Sign in to follow this  
Osnola

Can't Seem To Get Better...

21 posts / 1613 viewsLast Reply

I have been playing golf for about 15 years.  I am 69 years old and this is my story.  I have shot scores over the past 10 years in the low 90'  .  I have broken 90 three times.  I play by the rules, no mulligans, play it as it lays, no gimme putts.  Play it from tee to in the hole.  I have taken lessons a few times over the past few years and have seen all aspects of my game improve.  BUT....I still shoot 90...I putt better than ever before, my driver is better and more consistent (I have lost a few yards in distance), my iron play is pretty good, play around the green is better....But I still shoot 90.  i know that if I have all parts working but one (say putting) it will be hard to break 90 regularly.

Just curious, has anyone else out there experienced this?  If so, what did you do to get over the hump and get into the high 80's?????

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Perhaps shooting 90 is just your score. Not everyone is capable of shooting the better scores they want. I have heard it referred to as one's "genetic timiming barrier" meaning one's genetics are responsible for how well they can do something. 

I was a much better baseball player than I ever was a golfer. Golf was probably #4 behind basesball, football, and track. Maybe even tied with tennis.That said, golf by far, has been my most favorite game to play.

If your driving, and fairway games are satisfactory, maybe start putting in more practice time with your putting, and chipping games. I am your age, and I rely heavily on my short game to save strokes. I just don't have the distance anymore to save many strokes using my longer, full swing clubs. 

Being an older golfer and shooting scores in the 90s, playing pure, by the rules golf, is a pretty decent accomplishment. Most golfers, in any age group, can't do it. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm basically in the same situation.