Jump to content
IGNORED

Bunker Liner Rule Changed on PGA Tour


Note: This thread is 1161 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator

http://golfweek.com/2018/02/07/the-forecaddie-pga-tour-takes-stand-with-bunker-liner-rule/

Quote

On the “hard card” rules sheet distributed to players at this week’s Farmers Insurance Open and at all Tour stops, the committee has instituted local rules that now permit “ a drop only if a player’s swing path is impacted by a rogue liner.

“The Rules Committee may deem an exposed liner ground under repair. However, interference by a liner with a player’s stance is deemed not to be, of itself, interference under Rule 25-1.”

I'm glad, mostly, but without spending too much time looking into this… the bunker liner is man-made, and an obstruction, and the Rules of Golf grant you relief for obstructions for your stance, too. Isn't this a Rule 24 issue?

Again, only two minutes of thought here, but I don't consider a bunker liner an abnormal ground condition.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

By Definition the committee can deem anything to be GUR (ie an AGC). The note ro 25-1a of course allows the restricted relief.

 

Edit. I'm pretty sure I have seen a similar LR previously re a loose liner.

 

 

Edited by Rulesman
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
2 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

By Definition the committee can deem anything to be GUR (ie an AGC). The note ro 25-1a of course allows the restricted relief.

Edit. I'm pretty sure I have seen a similar LR previously re a loose liner.

Yep, there we go. That's what I didn't think of in my rush. GUR = Abnormal Ground Condition. Derp.

Thanks.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This is good. I was not a huge fan of players really digging their feet into the sand when they had a bad lie so they could get relief. If I remember correctly, Grace did a lot of digging and then found the liner. Not a great look. (I don't remember the Hoffman incident beyond that it happened).

Granted, that's the European Tour for Grace, but I think this is a positive step. Now if they'll just do something about backstopping :whistle:

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1161 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasfeb21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • That's hilarious. I had a set of clubs for a short time without the line drawn under the 6 and the 9. Drove me crazy.  Nowadays it's impossible for me to make that mistake, my 9 iron is a different style of club AND a different brand. I have a 9 iron players blade and a Super Game improvement 6 iron. 9 iron is dynacraft, 6 iron is Tour Edge. I dare say nobody could confuse them. 
    • That’s the feel I use too. It’s feeling the head drop behind with the start of the swing going more out than down. It flattens the shafts so by A5 it’s on plane.
    • Why not square? Hooks suck, too. Your face is shut in both swings.
    • Have you made the 6 instead of 9 mistake? I have! Wow that 9 iron went far!
    • Played another rusty 18 holes yesterday, but made some good shots along the way.  The best one was on a 370 yard par 4, where I missed the fairway left and dumped the approach in a pond short left of the green. Took a drop and had 85 yards into the wind left to the pin over the same pond, landed it directly in the cup and broke both the cup and the Covid-filler put into it. The hole spat it back out to a 5 inch tap-in bogey, but it was still pretty amazing shot. Wonder if it would've stayed in without the covid-filler in the hole.  
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Miguel Martinho
      Miguel Martinho
      (25 years old)
    2. mtclinton21
      mtclinton21
      (36 years old)
    3. SwingCity18
      SwingCity18
      (33 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...