Jump to content
Easytotilt

Playing a Ball After a 3 Minute Search

27 posts / 2361 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

The new rules when searching for a golf ball is that you have 3 minutes to search for your ball. We had a situation today where a playing parter hit his ball in the rough and we spent longer than the allocated 3 minutes finding the ball. It wasn't to much longer literally 5 mins and we found it... It was a par 4 and in a competition. The group behind us were not on the tee box yet, and the group in front were still putting out so we weren't going anywhere. We got pulled up about it by a rules official, but our argument was that we were not affecting the pace of play as if we stopped searching at the 3 minute mark we would we just be stood there catching fly's waiting for the green to clear... So my question in this situation what  happens? Up to 3 minutes or when you are able to hit your next shot seems sensible to me thoughts?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

After three minutes the ball is lost.

There is no "situation" about it. Whether you're holding up play, waiting, etc. is completely irrelevant.

What did he do to finish the hole? Had he played a provisional? Because as soon as three minutes elapsed, if he didn't play a provisional, he was required to go back to the tee. If he didn't do so, he should have been DQed as he played from a wrong place in a serious breach fashion.*

* Unless the Local Rule allowing for a player to drop up above was in effect, in which case he gets two strokes for that Local Rule and two strokes for playing a wrong ball, but not in such a way that he committed a serious breach. So even if the Local Rule was in effect, he was hitting six (one off the tee, two for the Local OB/Lost rule, and two for playing a wrong ball; laying five, hitting six).

cropped-rgfavicon.png?fit=240%2C240&ssl=

One of the most anticipated “new” Rules for 2019 was the optional Local Rule that provides an alternative to the stroke-and-distance penalty for a ball lost or out of bounds. This situa…

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 minutes ago, Easytotilt said:

We got pulled up about it by a rules official, but our argument was that we were not affecting the pace of play as if we stopped searching at the 3 minute mark we would we just be stood there catching fly's waiting for the green to clear...

Doesn't matter, past 3 minutes the ball is lost.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He got DQ'ed... Just felt unreasonable. It was on the 7th hole, he had picked up the provisional and played the ball before the rules official came over.

But those are the rules!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules can't be applied in a haphazard fashion.  They have to be applied in the same manner in every case or they cease to be valid.  It's one thing to fudge them in a casual round, but in a competition, they are the law.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Played a round this weekend and the ball was not found after 3 minutes, but was actually on the green about 4 feet past the pin. I was looking in the wrong spot.

I guess that's also considered lost?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, Lihu said:

Played a round this weekend and the ball was not found after 3 minutes, but was actually on the green about 4 feet past the pin. I was looking in the wrong spot.

I guess that's also considered lost?

I imagine you know the answer already.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

45 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I imagine you know the answer already.

I’d like not to imagine, because someone else identified*** the ball as his until he realized it wasn’t. So, I ended searching the wrong area where it was assumed to have been hit.

Are both balls considered lost then? Mine was misidentified and it took more than 3 minutes of other people playing to the hole for me to identify it.

Just curious, I was not scoring that particular round anyway.

***I hit it around a tree branch and was not able to see the flight nor landing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, Lihu said:

I’d like not to imagine, because someone else identified*** the ball as his until he realized it wasn’t. So, I ended searching the wrong area where it was assumed to have been hit.

Are both balls considered lost then? Mine was misidentified and it took more than 3 minutes of other people playing to the hole for me to identify it.

Just curious, I was not scoring that particular round anyway.

***I hit it around a tree branch and was not able to see the flight nor landing.

Interesting, and you might be able to make a case under the idea of equity, but I'm not real sure.  Your ball was found promptly, but you essentially weren't allowed to identify it as yours until after time had elapsed.  Its a situation where one guy's screw-up puts you in a bad spot.  Oddly enough, if you find a ball, mistakenly identify it as yours so stop searching, you stop the "search clock".   You can resume your search and restart the clock where you left off  once you realize its not yours.   .  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

24 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Interesting, and you might be able to make a case under the idea of equity, but I'm not real sure.  Your ball was found promptly, but you essentially weren't allowed to identify it as yours until after time had elapsed.  Its a situation where one guy's screw-up puts you in a bad spot. 

