Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
UnbreakableBoy

Why am I doing this! After a poor shot... I step back up, no pressure and knock it flush... I’m confused.

Note: This thread is 871 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

32 posts / 2577 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

It was a simple post about something I feel IS mental. I know the answer. I’d asked for input, drills and your own experiences, to have maybe a little better understanding and build my knowledge from others experiences. That is all. Some of your input was terrific. And I thank you all. As for practice swings... I’ve heard countless times folks commenting on how their “practice” swing was so good etc... I was merely making an analogy. Again, mental. Have a great day. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is a funny little phenomenon.

Had a card-chucker of a round on Saturday behind a  couple of slow-moving foursomes and dropped a bunch of second balls after shots good and bad. Can't really say that my mental game was in order at any point. I was really kind out of my mind, but those second shots were something else. I killed a few of them. My 5W saw 230 yards for the first time ever on a second ball from the 18th fairway.

Maybe it isn't really about being calm. It's just the total lack of real consequence.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I still think that the 2nd shot being better than the first is more to do with your body knowing what you did on the last swing, and you seeing the outcome. It isn't about pressure. How many times do you hear people say, "I hit the ball great on the range!" That is because they hit ball after ball, and get that instant feedback. It allows them to get some sort of consistency together for a short period of time. Get them on the course, and it falls apart because no one plays golf hitting 5 golf balls a minute.

Heck, some people are upset with their first attempt. Is that the right frame of mind to hit a golf ball? I doubt people are becoming the Buddha and going all Zen on the 2nd shot.

The primary reason people struggle with their 1st shot is because it's their golfing ability. That isn't to say thinking about the correct things for that golfer doesn't help them optimize their ability. There isn't anyway a double digit handicap golfer is going to string together shots like a scratch golfer just by thinking the right way. Over 18 holes, the bad shots are going to show up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 minutes ago, UnbreakableBoy said:

It was a simple post about something I feel IS mental. I know the answer. I’d asked for input, drills and your own experiences, to have maybe a little better understanding and build my knowledge from others experiences. That is all.

If you knew the answer why ask?

I think maybe you were looking for confirmation, not an actual discussion.

A lot of people here have a lot of experience.

Seems like a waste to tune it out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, iacas said:

If you knew the answer why ask?

I think maybe you were looking for confirmation, not an actual discussion.

A lot of people here have a lot of experience.

Seems like a waste to tune it out.

Hey! As I said... in my mind I think I knew the answer. But all of y’all are a wealth of knowledge. And getting that perspective gave me different things I may not have considered as well as that confirmation. I think that’s as important as anything.  And I think that’s why forums can be as helpful as they can be. So thank you. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Couple of things come to mind: 

It's not unreasonable to think the second swing benefits from a short term physical 'calibrating' effect from the first swing. Same reason one can get on a roll on the range. 

It can also be that the 2nd shot is typically less meaningful, is less anxiety ridden and hence is played with much less adrenaline. 

 

 

 

  

Edited by GolfLug

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 minutes ago, GolfLug said:

It can also be that the 2nd shot is typically less meaningful, is less anxiety ridden and hence is played with much less adrenaline. 

I wonder how often this happens. Do people really get that stressed over a golf shot? Is it really that common? Do people just use it as an excuse?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

50 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

I wonder how often this happens. Do people really get that stressed over a golf shot? Is it really that common? Do people just use it as an excuse?  

Does adrenaline influence your physical effort? You bet. That's what it is does by design AFAIK. 

Is it an excuse? I guess it could be. I know of people who blame their mother in laws for a duffed chip. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, GolfLug said:

adrenaline

Serving up the "in-my-experience" qualifier straight away, but is it really adrenaline versus a lack there of?

When I smoke a second shot, I'm usually in a full-fledged rage. The difference is that I don't really care where it goes, so I just bust it as hard as I can.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sometimes I do this when I start thinking too much about the shot. Get too much inside my own head, whether I am psyching myself out because its an important shot, or  not committed to the shot. Hit a bad one, then drop one that doesn't matter at all, hit it flush. That definitely happens, but I think more often I hit a bad one but I could *feel* something I did wrong in the swing, drop another one with a minor tweak, and flush it. But besides both of those, there are still plenty of times I hit a bad one, drop it, hit another identical bad shot LOL

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

24 minutes ago, mcanadiens said:

Serving up the "in-my-experience" qualifier straight away, but is it really adrenaline versus a lack there of?

When I smoke a second shot, I'm usually in a full-fledged rage. The difference is that I don't really care where it goes, so I just bust it as hard as I can.

Lol... IDK.

There is no way to generalize why 2nd shots tend to be better or really, just different.  

Mostly if you hit a shot, good or bad and follow up with another within a minute or so I guess, it can be better (not necessarily great). Why? Maybe because the body remembers/self corrects. 

