Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Grinde6

Holed or no?

35 posts / 3718 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Rules experts...Is this ball holed?  Does rule 17/4 or 16/3 come into play here?  

91E03F3A-BA75-49B7-8D61-F71BB869CD3C.jpeg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

I believe not until the ball comes to rest in the bottom of the cup.
The player should lift the pin and if the ball falls into the hole, then it would be holed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

23 minutes ago, Grinde6 said:

Rules experts...Is this ball holed?  Does rule 17/4 or 16/3 come into play here?  

91E03F3A-BA75-49B7-8D61-F71BB869CD3C.jpeg

Not holed. See the definition: A ball is "holed" when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let me rephrase it, as I know it’s not holed by the picture, poor wording on my part.  If the pin gets pulled and the ball falls in the cup, is it considered holed with the last shot?  The ball left an indentation in the side of the cup.  I’m just not sure if one should proceed under 17/4 or 16/3 for embedded ball since it did leave an indentation. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

27 minutes ago, Grinde6 said:

Let me rephrase it, as I know it’s not holed by the picture, poor wording on my part.  If the pin gets pulled and the ball falls in the cup, is it considered holed with the last shot?  The ball left an indentation in the side of the cup.  I’m just not sure if one should proceed under 17/4 or 16/3 for embedded ball since it did leave an indentation. 

17-4 ('/' denotes a decision, not a Rule subsection) is applicable. If the ball does not fall into the hole then yes, D16/3 applies

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Know...it isn't hold.  It will be, however, once the pin is removed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, Grinde6 said:

Let me rephrase it, as I know it’s not holed by the picture, poor wording on my part.  If the pin gets pulled and the ball falls in the cup, is it considered holed with the last shot?  The ball left an indentation in the side of the cup.  I’m just not sure if one should proceed under 17/4 or 16/3 for embedded ball since it did leave an indentation. 

One bit of advice, don't just pull the flagstick from the hole.  Straighten it and let the ball drop into the hole, then you can remove it without worry.  If you yank it out and knock the ball away from the hole, then you haven't holed out.

Quote

17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick

When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

If the ball is not allowed to fall into the hole, then it takes another stroke to hole out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Move the flag or take it out gently and it will fall in the cup. Birdie for u!

Another question to the topic, same escenario but a playing parter take out the flag agresivelly and our ball fly away from the hole and land let say 20 feet from it. You have to putt it or either way it is considered holed??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick

When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

17-4/3  Ball Resting Against Flagstick Moves Away from Hole When Flagstick Removed by Opponent or Fellow-Competitor

Q.A player's ball is resting against the flagstick. Without the player's authority, his opponent or a fellow-competitor removes the flagstick and the ball moves away from the hole. What is the ruling?

A.In match play, the opponent incurs a penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced against the flagstick (Rule 18-3b).

In stroke play, the ball must be replaced against the flagstick without penalty to anyone (Rule 18-4).

In either form of play, the player may then move or remove the flagstick as prescribed in Rule 17-4.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Rulesman said:

17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick

When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

17-4/3  Ball Resting Against Flagstick Moves Away from Hole When Flagstick Removed by Opponent or Fellow-Competitor

Q.A player's ball is resting against the flagstick. Without the player's authority, his opponent or a fellow-competitor removes the flagstick and the ball moves away from the hole. What is the ruling?

A.In match play, the opponent incurs a penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced against the flagstick (Rule 18-3b).

In stroke play, the ball must be replaced against the flagstick without penalty to anyone (Rule 18-4).

In either form of play, the player may then move or remove the flagstick as prescribed in Rule 17-4.

So even if the ball is embedded a bit, rule 17-4 applies first?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, Grinde6 said:

rule 17-4 applies first?  

Yes, but if the ball is embedded where it does not fall into the hole when the flagstick is remove, ball is considered "embedded" and not holed.
Very rarely will a ball be in such a position, but it can and has happened.

Edited by Club Rat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Let's be sure to make a clear distinction between this ball's situation on the putting green and a Rule 25 Embedded Ball. The latter can only occur through the green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, Asheville said:

Let's be sure to make a clear distinction between this ball's situation on the putting green

Can you explain the situation when a ball is oblivious "embedded on the green" when it stuck in the edge of the hole.
I should have used the term plugged? My understanding, the ball may be marked and placed on the lip, then tapped in.

My above comment was pertaining to situations when a ball is plugged in the green, or sometimes referred as embedded.
I understand what you are stating, the Embedded Ball ruling does not occur on a green and the Embedded Ball Ruling is only through the green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

16 hours ago, Fourputt said:

One bit of advice, don't just pull the flagstick from the hole.  Straighten it and let the ball drop into the hole, then you can remove it without worry.  If you yank it out and knock the ball away from the hole, then you haven't holed out.


