Jump to content
IGNORED

Sergio DQ - Damaged Greens


Recommended Posts

Sergio DQ

Sergio Garcia was disqualified from the Saudi International because of "serious misconduct" on Saturday.

Garcia was accused by fellow players of purposefully hitting his clubs into the surface of the greens causing damage. Garcia posted a 1-over 71 in the third round, but was ultimately disqualified by the European Tour via Rule 1.2a.

This is how the USGA explains Rule 1.2a, which relates to player conduct, under the new Rules of Golf:

  • It declares that players are expected to play in the spirit of the game by acting with integrity, showing consideration to others and taking good care of the course.
  • It unequivocally states the Committee’s authority to disqualify a player for any serious misconduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game.
  • In place of the unclear previous concept of “breach of etiquette”, it uses the more direct and stronger phrases “misconduct” and “serious misconduct.”

Garcia issued a statement following his disqualification, saying, "I respect the decision of my disqualification. In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologize for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again.”

According to The Scotsman, it wasn't just "a couple" of greens which Garcia damaged, but five.

"It is believed that Garcia damaged five greens during his third circuit, with players in the four groups immediately behind him all complaining to rules officials about the state he’d left them," the paper reported.

This incident adds to  an already controversial beginning to the inaugural event as players in the field have been criticized for their participation after Saudi Arabia's involvement in the murder of Washington Post columnist Jamal Khashoggi.

I believe the penalty wasn't severe enough.   If the penalty was more severe like eliminating his option to play in a major this would never happen.   Money isn't a deterrent to somebody with his resources.    

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I have a temper.  Got it from my dad.  Not at people, but at situations.  Lost keys, dropped glass, missed shot in golf, etc.  Short, volatile explosion.  Yelling, cursing, throwing objects (not break

Yikes.  Sounds like child abuse to me.  Not to mention assault.  And if someone did that to a kid of mine I would press charges to the maximum extent of the law.  Hard to believe you are proud of this

Posted Images

Serious douchebag move. I had liked his easing up on the whiney woe is me crap...but this knocks him back down imo.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

16 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Serious douchebag move. I had liked his easing up on the whiney woe is me crap...but this knocks him back down imo.

Interesting that from what I can see in 2 pages of posts, only the OP mentioned Sergio as a villain in this thread:

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, RandallT said:

Interesting that from what I can see in 2 pages of posts, only the OP mentioned Sergio as a villain in this thread:

 

Yeah I never really saw Garcia as a villain. Just too much crying and bitching which has improved. Hell I was rooting for him to win the Masters when he did. I would never root for Poulter but I also don’t think Poulter would damage a green. That’s a different kind of douchebagness.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Wow. Damaging one green in frustration would be a “serious misconduct”, damaging multiple greens (possibly five?) is beyond the punishment given. I am sure it won’t be disclosed but I sure hope some other repercussions fall out from this. It’s pretty disgusting. Anyone know the extent of the damage (putter slammed into green out of frustration i assume?)?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He threw a tantrum.   I get it. He's at work and having a bad day.   

He's not my type of golfer.  I can be intense, lose focus and still not throw a tantrum.    Do I wish ill will against him?   Nah...What he does / doesn't do doesn't cause me grief or pleasure.    Is it bad for television or golf in general, sure.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Bobby Jones had a temper. Perhaps his most famous temper tantrum was ripping up his scorecard, thus removing himself from competition. He was also know to throw a club now and then. As he explained, "When you feel a fool, and a poor golfer to boot, what else can you do but throw the club away?"

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't think it's that big a deal.  I wouldn't really enjoy playing with a guy getting that mad about it, but it's different when it's your livelihood and your ability is that high.  I'm sure his caddy repaired the greens.  I'd have more of a problem had he thrown his club and it hit some one.  IIRC, that occurred last year with some pro, can't remember who.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 hours ago, dennyjones said:

He threw a tantrum.   I get it. He's at work and having a bad day.   

He's not my type of golfer.  I can be intense, lose focus and still not throw a tantrum.    Do I wish ill will against him?   Nah...What he does / doesn't do doesn't cause me grief or pleasure.    Is it bad for television or golf in general, sure.

Doing it once is a tantrum, but 5 times. That’s just being a dick.....

Also it is negatively affecting every other player behind him on the course. 

