IGNORED

Has anyone ever quit for 6 months to a year to "start over?"

tjhowarth
Note: This thread is 2036 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am thinking about quitting golf for 6 months or more.  I'm hoping that I can "start over again."  I have been playing for 15+ years, I have (2) aces, and lots of rounds in the low 80's on decent courses.  Over the last few years I have taken a fair amount of lessons and practiced using video, etc., and I have gradually gotten worse.  I am constantly changing parts of my swing.  I am now so paralyzed over a golf ball with swing thoughts, etc., it has become too much for me.  I can execute swings changes while at the range, but now on course (mainly off the tee) I have become erratic.  It is no longer fun.  Will stepping away from the game help me?

I would, and have done it. Not for the same reasons though. It sounds frustrating to you at the moment. Not a big deal, but don’t expect bad habits to magically stop without effort when you pick it up again.

Edited by Lihu
Typo

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Oh yeah, I've done it, and in the process of evaluating doing it again. The last time I stepped away from the game, I think I overdid it a little. Ended up 2 years away before a friend said that we needed to play again. Funny thing, I didn't miss it in those 2 years, but going out and starting to practice again, and then playing, and getting bit by the golf bug,