IGNORED

Which clubs to choose for best progress

Note: This thread is 989 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi guys,

I started playing golf quite regularly for the last couple of months. I had been using an Adamsgolf bag, some GI irons but because the bag was quite mixed, my coach - who is a 3 handicap - advised it's best to use a complete set then switch later. As such I went back to my Spalding set, a real beginner set that I bought for cheap. For the last 2 months, I have worked on my swing quite a lot with some improvements, however, I have a nagging feeling that even that improvement is being limited by my equipment.

Now i am at a point of mulling buying new clubs but unsure which direction to look. What i should I base a new set on? I live in a country where we don't have a reputable pro shop so i'm unable to go somewhere and try out different sets, and have them adjusted specifically for me.

Looking at clubs online there is quite a bit of jargon i don't fully understand yet, there are the big brands, then the cast vs forged, bladed talk. 

What is the best brand when it comes to golf clubs?

I am looking at buying a set that can hopefully take me into single digit handicap territory, I set I can grow with. Any help would be much appreciated.

Have you tried any other clubs? 
What I mean is have you tried your friends' clubs? Your coaches? etc... You may find something you like.

Also, Global Golf lets you try before you buy. I've never tried Global Golf but I've heard they are easy enough to deal with.

Lots of companies make really good stuff. It's probably more important to have the clubs fit you, than it is for any particular brand name on them.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hi @ChetlovesMer thanks for your reply.