Either way, I am sure there are plenty of BAD 2nd shots to go with the good ones to not have a lot of conviction in any one reason. Just opinions.   

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, GolfLug said:

Mostly if you hit a shot, good or bad and follow up with another within a minute or so I guess, it can be better (not necessarily great). Why? Maybe because the body remembers/self corrects. 

Either way, I am sure there are plenty of BAD 2nd shots to go with the good ones to not have a lot of conviction in any one reason. Just opinions.   

Sure.

I do agree with the calibrating-effect idea. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 7/12/2018 at 1:15 AM, Patch said:

I do all my "swing thinking" at the practice range. A poor shot during practice means more to me than hitting a poor shot when playing. 

When on the course for a score, all I really think about is club selection, and where I want the ball to go. After those two decisions have been made, I just address the ball, and hit it. The shot either goes as planned, or it doesn't. 

I think that alot of times golfers let their brains get in their way. Over thinking has caused many a bad shot. 

As for being relaxed during a round, I am out there to have fun, and get some exercise. Golf is not my job, and I don't really care how I play. If I play well, that's a good thing. If I play poorly, well, that's not a bad thing either. It's just a fun challenge for me. It's just my 80+/- swings against the course's 18 hole layout. 

Most amateurs pay to play this game. Why would anyone pay to do something that can cause them undue pressure/grief when they don't have to? Just hit the ball, go find it, and hit it again. How simple is that based on the golfer's talent level?

My buddy "tin cups" it all the time. I ask him what good it does, since the object of the game is to do it right the first time!

I'm with you, Patch. The only time I have "swing thoughts" is when I'm working on something at the range. When I'm playing and trying to make a score, I switch to what I call "shot thoughts".

In my mind I see the shot I want to hit, and then try to hit it. Sometimes it happens, other times it doesn't. If it doesn't, all I have is my next chance to hit a decent shot. It makes no sense to dwell on the past.

It also seems to help me if I pick a "hard target"  for every shot. Harvey Penick called it "taking dead aim". I suppose golfers today would call it "committing to the shot". 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 7/15/2018 at 8:07 PM, iacas said:

Oh boy.

I understand what you mean.  It is your swing.  Let me clarify by saying that, at least for me, the pressure causes tension which leads to bad shots.  Where does that pressure come from?  My mental side.  That is what I meant to say.

On 7/16/2018 at 12:36 PM, saevel25 said:

I wonder how often this happens. Do people really get that stressed over a golf shot? Is it really that common? Do people just use it as an excuse?  

When I am playing with strangers as a walk-on single, no.  There is no pressure as I couldn't care less what they think about my game.  For the most part, I score very well during these rounds.

When I have a bet going, and as presses come during the later stages of the round, my swing is not the same due to pressure.

On 7/16/2018 at 1:33 PM, GolfLug said:

Does adrenaline influence your physical effort? You bet. That's what it is does by design AFAIK. 

Is it an excuse? I guess it could be. I know of people who blame their mother in laws for a duffed chip. 

Adrenaline does effect physical ability.  You see that on pros as well when they have to use a lesser club when they are within a striking distance of winning a tournament.  Adrenaline in that case makes them stronger or swing faster.

For weekend duffers like us, IMHO adrenaline has the effect of causing muscle tension leading to bad golf swings.

On 7/16/2018 at 1:40 PM, mcanadiens said:

Serving up the "in-my-experience" qualifier straight away, but is it really adrenaline versus a lack there of?

When I smoke a second shot, I'm usually in a full-fledged rage. The difference is that I don't really care where it goes, so I just bust it as hard as I can.

