Jump to content
Phil McGleno

Kuchar Pays Caddie $5k, Is Shamed, Pays $50k

244 posts / 16747 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts


Social media was abuzz Saturday evening on the subject of Matt Kuchar, but the man himself has noted there is nothing to see here. Tom Gillis, a former PGA Tour player and current PGA Tour Champion…

I am surprised that nobody has talked about this yet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

What nobody is talking about is whether there was an agreement before the tournament when he picked up the local caddie.    That agreement, if one existed, would trump any speculation of underpayment.   I've never met any responsible person that went to work and didn't know what they were being paid.   

Being paid twice your regular pay is generous and I'm sure the guy was excited to receive the gift.   Would we even have this conversation if Kuch had come in second?   Probably not.  

While a bigger contribution to the local caddie may have been nice and helped change his life, I don't feel he was shorted in any sense.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

People are probably not talking about it because it's all hearsay and there is a bunch of info missing. Did the caddy ask for/agree to a flat rate of $3k or did they have some other agreement and Kuchar under paid him? If it's the first it's a non issue, if it's the latter then there is a problem.. From the info here it sounds like they had an agreement, then Kuchar won, now the caddy wants more. I could be wrong though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Unless someone interviews the caddie or posts other proof like a screenshot of the money leaving/entering a bank account, it's unlikely that we will know for sure exactly how much Kuchar paid the caddie.

Kuchar said he didnt pay 10% and he also said he didn't pay $3000.

Right now this is pretty much a he said she said thing until more proof comes out (if it ever does)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Has anyone talked to the caddie yet? Assuming it's true (a big assumption), I do think it's a story.

13 minutes ago, dennyjones said:

What nobody is talking about is whether there was an agreement before the tournament when he picked up the local caddie.    That agreement, if one existed, would trump any speculation of underpayment.   I've never met any responsible person that went to work and didn't know what they were being paid.    

He may have been so excited at the opportunity, and just assumed the Kuchar will pay him fairly. I've seen it happen in other fields.

13 minutes ago, dennyjones said:

Being paid twice your regular pay is generous and I'm sure the guy was excited to receive the gift.   Would we even have this conversation if Kuch had come in second?   Probably not.   

I agree with this. But he did win, and if the amount is really that low (or not much more), I think that Kuchar should have been much more generous.

Question: Would he have paid differently if it was in the US?

Edited by chspeed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I really don't believe that Kuchar paid his caddy $3k after winning over a million dollars. My best guess is that was the flat fee that they agreed to before the tournament, and the Kuchar paid him a bonus for winning. It's also not the best idea in Mexico to make a big deal of suddenly having a ton of money.

The other possibility that Kuchar didn't pay the caddy directly and instead did something like a trust for the caddy's kids. It could be completely true that Kuchar only paid his caddy $3k, but then took care of the caddy's family in some other way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, chspeed said:

Has anyone talked to the caddie yet? 

To my knowledge, no.

3 minutes ago, chspeed said:

Assuming it's true (a big assumption), I do think it's a story.

That's a huge assumption and unfair to Kuchar don't you think? Especially since Kuchar stated he didnt pay him $3000

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, klineka said:

That's a huge assumption and unfair to Kuchar don't you think? Especially since Kuchar stated he didnt pay him $3000

Yes it is, as I stated, big assumption. Unfair? Maybe if I was a journalist. I'm just talking hypotheticals on a golf forum. I don't think he'll be upset 😉

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, chspeed said:

Yes it is, as I stated, big assumption. Unfair? Maybe if I was a journalist. I'm just talking hypotheticals on a golf forum. I don't think he'll be upset 😉

So true, as long as he isn't a member on here :-P

I do hope someone interviews the caddie so there can be a bit more facts/evidence to back up either Tom Gillis or Kuchar.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't believe that the sum total of the payments to the caddie were $3k.

I also don't think that Kuchar having made $45M in his career is relevant. A Snickers bar costs $1.79 to a billionaire and a poor person alike.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It's probably not the best thing to publicize that the caddie got something like 80K in cash, which would be life changing money if you're dirt poor in Mexico. The false 3K number could've been just to protect the caddie. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

26 minutes ago, iacas said:

I don't believe that the sum total of the payments to the caddie were $3k.

I also don't think that Kuchar having made $45M in his career is relevant. A Snickers bar costs $1.79 to a billionaire and a poor person alike.

I agree with you. How much anyone made in his career has no relevance to this story. The line "Could have changed the man's life" is also irrelevant. Should he pay the person at McDonald's 100 grand for a Big Mac because it could have "changed the man's life"?

