Jump to content
IGNORED

Tour Players and 2019 Rules (Running Topic)


iacas
 Share

Note: This thread is 834 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
6 hours ago, arab_joe said:

However, I disagree with the words that I have highlighted in bold - my understanding is that you cannot avoid the penalty by backing off the shot and starting again.

So did people on Twitter. They didn't read the correct section of the Rule either.

I love the outrage that occurs when something like this happens. The rule is fine, and the player breached it. I don't care about "intent" here, nor do many of the Rules. The player also, in this case, had a chance to "fix" things and didn't. I also love the calls to add subjectivity and all this BS about whether "an advantage" was gained. See my response in the Denis Pugh topic for a brief bit on that.

  • Like 2

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

16 hours ago, iacas said:

So did people on Twitter. They didn't read the correct section of the Rule either.

I love the outrage that occurs when something like this happens. The rule is fine, and the player breached it. I don't care about "intent" here, nor do many of the Rules. The player also, in this case, had a chance to "fix" things and didn't. I also love the calls to add subjectivity and all this BS about whether "an advantage" was gained. See my response in the Denis Pugh topic for a brief bit on that.

I stand corrected.  That makes sense (although it is a bit strange that the exception applies for a putt on the green but not for any other shot).

I think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

Link to comment
Share on other sites


10 minutes ago, arab_joe said:

think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

Maybe so. But it’s also clearly obvious when a player isn’t taking his stance. So, stay the hell away from the line. Period. It’s like when an idiot football player makes the decision not to catch the punt then proceeds to stay as near as possible causing a potential touched ball and loss of possession. Get the hell away objectively. It’s that simple.

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, arab_joe said:

I stand corrected.  That makes sense (although it is a bit strange that the exception applies for a putt on the green but not for any other shot).

I think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

The Interpretations (10.2b(4)/1) actually say that there's no set procedure for determining when the player has begun to take his stance, but does give some guidelines and examples.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
7 hours ago, arab_joe said:

I think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

As @DaveP043 noted, 10.2b(4)/1 provides the guidance.

On both the European AND PGA Tours, rules officials have been hammering the guys for weeks and weeks and weeks about this rule in particular.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Here's the one that got a penalty:

Here's the one that didn't:

 

  • Thumbs Up 1

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Big Bertha V Series (11 degrees) :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :snell: MTB-X :aimpoint:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

Hmmm the Rickie one looks close. Don’t know how close he was to the ball, or where the line was. The caddie wasn’t paying attention so that’s in his favor.

They got both of those right from what I can see.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, iacas said:

Hmmm the Rickie one looks close. Don’t know how close he was to the ball, or where the line was. The caddie wasn’t paying attention so that’s in his favor.

They got both of those right from what I can see.

The second caddie didn't seem to be deliberately standing on the line. He wasn't aware of just where he was.

No arguing with the first.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

The second caddie didn't seem to be deliberately standing on the line. He wasn't aware of just where he was.

No arguing with the first.

The second caddy looked like he saw a train coming! 😀

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

The second caddie didn't seem to be deliberately standing on the line. He wasn't aware of just where he was.

No arguing with the first.

Right. That’s what the “deliberately” part is there for. 🙂

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On the Rickie one, I'd like to see a longer clip, but it does seem that the caddie may not have been intentionally standing on the line.  A longer video might change my perception of that, but I can accept the decision not to penalize him.  In the McCarthy one, the caddie is clearly standing exactly on the line while McCarthy makes several practice swings, and then moves before the player begins to take his actual stance at the ball itself.  So the question becomes an evaluation of whether McCarthy  "has his or her feet or body close to a position where useful guidance on aiming at the intended target could be given" in which case "it should be decided that the player has begun to take his or her stance."  I'd say this qualifies, so that penalty is appropriate.

I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

Agreed, that's pretty much bullshit.

Colin P.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

On the Rickie one, I'd like to see a longer clip,

Here ya are:

 

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In other news, Webb Simpson must have forgotten there are new rules about how to drop:

1327275869_simpsondropa.thumb.jpg.a84503dbfd8af0a33a3ddaf488505170.jpg

And gets a little on-course guidance:

615860624_simpsondropb.thumb.jpg.95fafcd95e449654d9b23d640943974b.jpg

And after instruction, comes up with this:

886625692_simpsondropc.thumb.jpg.9cde5cda3d4f3cbac101eb63924fa419.jpg

 

 

  • Like 1

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
6 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

I disagree.

You'd have to ask the USGA/R&A what their reasons are, but maybe it's that on a putting green your feet don’t trample down the grass like can easily happen in the fairway, rough, waste areas or other areas of the course.

Once a player lines up off the putting green they could quickly back out and re-settle into the same spots.

The Rule is fine as written IMO.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, iacas said:

I disagree.

You'd have to ask the USGA/R&A what their reasons are, but maybe it's that on a putting green your feet don’t trample down the grass like can easily happen in the fairway, rough, waste areas or other areas of the course.

Once a player lines up off the putting green they could quickly back out and re-settle into the same spots.

The Rule is fine as written IMO.

I would disagree, I’ve played on many greens where you can see clear footprints for a couple of minutes after walking/standing on them. 

I’m also curious why practice strokes count for this...it’s almost by definition not your “actual” stance. 

 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • iacas changed the title to Tour Players and 2019 Rules (Running Topic)
  • iacas unpinned and unfeatured this topic
Note: This thread is 834 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • And if there were, as @boogielicious points out, would it be reasonable to expect anybody to be able to play both at a time? Of course not - that idea is absurd.
    • Oh man, I would LOVE for one of those guys to say that under oath. But at the end of the day, not one of those guys in that lawsuit said they were leaving for money.  They were leaving for a "better schedule", to "spend more time with their families", or "to grow the game of golf."  They were also aware that LIV was an international organization, the LIV website literally calls themself an "International Golf Series."  They were aware of the format at the time they joined, they were aware of the schedule.  They were also made very aware of what the penalty would be from the PGA Tour if they joined.  They had all of that information in advance, and made a choice.  Now to come back and say that? Understand you're playing devils advocate, but that argument coming from these professionals should have no legs to stand on in a legal setting.
    • Playing devils advocate here because I can't comprehend what its like to be a millionaire and want to be a zillionaire - but I think the point is there is no competition in LIV just money. Thus still no meaningful choice to them. LIV can pay but can't provide competition, PGA Tour has the competition but doesn't pay that well. Most PGA Tour players are not making a ton of money, especially compared to other US sports.
    • Day 650: Played 18 this morning at North Kingstown. Driver was dreadful. I’m at a loss as to what is different on the course.
    • Historically, I've had difficultly getting the ball off the deck with woods. I've new Callaway Mavrik MAX 3, 5, and 7-woods.  Haven't swung the 3w, yet, nor have I yet played the other two, but I was able to get the ball off the deck much more easily, in range practice, with the 5 and 7-woods than I had with my previous woods. You might also consider hybrids.  I couldn't hit my 4i worth a darn. Replaced it with a Mavrik 4h on a "I wonder...?" impulse and I'm able to hit that well.  Again: At least in range practice. Whether any of those improvements will translate to play remains a question I hope to answer this season. My main concern with replacing anything under my 5i with woods or hybrids would be play out of the rough--from where I far too often find myself playing 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...