Jump to content
NM Golf

Patrick Reed Relief Comment + Waste Area Penalty at the Hero

176 posts / 15419 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

4 minutes ago, colin007 said:

A grown man named "Slugger" said that him doing it a second time was irrelevant.

The same one who won't enforce pace of play penalties because someone's kid might not be able to go to college.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, Asheville said:

Let's lose the made-for-tv term "waste area." 

Not a fan of it either, but people "know what you mean" when you say it, and that's the point of communication.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Let's lose the made-for-tv term "waste area." 

The area of the course where the ball lay is called the General Area.

It's Fatrick we're dealing with here, let's call it the Waist Area.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, iacas said:

Not a fan of it either, but people "know what you mean" when you say it, and that's the point of communication.

Forgot this is Tour Talk. Accuracy is optional.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, mvmac said:

What the hell was he thinking?!

Agree you could definitely make the case he should be penalized twice.

You could, but I've come around to the idea that you'd lose that battle.

There's no intervening event that separates the act of improving the lie.

 So, two strokes is probably right.

Slugger was wrong though when he said "improving his line of play." It was improving his lie, not his line of play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 hours ago, colin007 said:

A grown man named "Slugger" said that him doing it a second time was irrelevant.

Don’t you want a cool nickname that’s completely irrelevant to what your occupation is?😜

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 hours ago, iacas said:

You could, but I've come around to the idea that you'd lose that battle.

 

Slugger was wrong though when he said "improving his line of play." It was improving his lie, not his line of play.

You are both wrong. Under 8.1 he was improving "The area of the player's intended swing."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In this situation, if the players caddy sees it, does he say anything to his player? Not shifting blame or anything, just wondering.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, RemyM said:

You are both wrong. Under 8.1 he was improving "The area of the player's intended swing."

Little bit of both, ain’t it? If I’m in 1” high rough and pull out a 2” high tee and put my ball on that (essentially what’s happening when you remove sand from directly behind the ball is you’re “teeing it up”) aren’t I improving both my lie and my swing path?


Ive sort of defended Reed in the past, but awfully hard to take in all of the evidence here (including his comments after, and including the other older video) and not lean towards the conclusion that he’s intentionally cheating.

Edited by Golfingdad

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

40 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

Little bit of both, ain’t it? If I’m in 1” high rough and pull out a 2” high tee and put my ball on that (essentially what’s happening when you remove sand from directly behind the ball is you’re “teeing it up”) aren’t I improving both my lie and my swing path?


 

He didn't touch his ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

55 minutes ago, RemyM said:

He didn't touch his ball.

The lie is more than the ball.

Your point is taken because it’s the spot on which the ball lies by definition but colloquially “spot” is the area immediately around the ball. Nobody whose ball is sitting down in Bermuda grass says “my lie is great but my area of swing is bad.”

He breached the rule. That much is clear.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Upon first hearing about this, I wondered what all the fuss was about.  I thought maybe he accidentally flicked some sand; but upon watching the clips above, it appears that Patrick was trying to casually dig a trench behind the ball!  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, ncates00 said:

Upon first hearing about this, I wondered what all the fuss was about.  I thought maybe he accidentally flicked some sand; but upon watching the clips above, it appears that Patrick was trying to casually dig a trench behind the ball!  

Perhaps he should swap one of his wedges for a shovel. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Makes you wonder how much he fluffs his lie in thick grass. 

Unrelated (but also, related):

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • Made it through 16 holes today at +11 (73). Had 14 GIR/nGIR. I was about 30 yards from the green on a par-5 when I had to quit due to darkness. Just extrapolating my scoring, if I par #17 (considering I was close to GIR already), and bogey #18, that would be an 83, which is an excellent score for me on this course, from the tees I was playing. My ball striking was good all round, and I only had one horrendous mishit (topped a 3W off the tee on #2, ended up making a 6). The wind was strong and gusty so the ball was doing some weird stuff. On the first hole I flushed my drive, and it only got out 228 yards, then proceeded to hit my hybrid 260 yards just short of the green.  
    • Day 317 Played 16 holes today. Started pretty late in the afternoon, and was almost home on the par-5 17th hole when it was finally too dark to continue so I picked up and headed home. One of the best rounds in recent memory, and there was some pretty wild wind to contend with. Too tired for a superspeed workout so that will wait until tomorrow.
    • The only people that are allowed to whine about 3 putt pars are tour pros😉. Just kidding. Glad you got out for a round, and keep that driver in play and going LONG!!!
    • Day 126.  Speed sticks, protocol one at halftime of SNF.  It has been eleven days since I did this last;  that's way too long. 
    • I did not play at all last week.  My most recent score before today was a hieroglyph from two weeks ago.  Truthfully it was probably 94 or 95, but I did not keep a proper score.  There was alcohol involved. It rained heavily last night.  So I got us on at beautiful and challenging Osprey Point, the crown jewel of Palm Beach public golf courses.  I can only get a tee time when it rains and people cancel.  I am increasingly suspicious that morning rounds are being given away by politicians for unethical reasons because the "public" tee times are simply never available before 2 PM. Anyway, the course was a mucky mess with intermittent rain.  I got an 89, kinda good for me. I could not get a putt to drop today. But (to toot my horn a bit) the driving has definitely been switched ON for the past few weeks.  I hit driver on 11 holes today, 8 fairways, no penalty strokes, and they were bombs. I sure hope that I have turned a corner, though probably not.  It will all go to pot again soon enough.  I should not even speak of it publicly or suffer the wrath of the golf gods.  But while this lasts, confidence in the drive opens up some wonderful options when you can hit it much further than the people you are with. The courses are just not long enough.  Have a look at Falcon 4 at Osprey Point:   I love smart designs like this. The score card says 315 from the gold tees, but that involves laying up on the dogleg (which you can't really see from the tee box) and pitching onto the green like an intelligent person.  This hole is a trap. You can see the scrub brush barrier.  It's only about 12 or 15 feet high. The green is small and elevated, but the scrub brush hides the elevation.  There is not a lot of room to miss on the left. I have gone for this green twice in the past.  Both times I over-swung and pulled it into the woods. More recently I have simply played it properly.  But with the driver working I felt emboldened today.  Sure enough I found success at last.  My pic is not great here.  The drive came up slightly short of the green, not really 292. It hit the incline and just stopped.  I was close enough to putt though.  Yeah, I three-putted.  Oh well.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Double_AA
      Double_AA
      (27 years old)
    2. FCAPT
      FCAPT
      (66 years old)
    3. ScrilltheDeal
      ScrilltheDeal
      (32 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...