Jump to content
colin007

John Senden - Driver Snaps, Stroke Counts

31 posts / 2585 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Oh man is this unlucky....his driver shaft snaps in the backswing causing him to whiff...they count it as a stroke...

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Yeah saw it last night. Without slomo I would have thought he broke it at impact (ground). Unfortunate outliar outcome (stroke penalty) of a rule that addresses majority occurrences properly. 

But yeah if I were to vote if shaft break on backswing type freak occurrences ( if they can be verified via slomo and that it indeed occurred before impact) should be forgiven, I would vote yes. If it's not fair to someone without benefit of a slomo then so be it.

Edited by GolfLug

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

28 minutes ago, colin007 said:

Oh man is this unlucky....his driver shaft snaps in the backswing causing him to whiff...they count it as a stroke...

 

There are four Decisions that discuss a club breaking during the swing.  From what I can tell, the important facts here seem to be

he continued his swing, he didn't try to pull up

the break appears to occur just at transition, essentially very early in the forward swing

If a club breaks during the downswing, and the player completes the swing, he is deemed to have made a stroke.  As you say, its really bad luck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

23 minutes ago, DeadMan said:

Wow, that's a bad break.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I'll see myself out...

It's enough to make one snap.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, colin007 said:

Oh man is this unlucky....his driver shaft snaps in the backswing causing him to whiff...they count it as a stroke...

It snapped on the downswing, I think.

1 hour ago, GolfLug said:

Yeah saw it last night. Without slomo I would have thought he broke it at impact (ground). Unfortunate outliar outcome (stroke penalty) of a rule that addresses majority occurrences properly.

Not a penalty stroke. Just a "stroke."

1 hour ago, GolfLug said:

But yeah if I were to vote if shaft break on backswing type freak occurrences ( if they can be verified via slomo and that it indeed occurred before impact) should be forgiven, I would vote yes. If it's not fair to someone without benefit of a slomo then so be it.

No thank you. Rule is good as it stands. No rule at all should require the use of slow-mo or HD. Golf has gone away from enforcing rules that use things other than your normal eyesight.

I generally strongly dislike how often people over-react to these type of one-off events by suggesting rules changes. It ignores the thousands of more likely events and overlooks the problems with enforcement, etc. just based on ONE such occurrence.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Good thing using a "non conforming" club to hit the ball was not an issue. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, colin007 said:

Oh man is this unlucky....his driver shaft snaps in the backswing causing him to whiff...they count it as a stroke...

 

When you buy those cheap knock off clubs.....you get what you pay for.:-P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, iacas said:

No rule at all should require the use of slow-mo or HD. Golf has gone away from enforcing rules that use things other than your normal eyesight.

 Fair enough. IIRC you were not in favor of that yourself some time ago when that happened (via Lexi rule). I am entitled to my opinion too. 

2 hours ago, iacas said:

It ignores the thousands of more likely events and overlooks the problems with enforcement, etc. just based on ONE such occurrence.

Did not ignore at all. I said if slo-mo was available. Not the whole thing. I deal with the practicality and difficulty rules enforcement all day everyday (my job). See below part of my post.  

3 hours ago, GolfLug said:

a rule that addresses majority occurrences properly.

 

^^^

3 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

If a club breaks during the downswing, and the player completes the swing, he is deemed to have made a stroke.  As you say, its really bad luck.

It's clear to me that he seems to be pulling up and successfully avoided striking the ball (chicken wing finish seems consistent with someone whose intention is to NOT strike). Rule 14/1.5 would apply. Just my opinion from what I saw since the RO did not agree. Heck his competitor who was right there wasn't exactly thrilled either.  

Ok, I know this is not a rules thread so I won't post further.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, GolfLug said:

It's clear to me that he seems to be pulling up and successfully avoided striking the ball (chicken wing finish seems consistent with someone whose intention is to NOT strike). Rule 14/1.5 would apply. Just my opinion from what I saw since the RO did not agree. Heck his competitor who was right there wasn't exactly thrilled either.  

In watching, even in slow-motion, I'm not so certain that he decided to alter his swing in order to miss the ball.  While I wouldn't say that he's being less that truthful, I just don't see anything in his swing until after the clubhead struck the ground.  As as you mentioned, Decision 14/1.5 should apply to a player changing his intent.  That decision specifically says that any doubt about the players intent is resolved against the player.  As with many things, we may be seeing the same video, with differing opinions as to when a "decision" is made.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Here's a decent account of the proceedings:

senden.jpg

A bizarre series of events and some controversy arrived at Royal Pines during Thursday’s opening round of the Australian PGA Championship, when John Senden’s driver snapped during his downswing on the 9th tee.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, GolfLug said:

Fair enough. IIRC you were not in favor of that yourself some time ago when that happened (via Lexi rule). I am entitled to my opinion too.

