet if I had conceded it earlier (like when he was walking up to the green), it wouldn't have been an issue at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't see an issue with it.  Even in a friendly event, you're there (in part) to win -- and strategic concessions are part of any match play situation.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, NM Golf said:

I was wrong see above rule. I originally posted they did nothing wrong but I stand corrected. You learn something new everyday!

You can change your vote.

2 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

This is completely appropriate  in a 4 ball match. I do the same thing routinely, and I expect my opponents to do the same thing. I'm surprised if I'm allowed to hit a meaningless putt that could help my partner.

Yep.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Seems to have been played correctly, even the timing isn't a problem, and if it rattled the guy putting for birdie, so much the better.  And forget correctly or by the rules, it was executed masterfully (even if the timing bit was accidental - they don't need to know that).

(though the competitor's response is just another reason I don't like to compete or bet - though it's HIS problem if he was rattled, that's on him - always.  Composure is supposed to be a part of the game)

Edited by rehmwa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

This is completely appropriate  in a 4 ball match. I do the same thing routinely, and I expect my opponents to do the same thing. I'm surprised if I'm allowed to hit a meaningless putt that could help my partner.

I completely rescind my answer.  You were obviously wrong and rude to do what you did.  For the rest of the year (or at least until October 22) you should always allow your opponents to attempt meaningless putts that could help a partner to make a putt to win a hole from you.  And in much the same way my parents taught me, I feel completely free to disregard my own guidance.  :beer::-P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I completely rescind my answer.  You were obviously wrong and rude to do what you did.  For the rest of the year (or at least until October 22) you should always allow your opponents to attempt meaningless putts that could help a partner to make a putt to win a hole from you.  And in much the same way my parents taught me, I feel completely free to disregard my own guidance.  :beer::-P

Nice try.

Edited by DeadMan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, DeadMan said:

Nice try.

To be honest, I'm a little surprised I didn't get a PM from our team leader hassling me for giving you the right answer the first time.  But I'm sure you've played enough golf to know that what you did was fine, and I've played enough to know never to get upset with an opponent.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

To be honest, I'm a little surprised I didn't get a PM from our team leader hassling me for giving you the right answer the first time.  But I'm sure you've played enough golf to know that what you did was fine, and I've played enough to know never to get upset with an opponent.  

He even replied to the thread agreeing with you! This was a prime opportunity to sow doubt among your opponent. You both are slipping! :-D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...