Jump to content
IGNORED

Cheating in Tournament


Nutsmacker
 Share

Note: This thread is 1413 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

15 minutes ago, Martyn W said:

How on earth did the committee accept the card?? If the card is not attested he is DQ!! (6-6)

  

It is not super serious I guess.  I don't know.  I am fairly inexperienced with all of this.  This is my 5th time playing in a stroke tournament.  There wasn't a committee....just a volunteer helping out.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites


13 hours ago, Groucho Valentine said:

You did the right thing. Ive been playing with college players in state and national level tournaments for over a decade and I've heard of younger players doing some shady shit, but never seen it personally in competition. In the end, its not your responsibility to worry about policing another player while you're competing as well. Take care of your own game first and dont let another players actions weigh on you. Unless they're angry at all the birdies you may be dropping. Then just point and laugh. 

In stroke play, you may not ignore a fellow-competitor’s breach of a Rule. (D33-7/9)

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


9 hours ago, c. lassiter said:

Unfortunately, nearly every event I've ever participated in, or attended as a parent when my kids were playing, has had some kind of BS rule breaking going on.

Of course! They’re kids! Some don’t even know the rules 😁

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
15 minutes ago, Nutsmacker said:

I didn't.  

Yes you did.

On 7/11/2018 at 6:27 PM, Nutsmacker said:

We played on and it was clear that was his thing.  I noticed it 3 more times and I finally just mentioned that it was not the correct way to mark the ball.

You let him breach the rules several times before you called him out. That’s wrong in two ways.

First you could have written down his true score. Two higher. Each time. Maybe you did this.

But mostly you stayed silent and let a fellow competitor breach the rules. You should have tried to prevent it from happening and talked about it when it was clear to you he had (the first time after you thought you were seeing things).

The prevention you failed to do (this is almost more etiquette) at least three times. And he should have been penalized every time he did it. You were his marker.

I understand the weird social situation, but I’m not speaking to that. Just the fact that you ignored several breaches of the rules for several holes.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

Yes you did.

I don't think I ignored the breach of rules.  I told the person running the tournament.  I am more than happy to disqualify myself if necessary, but I did not ignore it.  I am tempted to write an email to the organizer outlining what happened again; and I will offer to disqualify myself.   Frankly, I don't want to have to deal with this ever again....there is nothing fun about it whatsoever.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Not to hijack, but I had some similar things happen to me during my league.

I am a first year player and bottom of the league, so I try to stay low key.

BUT, I do manage to play OK and score some points.  I have noticed that when I am scoring against better players, they get a bit creative with the rules.

One invented a drop zone when he totally hooked it OOB on a Par 3.

Others have taken drops where their ball would have ended up OOB instead of where it crossed.  Differences of 50+ yards in a lot of cases.

The first week, we were allowed to "fluff" balls on the fairway because of conditions.  Somehow that became OK all season long.

Some of the greens have legit repair areas, and we are allowed relief.  Some players take this to the extreme, and if where they are in the green is not perfect, they declare it "under repair"

  • Like 1

Clubs, Balls, attitude and desire

Stolen from Papa Steve 55

Always remember, the same country that invented golf and called it a game, invented bag pipes and called it music.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, millsan1 said:

Not to hijack, but I had some similar things happen to me during my league.

I am a first year player and bottom of the league, so I try to stay low key.

BUT, I do manage to play OK and score some points.  I have noticed that when I am scoring against better players, they get a bit creative with the rules.

One invented a drop zone when he totally hooked it OOB on a Par 3.

Others have taken drops where their ball would have ended up OOB instead of where it crossed.  Differences of 50+ yards in a lot of cases.

The first week, we were allowed to "fluff" balls on the fairway because of conditions.  Somehow that became OK all season long.

Some of the greens have legit repair areas, and we are allowed relief.  Some players take this to the extreme, and if where they are in the green is not perfect, they declare it "under repair"

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
24 minutes ago, Nutsmacker said:

I don't think I ignored the breach of rules.

You ignored it several times. You knowingly allowed him to putt from a wrong place several times.

Again it's a little bit of an etiquette thing, too, but you knowingly allowed a guy to play from a wrong place and continue to breach the rules several times until you brought it up to him.

That's not a value judgment on you and again I understand how awkward it can be, but you may have made it more awkward by waiting so long. I'd have said something the first time I saw it that I was sure. I'd have said right then "hey, yeah, you put the mark in front of the ball, so you've gotta put the ball back in the same place."

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not that they should, but each club/association probably has its own culture for how closely they expect rules to be followed. 

I've never been under a delusion about my own association's rigor, but my last outing kind of drove the point home. We were playing a team stroke event and I was with the two old men of the association. One was 98 and the other in his mid 80s. On a level, it was massively impressive that these guys were still out there and getting around the course, but the rules didn't really apply to them. We had ball rolling, dodgy drops and four-foot gimmes all day. After the round, I came to understand they had the association's full backing on it.

