Jump to content
iacas

2018 U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills

852 posts / 40397 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

10 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Whoa, Phil!  Putting a ball in motion????

 

9 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Wtf?! Daly? Total mental shut down.

Hahahahahaha....Phil is having a meltdown!  He just overhit a put on purpose and smiled about it....LOLOLOLOL

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Did they score it correctly? Putting for bogey (5), it runs past.  Putts the ball in motion (6), and it goes past, then marks the ball, putts (7) and misses, then putts into hole (8), plus 2 stroke penalty (10).  They're listing it as a 9.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Did they score it correctly? Putting for bogey (5), it runs past.  Putts the ball in motion (6), and it goes past, then marks the ball, putts (7) and misses, then putts into hole (8), plus 2 stroke penalty (10).  They're listing it as a 9.

They just fixed it. They had scored him wrong.

1 minute ago, Missouri Swede said:

He did it of his own volition. What was he thinking?!

People are wondering if he will get further penalized for it. Him disrespecting the golf/tournament. Also the put in the following hole was done on purpose as well as he laughed afterwards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

14 minutes ago, JSGolf said:

Also the put in the following hole was done on purpose as well as he laughed afterwards.

What?

28 minutes ago, JSGolf said:

 

 He just overhit a put on purpose and smiled about it....LOLOLOLOL

What? He hit  a moving ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well his drive hit the fairway, approach was long, wedge rolled off the front. His putt went like it was rolling off the front, again.

At this point we're explaining something foolish - he taps the moving ball. However, if he lets the ball keep rolling off the front, he would have a second 30 yard-ish wedge back onto the green, and then another couple of putts to get in the hole.

So the two-stroke penalty equals the likeliest outcome of a wedge back and two putts. At worst he added one stroke to his score of 81, not any matter for someone who at the moment is 19 strokes back of the leader with one round left.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, ladders11 said:

Well his drive hit the fairway, approach was long, wedge rolled off the front. His putt went like it was rolling off the front, again.

At this point we're explaining something foolish - he taps the moving ball. However, if he lets the ball keep rolling off the front, he would have a second 30 yard-ish wedge back onto the green, and then another couple of putts to get in the hole.

So the two-stroke penalty equals the likeliest outcome of a wedge back and two putts. At worst he added one stroke to his score of 81, not any matter for someone who at the moment is 19 strokes back of the leader with one round left.

No.

The rules can’t make assumptions about what you would do from there.

Also, he could have played under stroke and distance and replayed the putt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, iacas said:

No.

The rules can’t make assumptions about what you would do from there.

Also, he could have played under stroke and distance and replayed the putt.

True. And Phil would place his reputation above all else.

The idea that this was a calculated or even "smart" move is absurd. Phil will be very embarrassed about it. From now on, every time there's an issue with very fast greens at a major they'll be replaying this. A bit sad.

10 minutes later.....

Yet..........now he is saying it WAS calculated. Bad look.

Edited by Shorty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Phil could've gotten disqualified had they decided that he stopped the ball on purpose. Instead he got a penalty for hitting the ball while still moving.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just now, JSGolf said:

Phil could've gotten disqualified had they decided that he stopped the ball on purpose. Instead he got a penalty for hitting the ball while still moving.

Yeah. I disagree with that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, Shorty said:

True. And Phil would place his reputation above all else.

The idea that this was a calculated or even "smart" move is absurd. Phil will be very embarrassed about it. From now on, every time there's an issue with very fast greens at a major they'll be replaying this. A bit sad.

I haven't seen any embarrassment on his part. He was smirking/laughing after leaving that hole. I am wondering if he will address the media. He made a fool of himself and I agree the video will played for years to come.

Curtis Strange was suppose to get an interview with him but I haven't heard anything since...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't disagree with the rule at all, just saying the penalty isn't consequential, as far as his score in this round or finish in this tournament. He definitely gets some type of a hit to his rep, but to me this will be replayed excessively given the zero impact on the finish. No reason for people to diva this out.