Yeah, but again, I didn’t count this round anyway. I rarely do unless the round is “in season”. It was my shot of the day though. :-)

 

24 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Oddly enough, if you find a ball, mistakenly identify it as yours so stop searching, you stop the "search clock".   You can resume your search and restart the clock where you left off  once you realize its not yours.   .  

Couldn’t this lend itself to abuse in some cases?

 

All I can comment on both situation is, no wonder why tournament scores are generally higher. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, Lihu said:

Couldn’t this lend itself to abuse in some cases?

Not really. How?

You need a good reason to suspend… like someone else saying “I found it.”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, iacas said:

Not really. How?

Just thinking that there’s more chances to cheat if not done “correctly”?

For instance, could it give people who cheat more opportunities to drop stray balls to stop the search clock?

7 minutes ago, iacas said:

Not really. How?

You need a good reason to suspend… like someone else saying “I found it.”

Ah, got it...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Who is supposed to be keeping the clock on the 3 minutes?  Is that on the opponent or the player themselves?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

35 minutes ago, Nutsmacker said:

Who is supposed to be keeping the clock on the 3 minutes?  Is that on the opponent or the player themselves?

Anyone can.

I look at my watch myself when I'm looking for my ball… and often look at my watch when others are looking for their balls, too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This got me thinking about whether or not I had ever seen the old 5-minute rule actually enforced in my little world of c-flight players and woolly muni courses.

My lot pumps a bunch of balls into rough that can sometimes be very thick. Perhaps twice I've seen someone race back to the tee after giving up on a search. I've never seen anyone pull out a stop watch to time them and there's no doubt some of these searches exceeded five minutes.

It would definitely be a better thing to get in the habit of hitting provisional shots when we aren't sure. Maybe the newness of the rule will make some people more aware of it,  but I'm guessing this one is going to get ignored at my level just like the five-minute limit was previously.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, mcanadiens said:

This got me thinking about whether or not I had ever seen the old 5-minute rule actually enforced in my little world of c-flight players and woolly muni courses.

The C flight around me are older gents who are real sticklers for the rules 😂

 

22 minutes ago, mcanadiens said:

My lot pumps a bunch of balls into rough that can sometimes be very thick. Perhaps twice I've seen someone race back to the tee after giving up on a search. I've never seen anyone pull out a stop watch to time them and there's no doubt some of these searches exceeded five minutes.

It would definitely be a better thing to get in the habit of hitting provisional shots when we aren't sure. Maybe the newness of the rule will make some people more aware of it,  but I'm guessing this one is going to get ignored at my level just like the five-minute limit was previously.

Most hit a provisional ball off the tee.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

35 minutes ago, mcanadiens said:

This got me thinking about whether or not I had ever seen the old 5-minute rule actually enforced in my little world of c-flight players and woolly muni courses.

My lot pumps a bunch of balls into rough that can sometimes be very thick. Perhaps twice I've seen someone race back to the tee after giving up on a search. I've never seen anyone pull out a stop watch to time them and there's no doubt some of these searches exceeded five minutes.

It would definitely be a better thing to get in the habit of hitting provisional shots when we aren't sure. Maybe the newness of the rule will make some people more aware of it,  but I'm guessing this one is going to get ignored at my level just like the five-minute limit was previously. 

5 minutes is longer than you think it is. Most players will give up well before they reach 5 minutes. You'll have to look a little more closely at the clock with 3 minutes, but I don't think it's going to be that big of change. Hopefully it will encourage more people to hit provisionals.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

48 minutes ago, mcanadiens said:

This got me thinking about whether or not I had ever seen the old 5-minute rule actually enforced in my little world of c-flight players and woolly muni courses.

My lot pumps a bunch of balls into rough that can sometimes be very thick. Perhaps twice I've seen someone race back to the tee after giving up on a search. I've never seen anyone pull out a stop watch to time them and there's no doubt some of these searches exceeded five minutes.