You are, just as I'm entitled to tell you why having a snap opinion and suggesting a rules change based on a once-in-a-fluorescent-blue-moon event, uhhhh, "lacks thought and consideration." 😄

And I don't think you're correct recalling my stance on the Lexi issue. Her replacement of the ball in the improper location was visible with the naked eye. HD was not necessary.

1 hour ago, GolfLug said:

Did not ignore at all. I said if slo-mo was available. Not the whole thing. I deal with the practicality and difficulty rules enforcement all day everyday (my job).

Right… that's the dumb part. 🙂 Golf rules are, right now and in 2019, written to base things on what you can see with the naked eye. This helps to keep the standard the same across the board, whether it's you playing a casual round or Tiger playing at the British Open.

1 hour ago, GolfLug said:

It's clear to me that he seems to be pulling up and successfully avoided striking the ball (chicken wing finish seems consistent with someone whose intention is to NOT strike).

I don't think that's clear (to me) at all.

Have you ever seen a clubhead snap off of a club at impact? Your finish looks VERY different, even though there was NO intent at all to finish that way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

BTW, it wasn't noted here, but John Senden got to drop to play his second (with a 3-wood) instead of having to play the ball sitting 2" up in the air with his 3-wood.

Can anyone here tell us why (without looking it up anywhere but the USGA or R&A rules)? He was lying one and his ball was in play, after all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Senden himself has apparently taken the burden off of the official, saying he didn't have time to try to stop his swing:

Quote

“The actual club broke in the handle coming down into the impact area,” Senden said of the incident. “I had no chance of actually stopping the shot, so unfortunately that counts as actually one stroke. I was playing two shots off the tee. So, you know, it just happens. I've seen it happen before to other players, but first time it's happened to me in a tournament.”

I did read the answer to @iacas question in that same article, but I doubt I'd have come up with the right answer on my own.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, iacas said:

Right… that's the dumb part. 🙂 Golf rules are, right now and in 2019, written to base things on what you can see with the naked eye. This helps to keep the standard the same across the board, whether it's you playing a casual round or Tiger playing at the British Open.

So now you support the rule change leveling the playing field from an enforcement stand point of view? Seems like your version of 'trophy for everyone'. I know what the rule is. There's only ten thousand posts in that thread. 

Dumb? - hah, why? I don't think they should have made it THAT standard. Didn't like it then, don't like it now.

4 hours ago, iacas said:

Have you ever seen a clubhead snap off of a club at impact? 

Ha ha. Yes, I have more than once - and not the first time on slo-mo either. Heck have myself snapped my driver head at Pinehurst few years ago in an almost similar fashion. I have a post in my 'My Swing' thread. My golf bag had fallen off the cart on the previous hole and must have 'kinked' the shaft.  

4 hours ago, iacas said:

Your finish looks VERY different, even though there was NO intent at all to finish that way.

Not sure I understand the point. What's that gotta do with Senden's normal finish compared to this one? Senden doesn't chicken wing or spin out on his normal swing (duh...) that you see in his club break swing - which to me are both symptoms of someone (of a level of a touring pro) trying to avoid contact. Especially the spin out part. Geoff Ogilvy pointed that out too. 

Senden said in his interview that it was too late to stop the club but didn't say he didn't try to stop - implying he did.  

The funny thing is the RO had not seen the swing in person or on a replay. And if unclear he could have taken his playing partner's word who has no vested interest. But he didn't. 

1 hour ago, iacas said:

Can anyone here tell us why (without looking it up anywhere but the USGA or R&A rules)? He was lying one and his ball was in play, after all.

I read up earlier so I know why it's a free drop, but I won't spoil it for others. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

35 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Senden himself has apparently taken the burden off of the official, saying he didn't have time to try to stop his swing. @iacas