Starting today at +6 he had a chance to win, if he had played as well as Finau or Berger he would be in the top 10. Poor strategy and mental breakdown over the course of the round, but in the moment not really a difference maker to his result.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Posts

    • @iacas, thanks for your detailed comments. i know sometimes tone can be difficult to discern online and as a new member of this community i'm still getting used to the style of communication here. i apologize if you feel i put words in your mouth (totally unintentional) and i don't harbor any ill will about what i considered snarky/sarcastic.  i think it's difficult to compare this picture of DJ because he's wearing layers and a collar. additionally, the fact that the picture of mike on the left is intentionally exaggerated limits its usefulness in my opinion.  i just searched for "dustin johnson down the line slow motion" in youtube and here are a couple of pictures from the first few videos that showed up, sorted by recency. here's one of DJ with an iron in his hand and no layers from the open in 2017.  to my untrained eye his spine seems to be in a much more neutral position. there's plenty of space between his chin and chest and it looks like there's a little bit of anterior pelvic tilt. (please forgive my crappy dots :) and here's a picture of DJ with driver in his hand from a video that was uploaded about a year ago though i don't know when it was filmed: further, this is what DJ has to say (in his own words) about his posture in an interview with golf.com from 2016: https://www.golf.com/instruction/steal-dustin-johnsons-power-move-and-add-10-yards-tee so to answer your question i would say DJ's posture looks (to me) more like the picture of mike on the left but with less anterior pelvic tilt and less extension in the cervical spine. and based on what he has to say about his posture he doesn't want to set up like mike in the picture on the left.
    • Suffice to say we can trust @ChetlovesMer's taste in putters about as much as his taste in belt color…
    • In the last 15 years, a lot of work has been done on fairway wood heads. This includes moving around the center of gravity (see diagram of RBZ Stage 2 FW). 1. Higher and more forward leads to lower spin, more penetrating shot. This works best for golfers with high clubhead speed. 2. Lower and more rearward leads to higher spin and higher launch, which can maximize distance for the average golfer.  In 2006, Tour Edge launched the Exotics line of FW. Exotics used titanium cup-face, and steel maraging (removes dead weight from hitting area) to develop some very hot FWs and hybrids. This year's EXS model uses a new high-density carbon steel alloy Callaway, Cobra, Mizuno and Ping likewise developed FWs with a variety of head options. Of course, the FW works best if you fit it with a shaft that matches your swing. Go to a demo day, and do a side-by-side with your 3W and others. And, if you carry a single FW, also try 4Ws. Many players - including some big hitters - get more out of a 4W than a 3W. This depends in part on how you come into the ball.
    • TXGolfDude, Here also is a link to the 2018 MyGolfSpy article rating 3 woods for 2018. Given it's 2019 now I'm sure any improved technology between now and 2018 is almost immeasurable, although I'm sure you'll find marketing pitches that contradict that. 2018 MOST WANTED FAIRWAY WOOD 24 Fariway Woods, 20 Testers, the largest unbiased head-to-head 3 wood test in the world. Short Story is #1 = Exoitics CBx, #2 = Callaway Rogue, #3 = Callaway Rogue SubZero, and there are many others included. I always take these types of things with a grain of salt. "The Best" tend to come from some method of aggregating the data of the test results and the only thing I can be sure of is that my results will almost surely aggregate differently. Then of course there is always the argument of how much a particular company might have "donated" to this test group and how that might influence the results. Also I believe the right shaft is a big variable in anyone's swing  but I could not find what shaft manufacturer was used in the testing so I have to  assume they used what ever the stock shaft was that came in the club (noting that sometimes there can be different shafts used within the same year by the same club manufacturer).   Still this information is very interesting, and although it does not answer your question how much better they are than your 2008 gamer, you might take your gamer and try some of these clubs in the list to see how they compare. Good Luck!              
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...