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • I played roller coaster golf. This is going to be a lengthy recap. I’m not expecting people to read through the whole thing; it’s more for my own entertainment purposes to go back over some of these holes. Day 1 (Sandbox and Mammoth Dunes) I made par on #16 at SB by hitting a PW as hard as I could to the front of the green and then putting from there to 8’ from the back hole location. The hole was 170 from the tee and the longest club I had was PW. It sounds a lot easier in writing than it was. I didn’t play that well at MD. Probably hit a few good drives, but I don’t remember doing anything remarkable. Day 2 (SB and Sand Valley) Made birdie on #7 at SB. Teed off with putter, hit it to 3’. Hit an 8i on #16 at SB to 8’. It’s a Redan and I hit a fade. @DaveP043 showed us how it’s supposed to be played by hitting a draw to the front of the green and letting the ball roll up to the hole about 6’ away. Didn’t play well at SV on the first round, but I hit some good drives and made a few pars, including on #18 where I hit driver-3w into the sand area to the right of the green, hit a 30 yard blind sand shot just off the green and made par from there. Day 3 (SB and SV) Birdied #7 again at SB. Again teed off with putter but not great, holed a 20’ putt for birdie. Quit golf on the 3rd hole at SV, so naturally, I birdied #4. Hit a good drive and 2h just left of the green, had a ridiculous putt from the top of a hill that hit a sprinkler head and trickled to tap in distance. Hit 4i-2h on #6, GIR and 4-putted. Dave measured my first putt - I was 40 yards from the hole. Hit a perfect drive over the sand pyramid on #7 (I was on top of it the day before), followed by an easy 2h I wanted to run up to the green, which I pulled slightly but it bounced off a hill and rolled onto the green anyway. Had a 30’ putt for eagle, 3-putted for par. Birdied #12. Like @saevel25, I also went driver-7i and put it on the green. Made par on #14 which I described in the Best Shot of the Week thread. That 6i was probably in the top 5 most pure shots I have ever hit. It started on the line I wanted, turned exactly how I pictured it, and flew exactly the right distance. Missed the 6’ putt for birdie which I really wanted to make with the other group watching on the tee. I hit a good drive on #18 and tried to hit a 2h into the fairway short of the green. Ended up flaring it way right into the Sahara. Matt later asked if I hit a good shot because it looked like I was posing, and I told him I was so gassed I just didn’t want to move after the shot 😂 Day 4 (Lawsonia Links x 2) Got my best score of the trip here with an 87 in our first round. I hit some good shots, but nothing really spectacular. Just made fewer mistakes overall. Made birdie on #9 after hitting my drive into the fescue. Hit a 7i back into the fairway and a low spinner to 3’, which was still outside Dave’s blind third shot from the fairway bunker which he put to 2’. Day 5 (Lac La Belle) Made a really good decision to grab breakfast at Fresh Baked Cafe in Oconomowoc. The beers were cold at the end of the round. I seriously played like crap.
    • Probably not possible. Calling someone on a rules violation is going to disrupt "serenity" within the group but sometimes that is the cost you have to pay for doing the right thing.  I'm sure I've looked the other way on minor rules infractions that had no material impact on the outcome because the cost wasn't worth the benefit. I can't think of any offhand, but to borrow an example from your first post, if someone rotated their ball on the green without marking it, I would probably be more likely to pull them aside on the next hole and tell them they need to mark it next time vs. call a penalty on them.  But like with many things in life - you can't have your cake and eat it to. If you decide that something needs to be called out for a penalty, you have to accept the likely possibility of temporary discord in the group. Don't be a jerk about it - be polite, but direct - and you give yourself the best chance of a positive outcome.
    • Was in a group a few years ago that played every Wednesday and we did this same thing with net birdies every year.  One year got to 16 of them, but couldn't get two of them that I didn't get strokes on.  At least with this one, I get to count more than just Wednesday rounds...
    • I'm aware, but the post described choosing to forego two drops and immediately drop more than two club lengths from a penalty area. That is not in the rules. And, in the cited example of a penalty area and a cart path, "back where you started" would never occur. Because relief from a cart path must be in the general area, not back in the penalty area. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. andreanewman
      andreanewman
      (29 years old)
    2. Erg
      Erg
      (54 years old)
    3. Hacker James
      Hacker James
      (79 years old)
    4. irishmike27
      irishmike27
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...