I find this whole story kind of weird. It seems like nobody (aside from the caddie and Matt Kuchar) really know how much the guy was paid. Yet, there are tons of people passing judgement. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I´m with the ones that think that he pays him a bonus outside the 3k but keep it quiet to protect the caddie and his family.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, dennyjones said:

What nobody is talking about is whether there was an agreement before the tournament when he picked up the local caddie.    That agreement, if one existed, would trump any speculation of underpayment.   I've never met any responsible person that went to work and didn't know what they were being paid.   

Being paid twice your regular pay is generous and I'm sure the guy was excited to receive the gift.   Would we even have this conversation if Kuch had come in second?   Probably not.  

While a bigger contribution to the local caddie may have been nice and helped change his life, I don't feel he was shorted in any sense.  

This.  Without knowing that, there is no sense in speculating.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, JxQx said:

 now the caddy wants more. I could be wrong though.

I"ve seen nothing where the caddie made any comment.

 

to the topic - this is such a non-story.  This is a contract between 2 people.  What fair is what they agreed to.  nothing more, nothing less.  Anything extra is a gift.  (The Champ Tour player that started this all is petty and childish and doesn't understand that 2 grownups can decide how to arrange their business.  No one has this automatic claim on another's property just because they think they do.  Tom Gillis comes across terribly poorly here.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have two problems with this tweet:

  1. Tom insisted multiple times it was $3k. That he had the number correct. Now he's saying it's $5k.
  2. Tom can't do math. Matt won $1,296,000 for his efforts. $5,000 of that is 0.386%. Not 0.0023%. 0.0023% would be $29.81.

Two opinions I still hold:

  1. If they negotiated a price and the guy paid it or paid it plus any extra, then so be it.
  2. I don't have any reason to believe Tom Gillis any more now than I did before, and maybe even less as he just contradicted himself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Gillis is coming across as a dickhead with some kind of personal grudge/ax to grind.

Edited by rehmwa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • That may be true, but the average amateur is unlikely to be better than 45% from a 140 yards.  And the pro can probably hit the same club or at worst one iron longer from the 200 yards in.  Most amateurs are hitting like an 8 iron or so from 140 and the pro can probably manage with a 7 iron from 200.  The pro is definitely better with a 7 iron than an amateur with an 8 iron. The reason the pro is better from 140 than 200 is probably because they are hitting a PW rather than say a 7 iron
    • You see this in other sports.   Anybody can coach great talent but it takes a good coach to get the best out of each and every player.
    • I may be a bit unfair to these coaches so I’ll admit that up front. But what I tend to believe is that many of these coaches that ‘got their name in the lights’ really lucked into it for the most part. They’ve taught hundreds of people before and nobody knew who they were. Now that definitely doesn’t define their level of quality. Not at all. But when a coach happens to score a player who is super talented and has the ‘it’ factor I can’t help believe that player was going to make waves regardless of his coach. Hank Haney got the majority of his notoriety from coaching Tiger. So did Sean Foley as did McCormick from Spieth. From the years of being on this thread I firmly believe Erik is every bit as good and better (Hank Haney) than these guys. I will agree that McCormick is a good coach as I’ve been told this by respectable people who are in the know. I just don’t think he’s anything so special that Spieth needs to remain with him.  At least not now. He needs renovation, not tweaking. I’d never heard of him before Spieth came to the stage and now he’s on commercials and pumps out dvd’s as an all time best instructor.  I think the talent of these golfers played a much bigger role in their success than the coaching they received from these guys. Just my opinion.
    • You know what I'm talking about.  That hole that eats your lunch every time you face it.  It may not even be a tough hole, but for some reason you can't seem to score well.   Mine is the opening hole on the Gold Course at Martin County Golf and Country Club.  It's a long par 5 dogleg left.  There's water halfway down, huge greenside bunkers, and several well-placed trees to punish any attempt at cutting the corner off the tee.  The rough slopes away steeply the whole way down the right side, often kicking your ball into the woods.  A bogey is my standard score.  I feel like I'm automatically going to be down a stroke right out of the gate. I've been playing that course since I was 12.  I'm 42 now.  Today, I reached the green in two for the first time in my life, then made birdie.  I couldn't believe it! Below are some short vids of me on my way to finally conquering this beast.  I'd love to hear about your trials with your nemesis hole.   And then the 3-wood, high draw to the green:    
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 3PuttsAsUsual
      3PuttsAsUsual
      (48 years old)
    2. Big_in_Belgium
      Big_in_Belgium
      (40 years old)
    3. Finman
      Finman
      (26 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...