Jump to content


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Good on you for protecting the field.  There was a misinterpretation of the rules in a recent round at my club and a player doing something similar to what you did ended up improving several players' standing by getting the misinterpretation corrected. BTW, you might find it easier -- both for you and for anyone reading your comments -- to use the "multiquote" feature.  You can then reply to everyone in one post, saving you time and making the total discussion a bit more cohesive. 
    • I'm not sure this is correct. I would recommend reviewing Rule 16.1b. Your relief area has to be in the general area.
    • I hope these are a little better, I will have to the face on angle on the course sometime the bays around me are far to small and the camera would be so close, Even on these one's the down line angle was the farthest away I could possible have.  Comparing my game from now to my original post I'd say my ball striking has been a lot better in terms of consistency. I'm never too far offline and I'm pretty short in terms of distance. Driver I'm probably averaging around 210ish but can squeeze it out 240ish if I get everything right.         
    • The issue is when this happens in a formal competition. Hard to protect the field by calling it for a single brief phrase.  I did call advice in a tournament a few weeks ago when one player helped the other make a 10 foot putt on the first hole. Afterwards the advice-giver checked with the committee and added two strokes to his score. The player who accepted the advice and made the putt did not.  
    • They know it's embedded because they saw it land and then cannot find it and the ground is soft. See USGA Embedded Ball FAQ.  Yes, if the ball is "known or virtually certain" lost in an abnormal course condition such as temporary water, then there is free relief referencing the point that the ball entered the abnormal course condition. However, soft ground is not temporary water. Water has to be visible.   Yes, they say, "leave it there, it might help". Maybe this one is not as difficult to call as other examples though. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. andreanewman
      andreanewman
      (29 years old)
    2. Erg
      Erg
      (54 years old)
    3. Hacker James
      Hacker James
      (79 years old)
    4. irishmike27
      irishmike27
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...