IGNORED

Impatient or just slow learner

RJN12
Note: This thread is 2288 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I started playing 3-4 months ago, having never been on a course of touched a golf club. I am really loving the game, but frustrated with my progress. On my little 9-hole course (2100 yards) I have gone from 82 to 63, but on my proper 9-hole (3200 yds) I am stuck at 75-80. I play 3 times a week (except some breaks when I travel for work), and take lessons. I can’t practice much more as the range seems to be contributing to various injuries. My technique is definitely improving, having more control around the green and at double/triple bogey on par 3s. My main issue seems to be getting to the green on par 4 and 5 where I often spend 6-7 strokes just getting there. My tee shots are inconsistent and max 120 yds, and even though I rarely shoot OB I often just shoot 50 yds ahead. 

Looking at this forum, most people seem to struggle with the 100 to 120, so it is really discouraging to be at 160 (I count everything!). Did anyone start so badly, and was there a point in which things started coming together? Please share! At this point I still enjoy myself, but it’s starting to be demotivating. 

Hi there! Thanks for posting, and I’ll offer my thoughts. Hopefully this is an interesting thread:

1. If my longest shots were 120yds and inconsistent, I frankly wouldn’t go out to score a round. Go and play,enjoy the outdoors, be with people, sure. But score? No. To me that’s irrelevant at that point. 

2. I would use the practice range to improve, but course to just play. No swing thoughts. No frustration (ha). Just whack the ball in the hole.