It would definitely be a better thing to get in the habit of hitting provisional shots when we aren't sure. Maybe the newness of the rule will make some people more aware of it,  but I'm guessing this one is going to get ignored at my level just like the five-minute limit was previously.

I can't say I've ever timed a search, someone (often me) will generally say that its been long enough, time to move on.  As @DeadMan says, 5 minutes is quite a long time.  With the new reduced search time, I'm planning to have my phone with me to time our searches, at least for a while until we become adjusted to the "feel" of 3 minutes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Posts

    • Who faced the tougher competition?   My analysis covers the 20 Masters Tournaments Woods has played in as a pro (1997 – 2019), and the first 21 Masters Tournament Nicklaus participated (1960 – 1982).   The Masters Tournament was chosen because the Masters is the only event played on the same course—Augusta National—each year.   I have one underlying assumption with regards to Tournament scoring. Golfing technology and equipment have steadily advanced. However, after researching the USGA opinions and the course overhauls that occurred in response to the technological advancements, I believe course designers have done a job preserving the emphasis on the player skill.    My assumption is that the efforts by executive committees to create more challenging courses has offset the permitted use of more advanced equipment. As a result I feel confident that the Tournament scores from the Nicklaus period in the sample (1960-1982) can be compared to the Masters leaderboards from the Woods period (1997-2019) within the margin of error of any statistical adjustment.      I merged the field from Woods’ first Tournament in ’97 with the field in Nicklaus’ first Tournament in ’60, maintaining the cut line at the top 50 qualifiers. I simply repeated this process through the 2019 and the 1982 Masters Tournaments.   In this period that I assessed, Woods did not participate in three tournaments ’14, ’16, and ‘17. Nicklaus did not participate in one tournament in ’67. Although the Masters Tournaments in ’61, ’73, 2003-2007 were played in poor weather conditions, after reviewing the cut lines, only ’03 and ’05 seem to be significantly affected by weather. A slight adjustment was made to players scores to normalize the scores.    After taking measure among the qualifiers during the merged tournaments displayed in the link, I found that the level of difficulty increased in the Woods’ era 28.1%.   ·     68% of the top 50 lowest qualifying scores are from the Woods’ era See 2ndsheet in link, labelled “top 50”   Additional Findings:   -      After merging the best of the two periods, Woods finishes with an estimated 4 green jackets and Nicklaus finishes with 2. -      If Woods competed in the Nicklaus period, Woods would have an estimated 9 green jackets. If Nicklaus competed in the Woods era, Nicklaus would have an estimated 5 green jackets. *Note: Nicklaus finished his career playing in 15 additional Masters Tournaments beginning in 1983. Woods is still active as of 2019. -      Woods finishes the 23 Tournament sample 106 below par. Nicklaus finishes the 23 Tournament sample 75 below par. Missing the hypothetical cut = +10 towards Masters career score.    Woods vs. Nicklaus  
    • A buddy of mine gave me a Bobby Jones 460cc black driver today and I played absolutely great with it! Highlight of today's round, however, was a beautiful 3 wood onto a par 3 that landed about 7-8 feet from the hole. There must have been a closest to the pin challenge earlier in the morning, because a marker was out there. My shot would have won it today had I been there to play in it 🙂 Overall, really solid round. Still some inconsistencies with iron play, but it's getting the better (the last three holes were really good with my 6, 7, 8, and W). 
    • Who knows. Maybe not happy that Nick reported the 2017 Champions Dinner story in the media. Tiger might have said things in that room that he expected the other Champions to keep to themselves instead of spouting to the media about it.
    • Not sure if it counts, but: Scrambled with some great guys today (foursome). We played an absolutely beautiful course. Shot a 73. 
    • You do realize my response was to “Diece”? But addressing your post, glad you are improving. However, even at 59, I usually play at 6700+ yards. On a mini tour, you will be at 7200 minimum, and expected to be under par, at least if you plan to play for a living. either way, golf should never define you. And making boast about a difficult game is a recipe for disappointment. But like most of the folks on this site, we will be ok if proven wrong. Will you be ok if we are proven right?
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Stillhacken
      Stillhacken
      (47 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...