Of course he did. Anything he would say otherwise truth or not won't change a thing and he will simply come across as a whiner. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • It's speculation that doesn't actually matter. GOAT is not the longest driver or we'd already be throwing Cameron Champ's or Jamie Sadlowski's names in the discussion. He hit it about 267 or so when he was 40-43. Tiger hits it about 297 at the age of 43 with a fused back. And I couldn't care less… if Tiger hit it 350 or 250, he won a major this year. 15 >> 18, 81 >>> 72. That's 90% of the GOAT discussion for me. Y'all can make up whatever reasons you want, but own them, and accept that you're speculating on some of them.
    • How far would golf's legends drive the ball using modern equipment? At the 2016 Ryder Cup, the 6-foot-5 Thomas Pieters belted a drive 324...   An interesting article on how players way back would have driven the ball with today's ball and equipment.  I didn't realize that Jack had driven the ball 341 yards in a longest drive competition when he was 18.  
    • Oy. I don't give a shit about two top ten finishes in a decade. Nor am I comparing Jack to Vijay Singh, a guy whose putting stroke has been AWOL since roughly 2011. He wasn't. That's easily refuted. As for straighter you're not comparing like to like - you don't know what the fairway widths were, how far the ball bounced, etc. But we do KNOW that Tiger was longer than Jack. Tiger at 43 with a fused back is longer than Jack was when Jack was 40, 41, 42, or 43. Tiger @ 43: 297.8 Jack @ 40: 269.0 Jack @ 41: 264.3 Jack @ 42: 264.6 Jack @ 43: 266.1 Tiger was almost 30 yards longer at 43 than Jack was at 40, 41, 42, or 43. Now, several posts in, you're changing that up to say that, given modern equipment or whatever, Jack would probably have been as long as Tiger. But that's not what you said. Uhhhhh… He didn't do that. Neither did I. No they aren't. Furthermore, if all Tiger had to do was hit the ball 266 yards, he could probably hit 80% of the fairways. Fairways that are likely narrower, etc. So you lost the distance one, and if you want to measure "accuracy" by "fairway hit percentage" I again will point out you're not comparing like to like. They aren't playing the same golf courses, the same fairways, or hitting it the same distances. Furthermore, and more importantly, I don't care about stats like this when determining who the GOAT is. If you do, that's cool, but what I care about is wins, dominance, scoring averages, that sort of thing. I don't care who had a better short game (Tiger by far), who was a better putter (tie?), who hit a better 7-iron (almost surely Tiger), or whatever. I care about Ws. So not only are you provably wrong on distance, possibly off-base on accuracy, but you're arguing about things that most people don't even care about. Nobody considers Calvin Peete in the GOAT discussion because of how accurate he was off the tee. Huh? No. 🤦‍♂️ Uhhh, according to Jack, it was 118 MPH. I call bullshit on that. Oy. I don't give a shit about two top ten finishes in a decade. Nor am I comparing Jack to Vijay Singh, a guy whose putting stroke has been AWOL since roughly 2011. He wasn't. That's easily refuted. As for straighter you're not comparing like to like - you don't know what the fairway widths were, how far the ball bounced, etc. But we do KNOW that Tiger was longer than Jack. Tiger at 43 with a fused back is longer than Jack was when Jack was 40, 41, 42, or 43. Tiger @ 43: 297.8 Jack @ 40: 269.0 Jack @ 41: 264.3 Jack @ 42: 264.6 Jack @ 43: 266.1 Tiger was almost 30 yards longer at 43 than Jack was at 40, 41, 42, or 43. Now, several posts in, you're changing that up to say that, given modern equipment or whatever, Jack would probably have been as long as Tiger. But that's not what you said. Uhhhhh… He didn't do that. Neither did I. No they aren't. Furthermore, if all Tiger had to do was hit the ball 266 yards, he could probably hit 80% of the fairways. Fairways that are likely narrower, etc. So you lost the distance one, and if you want to measure "accuracy" by "fairway hit percentage" I again will point out you're not comparing like to like. They aren't playing the same golf courses, the same fairways, or hitting it the same distances. Furthermore, and more importantly, I don't care about stats like this when determining who the GOAT is. If you do, that's cool, but what I care about is wins, dominance, scoring averages, that sort of thing. I don't care who had a better short game (Tiger by far), who was a better putter (tie?), who hit a better 7-iron (almost surely Tiger), or whatever. I care about Ws. So not only are you provably wrong on distance, possibly off-base on accuracy, but you're arguing about things that most people don't even care about. Nobody considers Calvin Peete in the GOAT discussion because of how accurate he was off the tee. Huh? No. 🤦‍♂️ Uhhh, according to Jack, it was 118 MPH. I call bullshit on that. Ha ha ha.
    • I’ve never been one to sit on my donkey for too long. The past four and half decades have pretty much been work for me , as so I know, for many others as well.  Developing my golf game will (not) dominate my new found free time. It will though give me a new avenue of pursuits that I hope will keep my mind expanding. Thanks for the input and reply. 
    • That sort of extrapolation is not possible.  You are talking that he would be hitting the golf ball further than the average long drive competitor. I am not buying it. He would be one of the longer hitters on tour. Jack is not the physical freak like Dustin Johnson. I would put him probably a top 10 in distance yearly if he was in his prime competing today.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dan42nepa
      Dan42nepa
      (63 years old)
    2. James Dalton
      James Dalton
      (78 years old)
    3. JMHARDING
      JMHARDING
      (29 years old)
    4. mwh1023
      mwh1023
      (52 years old)
    5. Skeesh
      Skeesh
      (47 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...