Jump to content
iacas

2018 U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills

852 posts / 41165 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

7 minutes ago, Shindig said:

Why is it stupid?  They're a hole behind.  The proper place on the golf course is behind the group ahead of them, not in front of the group behind them.

This this this. A thousand times this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Furyk quietly having a good round.  Nice tee shot on that par-3. 

Dustin back to tied for the lead and somehow playing his par-3s well despite how they usually go season-wise. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades


“This is where golf gets into the weeds and the USGA’s ruling is … curious: The USGA determined Mickelson “made a stroke at a moving ball,” but did not purposefully deflect or stop it. Had he done the latter he would have been disqualified.”

He hit a moving ball back the other direction. He ‘deflected’ it from going off the green. Sounds like they’re grasping straws to justify not DQ’ing Phil.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Koepka makes a 60' putt... PGA Tour average from 60' is 2.21 strokes, so that's a gain of over one stroke on a single shot.

Nicely done Brooks. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, Vinsk said:


“This is where golf gets into the weeds and the USGA’s ruling is … curious: The USGA determined Mickelson “made a stroke at a moving ball,” but did not purposefully deflect or stop it. Had he done the latter he would have been disqualified.”

He hit a moving ball back the other direction. He ‘deflected’ it from going off the green. Sounds like they’re grasping straws to justify not DQ’ing Phil.

No - Mickelson did exactly as they said. He didn't put is putter out to stop the ball or flick it off to the side. How is that grasping at straws? You may as well say that when you drive the ball you stop it because at some point it comes to rest.

1 minute ago, Shindig said:

Koepka makes a 60' putt... PGA Tour average from 60' is 2.21 strokes, so that's a gain of over one stroke on a single shot.

Nicely done Brooks. 

Long putts do tend to save you a shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Vinsk said:


“This is where golf gets into the weeds and the USGA’s ruling is … curious: The USGA determined Mickelson “made a stroke at a moving ball,” but did not purposefully deflect or stop it. Had he done the latter he would have been disqualified.”

He hit a moving ball back the other direction. He ‘deflected’ it from going off the green. Sounds like they’re grasping straws to justify not DQ’ing Phil.

I like Phil and all but he should be DQ’d based on his comments after the round and based on the rules. He basically said he did it on purpose. You can’t make exceptions just because it’s Phil.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, Blackjack Don said:

Curtis Strange on Justin Rose. "He couldn't hit a green if you dropped him out of a helicopter." 

Correction: It was Zinger who said it. He's the funny one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, ChrisP said:

I like Phil and all but he should be DQ’d based on his comments after the round and based on the rules. He basically said he did it on purpose. You can’t make exceptions just because it’s Phil.

I believe there is a rule that states a player cannot be DQ'd on his/her birthday... if there isn't, there should be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

35 minutes ago, ladders11 said:

 

Also, Stenson/Rose being "on the clock" is stupid, I don't see why officials need to interfere.

Considering how slow play was on Thursday and players were backed up and no on the clocks were called...

8 minutes ago, ChrisP said:

I like Phil and all but he should be DQ’d based on his comments after the round and based on the rules. He basically said he did it on purpose. You can’t make exceptions just because it’s Phil.

Agreed and broadcasters seem not to want to offend Phil.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Shorty said:

Please explain your reasoning for this. 

He didn't "stop the ball". He putted it while it was moving. 

1-2

1 hour ago, Shindig said:

Wait, was that right?  If Phil hadn't done that thing with his ball, he could have declared it unplayable and gone back to the previous putt?

Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The real entertainment is who is competing to win. In a way the course has done it's job separating the best from the rest.

Leaderboard:

   +1    2017 US Open Champion      

   +1    2016 US Open Champion / Current World #1

   +2    2016 Open Champion

   +3    2013 US Open Champion

   +3    Berger/Finau

Winner will have earned it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Now, it's gone too far. Koepka hit a good shot onto the green and it rolls into a bunker? Slowly, rolls off the green. That seems a bit unfair.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Blackjack Don said:

Now, it's gone too far. Koepka hit a good shot onto the green and it rolls into a bunker? Slowly, rolls off the green. That seems a bit unfair.