In this case, it seems more like it is more due to a "free" swing versus a "tense" swing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 871 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • When I’m playing a non-handicapped round, I don’t follow a lot of rules. I’ll toss em around if I don’t like a lie or line, pick up once on green and/or within like 6ft, and hit several mulligans. Honestly when not keeping a handicap, play in any way that makes you happy, so long as it doesn’t effect pace of play. 
    • Rule 3 - The Competition Notes as follows. These are notes, not a recap or a summary or anything like that. I didn't do a great job of just writing the NOTES for this rule, instead I just kinda summarized it, particularly the match play part. I'll do better for rule 4. 3.1 - Central Elements of Every Competition Match play, stroke play, or other forms of stroke play determine some rules outcomes Match play is against the opponent, without as much care for "the field" Also have to know if you're playing against an individual or partners Finally, gross or net? 3.2 - Match Play Three ways to win a hole fewer strokes than opponent opponent concedes opponent incurs general penalty You can tie, too: same number of strokes someone makes a stroke on the hole and the players treat it as tied (kinda like a mutual concession) Three ways to win a match: More holes up than remain opponent concedes opponent is DQed Extending a tied match: sudden death, continuation of the same round (so no switching equipment, etc.) holes played in same order unless Committee determines a different one Result is final when something is done as set by the Committee, such as final score posted on a scoreboard, etc. Players may concede the next stroke, hole, or match. Concessions made while ball in motion apply to the next stroke unless it goes in the hole. If knocked away while in motion it has to be obvious that the ball doesn't have a chance of going in. (Spieth in the Ryder Cup.) Concede a hole at any point before the hole is completed (even before it's played), 6.5. Concede a match at any point before it's completed/decided. Concessions are verbal or by an action If a player lifts his ball due to a reasonable misunderstanding that something was conceded, he can replace with no penalty (14.2) Handicaps in match play… DQed if player says handicap too high and doesn't correct before next stroke. If too low, plays off the lower handicap. Given by hole, lower net score wins. If tied match extended, same holes get the same strokes as in regular round. If players mistakenly apply handicap to a hole, result stands unless it's corrected in time. Responsibilities: Player can ask the other how many strokes they've taken at any time, other guy must respond with correct number. Failure to reply is treated as giving the wrong number of strokes. Wrong number is general penalty unless he corrects before asking player makes another stroke, or if after a hole, before anyone makes a stroke on the next hole or before the match is final (exception if the right score doesn't affect the outcome of the hole). Must tell an opponent about the penalty as soon as reasonably possible, even if the player is unaware of the penalty (because players are supposed to recognize when they've breached a rule). Otherwise, general penalty. Exception: no penalty when opponent knew of player's penalty (such as when seeing him take penalty relief). Know the match score. If players mistakenly agree on wrong match score they can correct it before a player makes a stroke to begin another hole or before the match is final if it's the last hole. If not corrected, it becomes the final score. Exception: when player requests a ruling. Protect your own rights and interests. You're not protecting the field here. Players may act on or ignore breaches by opponent. Cannot deliberately agree to ignore breaches, DQ if so. Players can ask for rulings under 20.1b. 3.3 - Stroke Play Winner finishes in the fewest total strokes, net if handicap. Player's score kept on a scorecard by the marker. Marker(s) certify hole scores with player, sign. Player certifies, signs, and returns scorecard. Breach anything here, DQ. Exception: no penalty when marker fails, such as marker leaving with player's card). Wrong hole score: higher stands, lower is DQ. Exception: just pretend you're unaware of a penalty. Stupid. Then the strokes are just included. Player responsible for his handicap being listed on the scorecard. Too high or not shown and affects # of strokes given, DQ. Too low, plays to it. Player not responsible for addition or applying handicap. Player must hole out each hole. If not corrected in time, DQ. Rules 21.1, 21.2, and 21.3 for other forms of stroke play.
    • 2021 Golf Goal - Golf With John  Break 90 consistently. I should hit 89 or better 7 out of 10 rounds. I know I can hit 90's because I've tried better ball (2 balls), and I was able to only hit 4 over in 9 holes.  Better course management. Thinking before my shots. Make good contact Practice range. I've gone out almost every weekday morning in Oct, putting 30 minutes and range a hour. Chipping and putting practice. Trying to get make my body to automatically do what I've learned in my lessons.  New shot shapes (how to hit a fade, draw, low, high). I realized I have no idea how to hits these. If it happens on the course, it's accidental as my only goal was to hit it straight. Play Club tournaments I've played 1 this year and it was a great time. Got to putt every hole!  Oct 2021 goal is to hit 80 from white tees Once i'm comfortable breaking into single digits, I'll move to the back tees. I was able to hit 87 1 time this past year and it was an amazing feeling. Ingrain in my brain, there are bad shots and it sucks but it's okay. We'll get through it.
    • Obviously you/we can't submit those/these rounds for HCP purposes, but when playing with buddies who use golf as an excuse to get together and drink, we allow: the customary Breakfast Ball if first drive is out of play rolling the ball in the fairway (if they're in the fairway, they deserve a good lie) Leaf rule (free drop) if all parties agree the ball was assumed to be in the fairway or just off & most assuredly not out of bounds or a bad enough shot that would've have resulted it being lost in the summer or other times when ground is clear
    • Depending on the OEM, different brands will have either matching lengths in steel and graphite or go with the 1/2 over with graphite. However when they match them for length, the SW is usually 3 or 4 points lighter with graphite. SW can be tricky because it's not just the head weight, it's the relation of the head to the shaft and grip while also factoring in the shaft length and balance point. This means that for every 1/2 change in length, you get a 3 SWP change (longer=heavier). Also for every 9 grams of shaft weight change, you get 1 SWP change (heavier=heavier). Since the average stock graphite shaft is around 30g lighter than the matching steel, 1/2 longer shafts balance things out at least on a swing weight scale.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Darkfrog
      Darkfrog
      (43 years old)
    2. Jrock817
      Jrock817
      (40 years old)
    3. Leonclum
      Leonclum
      (48 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...