Jump to content

4,826 posts / 219784 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Day 1

Have been practicing a lot lately, both with a weighted club indoors, and off a mat into a net in the backyard, so I figured I might as well get in on this.  I have been working on triggering my downswing with my left knee moving toward the target and getting my hips open at impact, and I can see a really significant improvement with my impact through the ball.  My focus has been making sure that I am facing the target and holding the pose, which means that I have gotten the clubhead through impact in a much more powerful position, resulting in a penetrating ball-flight.  I worked on full swings with a set of tiny, old Ram blades, and most of my strikes were pure... or close to it. 

I also worked out with a 20lb kettlebell, and my weighted club.

Golf Net.jpeg

Edited by bwdial

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Day 14: Went to the range for about an hour. Worked on my long game, still on the little move off the ball (trying to make it littler), for about 30 minutes. Then went and worked on my putting, primarily lag putting, for half an hour.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Day 404

Still on the 5h, 6i, 7i focus

Today I played a bit of a game: shot with 5h followed by a shot with either the 7i or 6i. Goal was to hit a total yard score and in the direction I was aimed at.

For example, I aimed at a green 275 yards out.  Depending on how well the 5h shot went, I would choose either of the irons to finish up. Intent was to be on the green OR leave myself a very playable chip.

Sometimes I was really happy and a few times invectives may have passed my lips. Even the heat did not bother me.

 

Edited by DrMJG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Day 1. A large part of why I finally made a profile is this thread & accountability that comes with it. Anyhow, 20 minutes practicing putting stroke with the mirror plate. Working on consistent takeaways. Sometimes the toe seems to lag on the backstroke and I’m really working to square that up. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Day 7

8/20/19

Pitched balls with my SW to a bucket 30 yards away. My consistency was not there and only around half of the shots were good.

I'm scheduling time tomorrow to work on the same practice routine. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Craigers said:

Day 7

8/20/19

Pitched balls with my SW to a bucket 30 yards away. My consistency was not there and only around half of the shots were good.

I'm scheduling time tomorrow to work on the same practice routine. 

And kudos to you craigers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Day 15: Mirror work today. Working on my full swing. Making that move slightly smaller off the ball, along with earlier hip rotation. Soft wrists feel in transition as well. Looking pretty good.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Day 2

Spent about thirty minutes hitting a pitching wedge and seven-iron into my net.  Still working on initiating my swing with my lower body.  Hit some clunkers, but overall made really good contact. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Day 2. Routine work. Trying hard to develop a consistent pre shot routine. I’ve incorporated a metronome into these drills with the whole routine taking 16 beats from start to impact. About 45 minutes hitting into the net with each shot preceded by the full routine. If any step was out of place I started over. A big thing making sure my starting position behind the ball is the same every time. Today’s revelation was I need to be starting on my left foot, this eliminates one whole step and two beats off the total time. Starting to see some results with this.

Edited by OB-OG
More detail about the routine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Day 109.  Played 18 at a course I like with some friends.  While the course/tees are shorter than I usually play (a tad bit under 6000 yards, par 71), I shot 85.  Nine GIR.  Four of those GIR had a 3-putt.  Three of those were from 40+ feet out, so not a surprise on their own, but taken together.  And on one of those I hit the first putt fat. 

But what really got me was after going no-6s on the first nine, on the par-5 10th I hit a wedge to set up an 18 foot birdie attempt, and I left it 6' short, missed, got my first six of the day. :-(   Birdied the last par-5 to get to even par on par-5s for the day but :-( Also I was 5-over on the par-3s. 

The round:

2738396_PqxcTYnl.png

View this round on GAME GOLF

Strokes gained:

* Off the tee, 2.65 , maybe an 11 or 12 handicap level

* Approach 4.2, single digit handicap level (high single digit but still)

* Short game 1.59, pretty much at 10 handicap level.  This was greatly helped by a chip-in on #6, my first chip-in on the course in about two years.

* Putting 6.26 -- ... yeah, my first car was a model 626 but that doesn't make this feel any better.  

We'll say those words again, glaring weakness.  I am and will work on it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Day 3

I wasn't able to go outside and hit balls because of a gifted endorsement class after school, so I spent about ten minutes swinging my weighted club at a variety of speeds to try and groove my swing.  I'm really feeling my lower body initiating the swing.  I'm going to try and call tomorrow and set up my second lesson for Friday afternoon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Day 8

8/21/19

Full dry swings with my 3w. I didn't seem very comfortable with my swing tonight and know some of the shots would have been bad.

Getting in better shape would really help my swing. I need to lose 20 lbs.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Day 312, August 22

Sweaty practice today in 150% humidity. I had to wear rain gloves. Worked on my PP with 7 iron and driver and filmed it. Then did chipping and pitching in the yard. The sweat was dripping off my hat brim the whole time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Day 3. 

Worked on contact and routine. Hit 20 shots with full routine marking if it was off the heel (H) slight heel (h) sweet spot (s) slight toe (t) full toe (T). Results were:

H: 0/20: h: 1/20; s: 14/20; t: 4/20; T 1/20

my tendency is obvious. Unsure what to do other than just line up a bit more heel side. Overall pleased. I do this test monthly and it’s improved over the last 12 months. 