Who says it was a good shot?

Were the Sergio shots that went into the water at Augusta good too?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, Blackjack Don said:

Now, it's gone too far. Koepka hit a good shot onto the green and it rolls into a bunker? Slowly, rolls off the green. That seems a bit unfair.

That's what he gets for hitting it to the wrong position.  Shinnecock is making a statement to the new "Live Under Par" slogan. ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Posts

    • Who faced the tougher competition?   My analysis covers the 20 Masters Tournaments Woods has played in as a pro (1997 – 2019), and the first 21 Masters Tournament Nicklaus participated (1960 – 1982).   The Masters Tournament was chosen because the Masters is the only event played on the same course—Augusta National—each year.   I have one underlying assumption with regards to Tournament scoring. Golfing technology and equipment have steadily advanced. However, after researching the USGA opinions and the course overhauls that occurred in response to the technological advancements, I believe course designers have done a job preserving the emphasis on the player skill.    My assumption is that the efforts by executive committees to create more challenging courses has offset the permitted use of more advanced equipment. As a result I feel confident that the Tournament scores from the Nicklaus period in the sample (1960-1982) can be compared to the Masters leaderboards from the Woods period (1997-2019) within the margin of error of any statistical adjustment.      I merged the field from Woods’ first Tournament in ’97 with the field in Nicklaus’ first Tournament in ’60, maintaining the cut line at the top 50 qualifiers. I simply repeated this process through the 2019 and the 1982 Masters Tournaments.   In this period that I assessed, Woods did not participate in three tournaments ’14, ’16, and ‘17. Nicklaus did not participate in one tournament in ’67. Although the Masters Tournaments in ’61, ’73, 2003-2007 were played in poor weather conditions, after reviewing the cut lines, only ’03 and ’05 seem to be significantly affected by weather. A slight adjustment was made to players scores to normalize the scores.    After taking measure among the qualifiers during the merged tournaments displayed in the link, I found that the level of difficulty increased in the Woods’ era 28.1%.   ·     68% of the top 50 lowest qualifying scores are from the Woods’ era See 2ndsheet in link, labelled “top 50”   Additional Findings:   -      After merging the best of the two periods, Woods finishes with an estimated 4 green jackets and Nicklaus finishes with 2. -      If Woods competed in the Nicklaus period, Woods would have an estimated 9 green jackets. If Nicklaus competed in the Woods era, Nicklaus would have an estimated 5 green jackets. *Note: Nicklaus finished his career playing in 15 additional Masters Tournaments beginning in 1983. Woods is still active as of 2019. -      Woods finishes the 23 Tournament sample 106 below par. Nicklaus finishes the 23 Tournament sample 75 below par. Missing the hypothetical cut = +10 towards Masters career score.    Woods vs. Nicklaus  
    • A buddy of mine gave me a Bobby Jones 460cc black driver today and I played absolutely great with it! Highlight of today's round, however, was a beautiful 3 wood onto a par 3 that landed about 7-8 feet from the hole. There must have been a closest to the pin challenge earlier in the morning, because a marker was out there. My shot would have won it today had I been there to play in it 🙂 Overall, really solid round. Still some inconsistencies with iron play, but it's getting the better (the last three holes were really good with my 6, 7, 8, and W). 
    • Who knows. Maybe not happy that Nick reported the 2017 Champions Dinner story in the media. Tiger might have said things in that room that he expected the other Champions to keep to themselves instead of spouting to the media about it.
    • Not sure if it counts, but: Scrambled with some great guys today (foursome). We played an absolutely beautiful course. Shot a 73. 
    • You do realize my response was to “Diece”? But addressing your post, glad you are improving. However, even at 59, I usually play at 6700+ yards. On a mini tour, you will be at 7200 minimum, and expected to be under par, at least if you plan to play for a living. either way, golf should never define you. And making boast about a difficult game is a recipe for disappointment. But like most of the folks on this site, we will be ok if proven wrong. Will you be ok if we are proven right?
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Stillhacken
      Stillhacken
      (47 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...