Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
iacas

2018 U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills

852 posts / 43222 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

7 minutes ago, Shindig said:

Why is it stupid?  They're a hole behind.  The proper place on the golf course is behind the group ahead of them, not in front of the group behind them.

This this this. A thousand times this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Furyk quietly having a good round.  Nice tee shot on that par-3. 

Dustin back to tied for the lead and somehow playing his par-3s well despite how they usually go season-wise. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades


“This is where golf gets into the weeds and the USGA’s ruling is … curious: The USGA determined Mickelson “made a stroke at a moving ball,” but did not purposefully deflect or stop it. Had he done the latter he would have been disqualified.”

He hit a moving ball back the other direction. He ‘deflected’ it from going off the green. Sounds like they’re grasping straws to justify not DQ’ing Phil.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Koepka makes a 60' putt... PGA Tour average from 60' is 2.21 strokes, so that's a gain of over one stroke on a single shot.

Nicely done Brooks. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, Vinsk said:


“This is where golf gets into the weeds and the USGA’s ruling is … curious: The USGA determined Mickelson “made a stroke at a moving ball,” but did not purposefully deflect or stop it. Had he done the latter he would have been disqualified.”

He hit a moving ball back the other direction. He ‘deflected’ it from going off the green. Sounds like they’re grasping straws to justify not DQ’ing Phil.

No - Mickelson did exactly as they said. He didn't put is putter out to stop the ball or flick it off to the side. How is that grasping at straws? You may as well say that when you drive the ball you stop it because at some point it comes to rest.

1 minute ago, Shindig said:

Koepka makes a 60' putt... PGA Tour average from 60' is 2.21 strokes, so that's a gain of over one stroke on a single shot.

Nicely done Brooks. 

Long putts do tend to save you a shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Vinsk said:


“This is where golf gets into the weeds and the USGA’s ruling is … curious: The USGA determined Mickelson “made a stroke at a moving ball,” but did not purposefully deflect or stop it. Had he done the latter he would have been disqualified.”

He hit a moving ball back the other direction. He ‘deflected’ it from going off the green. Sounds like they’re grasping straws to justify not DQ’ing Phil.

I like Phil and all but he should be DQ’d based on his comments after the round and based on the rules. He basically said he did it on purpose. You can’t make exceptions just because it’s Phil.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, Blackjack Don said:

Curtis Strange on Justin Rose. "He couldn't hit a green if you dropped him out of a helicopter." 

Correction: It was Zinger who said it. He's the funny one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, ChrisP said:

I like Phil and all but he should be DQ’d based on his comments after the round and based on the rules. He basically said he did it on purpose. You can’t make exceptions just because it’s Phil.

I believe there is a rule that states a player cannot be DQ'd on his/her birthday... if there isn't, there should be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

35 minutes ago, ladders11 said:

 

Also, Stenson/Rose being "on the clock" is stupid, I don't see why officials need to interfere.

Considering how slow play was on Thursday and players were backed up and no on the clocks were called...

8 minutes ago, ChrisP said:

I like Phil and all but he should be DQ’d based on his comments after the round and based on the rules. He basically said he did it on purpose. You can’t make exceptions just because it’s Phil.

Agreed and broadcasters seem not to want to offend Phil.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Shorty said:

Please explain your reasoning for this. 

He didn't "stop the ball". He putted it while it was moving. 

1-2

1 hour ago, Shindig said:

Wait, was that right?  If Phil hadn't done that thing with his ball, he could have declared it unplayable and gone back to the previous putt?

Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The real entertainment is who is competing to win. In a way the course has done it's job separating the best from the rest.

Leaderboard:

   +1    2017 US Open Champion      

   +1    2016 US Open Champion / Current World #1

   +2    2016 Open Champion

   +3    2013 US Open Champion

   +3    Berger/Finau

Winner will have earned it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Now, it's gone too far. Koepka hit a good shot onto the green and it rolls into a bunker? Slowly, rolls off the green. That seems a bit unfair.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Blackjack Don said:

Now, it's gone too far. Koepka hit a good shot onto the green and it rolls into a bunker? Slowly, rolls off the green. That seems a bit unfair.

Who says it was a good shot?

Were the Sergio shots that went into the water at Augusta good too?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, Blackjack Don said:

Now, it's gone too far. Koepka hit a good shot onto the green and it rolls into a bunker? Slowly, rolls off the green. That seems a bit unfair.

That's what he gets for hitting it to the wrong position.  Shinnecock is making a statement to the new "Live Under Par" slogan. ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...