Did another 20 shots focusing on the routine. I rated each shot from 1-5 on overall ‘quality’ of the routine. Did it take to long, did I lose focus, etc. Average score over 20 shots was 3.6. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Day 9

8/22/19
 

Pitched with my SW again. The 1st few shots were a mixed bag of bad and good shots. After around the 5th shot I started to find a groove and make some consistent contact.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Day 4

Another day... another evening shot.  Curriculum Night at school meant getting home after 8:00, so I worked with the weighted club again.  After that I putted to various spots around the living room for about five minutes.  It's been ages since I've actually putted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Within the past few years, we've had topics of discussion surrounding the idea and practice of girls playing in boys tournaments in high school golf. To recap: In this topic, a 14-year-old 8th grader won the boys state championship in Delaware competing from 85% of the distance. Delaware at the time didn't have a separate tournament for girls as there were apparently not many girls at all playing. They noted that they have hope to have enough girls to some day have a separate girls tournament. The girls competed on the "team" as well, and the team won too. In this instance, boys play in the fall, and girls play in the spring. The high school for which this girl played doesn't have a girls team, so she's eligible to play for the boys team, and still compete in the regional and state events in the spring for the girls. She played from shorter tees than the boys, and her team did not win/advance. And again, she could compete in the spring against other girls from the same tees. In PIAA, apparently, we have two sisters in the WPIAL (a Pittsburgh area league) that compete for Carmichaels. The school doesn't have a girls golf team, and there's apparently a PIAA rule that says that only one girl from each school can compete in the girls championship (districts, regionals, and then states). Remmey competed for the girls as a freshman and sophomore. Her year-older sister Delaney competed on the boys side those two years but didn't get out of her district (the WPIAL). This year, they put Delaney (a senior this year) through the girls so she'd have a better chance of going to States, and Remmey (junior) went through the boys track. These are individual tournaments, not the team events, which are run separately. I believe they both play on the boys team for Carmichaels. Anyway, Remmey (in the boys track) shot 72 playing from 85% of the distance that the boys played to finish second. The top 22 of 44 players advanced. Her sister, Delaney, shot 90 to miss the playoff to move on to states for AA girls by two. Club House Leaderboard - Scrolf.com Get real-time leaderboard and mobile scoring for your next golf event or league. Works on any mobile device with no app downloads. Here's the first story: Sisters Remmey and Delaney Lohr to compete in WPIAL golf finals — for girls and boys Carmichaels junior Remmey Lohr placed third in the WPIAL girls golf finals last year, but this year she’s competing on the boys side. Here's the second: Carmichaels golfer Remmey Lohr qualifies for PIAA boys championships Lohr used an eagle to place second at the PIAA western regional qualifier. My stance on this stuff remains the same. If a girl CHOOSES to compete against boys (when there's a girl's team available, or a girls track), when she has an alternative, she should be allowed to compete so long as it's on actually equal terms. That means the same tees. This basically treats the boys division as "open." I'm also fine if the rules simply say "boys" and don't allow girls to compete at all for individual titles. For teams, I think the 85% is a good compromise, because some teams literally might not even have enough players to compete if they don't allow girls to play for them, and that would hurt more people than allowing girls to play. Still, these girls should compete through the girls individual track, if available, not the boys. Unless, again, they made a choice to play for the boys when an alternative (girls) was available. Should a girl playing quarterback for the high school team only have to advance the ball 8.5 yards for a first down? Should a girl playing on a boys basketball team get a second, lower basket because girls aren't generally as tall as boys? Should a girls high school pitcher that chooses to play baseball get to pitch from, oh, 50 feet instead? P.S. It's not said above, but the best fix here is to adjust the "one girl" rule. Adjust that, and this isn't an issue. Why penalize girls who don't have a girls team by only allowing one of them to qualify, when four or five girls from a high school with a program could all qualify?
    • I think it's fun. You get to take runs at every hole because every chip shot becomes much easier, and even if not that, you get to take a run at the resulting putt. It's fun to push it to the limit sometimes in order to see how low you can go.
    • That's a very specific scenario covered by the rules. He would be DQed for a serious breach of Rule 14-7b for playing from the wrong place. I take your point, but there really isn't much of a difference between a DQ and 58 penalty strokes.
    • Where have you been? 🙂 Remember? She made a 5 and wrote down (signed for) a 4. She knows what score she had, and signed for a lower one. This isn't the same thing. Because Dave got it wrong. You're DQed for a lower score, you take the higher score. Well, she got 58 penalty strokes, so… It's not like she just got away with it or something. Again, did you miss that whole conversation in the topic I posted up above? You didn't, because you replied in it. He'd be DQed for playing from a wrong place. Such an act can't be "rectified" by correcting the scorecard. Rule 1 says this: That would be such a case. The scorecard could not be adjusted sufficiently because the ball was literally not played from anywhere near where it should have been.
    • I guess I just don't understand why the penalty for that infraction is DQ (especially since in that case she wasn't gaining an advantage since she signed for a higher score) but the penalty for breaking a different rule 29 times over two different days is just the applicable penalty strokes simply because the golfer "didn't know the rules".  I get that they are completely different rules about completely different scenarios, I just don't think it's right that a golfer can break the same rule 29 times over 2 different rounds and not be DQ'ed simply because they didnt know they were breaking a rule. To that point, let's say there was a newer golfer in a tournament and he hit multiple balls out of bounds throughout the round but played them as red staked hazards because he didn't know any better, but then it was discovered after the round and after signing the scorecard that he had played them as such, does that mean he would only get the applicable penalty strokes added to his score instead of being DQ'ed simply because he didn't know it was a rule that white stakes are treated differently than red stakes? That doesn't seem right IMO.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. boxofballs
      boxofballs
      (45 years old)
    2. CaptainsChoice
      CaptainsChoice
      (33 years old)
    3. Dozer
      Dozer
      (56 years old)
    4. Pcorys
      Pcorys
      (34 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...