What really threw me is that they kept knocking the ball back at me even after I told them I intended to putt everything out. Kind of worked against my fragile psyche. By the end, I was just glad it was over.

Edited by mcanadiens
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

You ignored it several times. You knowingly allowed him to putt from a wrong place several times.

Again it's a little bit of an etiquette thing, too, but you knowingly allowed a guy to play from a wrong place and continue to breach the rules several times until you brought it up to him.

That's not a value judgment on you and again I understand how awkward it can be, but you may have made it more awkward by waiting so long. I'd have said something the first time I saw it that I was sure. I'd have said right then "hey, yeah, you put the mark in front of the ball, so you've gotta put the ball back in the same place."

The first time I was sure.

Fair enough.  I did want to make sure that it was in fact the case.  It was blazing hot and my allergies were driving me nuts so I wasn't sure if I was in fact witnessing the cheating move or losing my mind.  The last thing I wanted to do was be wrong about it.  When I did say something to him it was right in front of my eyes as we were both lining up short putts.  So, I saw him go through the entire motion within a few feet of my eyes so I was 100% sure of it at that point.  However, I was about 95% sure of it after 9 holes.  I wasn't always in a place where I could see whether he was doing it or not.  

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator

Hey, I wasn't there, so I'd trust whatever you feel is accurate over what I can tell from trying to read and guess at things.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

Hey, I wasn't there, so I'd trust whatever you feel is accurate over what I can tell from trying to read and guess at things.

No, you are right.  I should have said something as soon as I thought I saw what I saw.  I was just dumbfounded by what I thought I saw initially.  Again, I was sneezing and my eyes were watering most of the day so I wasn't quite sure if I was just having a brain meltdown or what.  Maybe when I email the organizer about the incident(s); I will request to call the ruling of D33-7/9 on myself to bring attention to the matter.  That could be a way to shine a light.  I don't plan on playing with that group again anyhow.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites


15 minutes ago, mcanadiens said:

four-foot gimmes all day. After the round, I came to understand they had the association's full backing on it.

I love local rules.. :-).

 

I am sure they do it for sake of pace of play.............🤥

Edited by GolfLug

Vishal S.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
3 minutes ago, Nutsmacker said:

No, you are right.  I should have said something as soon as I thought I saw what I saw.  I was just dumbfounded by what I thought I saw initially.  Again, I was sneezing and my eyes were watering most of the day so I wasn't quite sure if I was just having a brain meltdown or what.  Maybe when I email the organizer about the incident(s); I will request to call the ruling of D33-7/9 on myself to bring attention to the matter.  That could be a way to shine a light.  I don't plan on playing with that group again anyhow.  

It is a learning experience. You may come across it again, but identifying a breach when it happens, politely, is the best approach.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

40 minutes ago, mcanadiens said:

and four-foot gimmes all day

That would shave 2-3 putt per hole off my score, I would be nearly a scratch golfer!

Edited by Elmer
  • Upvote 1

In my Grom:

Driver-Taylormade 10.5 Woods- Taylomade 3 wood, taylormade 4 Hybrid
Irons- Callaway Big Berthas 5i - GW Wedges- Titles Volkey  Putter- Odyssey protype #9
Ball- Bridgestone E6
All grips Golf Pride

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Elmer said:

That would shave 2-3 putt per hole off my score, I would be nearly a scratch golfer!

You make that many greens? 😂

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Cheating in Tournament
Note: This thread is 1413 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • Day 1: Took a few days off to refocus. Stack arrived today, but my left arm is too sore from Covid booster and flu shot to really make hard swings so I’ll wait until next week. This evening I  hit balls simply making athletic swings. Did about 20 balls with a 7-iron. 
    • Day 211.  The plan was to do a full Fit for Golf routine tonight, but I was a bit too sore for it, so it ended up as a FFG mobility routine. 
    • Day 74 (10/6/22): Tonight was a very short practice, but it was productive, relatively speaking. Just short 3-9 swings, rehearsing impact position first, and then concentrating on feeling that position during the actual swing. And while not golf specific, I have resumed some core, leg, and back strength exercises I was doing regularly about 3 years ago but stopped when the pandemic hit.  
    • This place has a huge amount of free help.   The members are usually very friendly and helpful.  Don't be a stranger.  
    • Well I discovered today I'm addicted to it. It's for me. I've always been an athlete.  Great words and outlooks. Ty 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. DsevenO
      DsevenO
      (52 years old)
    2. Hardy
      Hardy
      (81 years old)
    3. Patrick Maynard
      Patrick Maynard
      (33 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...