Is this allowed ? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

19 minutes ago, Moxley said:


Is this allowed ? 

Yes, @Rulesman posted the Rule (17-4) earlier in the thread

Edited by Martyn W

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, but I meant is it allowable to straighten the flagpole first. Of course, the flag would normally be lifted from a straight(ish) position , but in this case it's leaning ,and if I move the stick around prior to lifting it, there's been an effort to achieve a specific outcome. Not saying that's wrong, just curious. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

37 minutes ago, Moxley said:

Yes, but I meant is it allowable to straighten the flagpole first. Of course, the flag would normally be lifted from a straight(ish) position , but in this case it's leaning ,and if I move the stick around prior to lifting it, there's been an effort to achieve a specific outcome. Not saying that's wrong, just curious. 

 

As long as the movement of the ball is only a result of straightening the flagstick, it is considered holed. 

You are also allowed to straighten the flagstick before playing your stroke (from off the green), but if the flagstick needs to be held to keep it straight, then it is being attended and must be removed before the ball strikes it.  Around here, the wind blows so constantly that the socket in the hole liners tend to wear and the stick will not stand straight unless it is tended.  The 9 hole course near my home operates on a tight budget, so they use the liners as long as possible, resulting in some pretty wobbly pins after a couple of years.  

With the new rules next year, you will be able to leave the flagstick in the hole when putting too, so this condition may occur more frequently.   It's good to know how to proceed with it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • After being on the other end of a great deal of abuse, I thought I would give you all an update regarding my putting.  I was having a pretty decent degree of success by placing the ball slightly back of centre (towards my rear foot). I felt it had straightened my putting and stopped me dragging the ball to the left. I was informed by more than one member this was simply putting a plaster on the problem. I took this to heart and spent a few weeks attempting to putt with the ball placed forward of centre. Well, my putting reached an all time low, so I reverted back to plan "A". Whilst my putting improved a little, I couldn't emulate the success I previously had, so I decided to spend some time on the practice green. As previously mentioned, I have a friend who putts one handed, and very rarely 3 putts. I attempted this for myself, and whilst I don't feel confident enough to use this technique as the norm, it was easier and better than I thought. This lead me to try something else. I now putt with the ball slightly back of centre, but only use my left hand to secure the putter, rather than to use it for directional purposes. In brief, my right hand does 90% of the work, and my left hand is there for moral support only. My putting is more consistent than it ever has been now, but I openly admit I will never be the best putter in the world
    • Day 34 Walked in the Suwanee Fall Parade this morning with my kids and their school, so I missed an opportunity to play with a friend of mine who was in town.  However, when we got home, I was able to get out and hit some balls into the net.  I worked through all of the clubs, working on my pre-shot routine and BTT... FTT swing-thought.  I didn't hit the ball as well as I have been, and I could tell when I was distracted (the kids were being their extra-selves... including a fist-fight and bloody nose) that I didn't stay in the swing all the way through to my finish.  I need to go in for another lesson soon.
    • Same here. My drive that cut that corner wasn’t a pure strike it just happened to have the exact trajectory and curve that I wanted.  That was @billchao‘s 8i on 18 at Celebration. What was that 185-190? Middle of the green was 165yd IIRC...in Bermuda...Bill absolutely flushed his 8i 20-30yds off the back of the green right online with the flag. Had that flag been 185-190yds away...I’d call that a tour quality pure strike. And no, it wasn’t thinned nor a stinger..it was way way high and just went forever.
    • True dat! Still, it was a damn good shot, but not quite pure.  Just a touch toey.  Well struck and a great result don’t necessarily mean “pure”. I’ve also hit plenty of “pure” shots with less than optimal results.
    • Funny, Billchao. Tennis is possibly even tougher than golf to learn (say, the equivalent to scratch ability) but people tend to feel more comfortable with a lack of ability in tennis than in golf, the special pastime that reminds you every day precisely where you stand.    As for the grip pressure, Patch, I was taught to hold on to the racquet as loosely as possible and only grip it at the moment of impact and release it. That did wonders for my body. In golf I need to grip it a bit earlier and longer. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bkuehn1952
      bkuehn1952
      (67 years old)
    2. Bryan Kasper
      Bryan Kasper
      (27 years old)
    3. Greg Pickett Golf
      Greg Pickett Golf
      (64 years old)
    4. hobecorning
      hobecorning
      (77 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...