Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
jgllghr

Placing a marker behind the hole before putting

Note: This thread is 896 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

5 posts / 1571 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Hello everyone, 

I apologize if I'm posting in an inappropriate location as this is my first post, but I have a question regarding the Rules. 

I understand a person cannot place an object on the "line of the putt" at any point to help aid in a putt, but I was wondering if it's a rule violation to place a marker behind the hole while aligning the ball markings. It's easier to line the markings up with a smaller item sometimes than with the entire hole, and it would be placed directly behind the hole just while aligning the arrows on the ball.

 

Rule 8-2b states one cannot place a mark on the "line of the putt," but "line of the putt" is defined as not extending past the hole, meaning that placing a mark behind the hole wouldn't violate this rule, as long as the mark was removed before the stroke was made. 

 

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's helpful to read Decisions, too:

Check out 8-2b/0.5:

8-2b/0.5 - Meaning of "Indicating Line of Putt" and "Placing of Mark for Purpose of Indicating Line of Putt" in Rule 8-2b 

Rule 8-2b allows a player to have the line of putt indicated to him by his partner or either of their caddies. However, the putting green must not be touched nor may a mark be placed anywhere for the purpose of indicating the line of putt.

For example, the following actions are not a breach of Rule 8-2b:

  • Prior to a player playing from the putting green, his caddie points to but does not touch a repaired ball-mark on the line of putt that the player should use as an aiming point.
  • As a player is preparing to play from the putting green, his partner tells him to aim at the edge of a sprinkler head (i.e., a fixed object) that is located behind the green.

However, the following are examples of actions that would be a breach of Rule 8-2b:

  • Prior to a player playing from the putting green, his caddie touches the putting green with the flagstick behind and to the right of the hole to indicate the point where the player should aim his putt.
  • As a player is lining up his putt, his caddie places a water bottle on the grass behind the green to indicate the point where the player should aim his putt and removes the bottle before the player makes his stroke. (New)

Welcome to TST.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 896 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...