I came back to the game in 2017 after a long layoff. I played from the mid 80s to the mid 90s before just dropping off completely around 1998. A coworker and I bought some no name custom clubs around 2005 but even then I may have played once a year. All of that time in between I thought about playing again, but was not prepared to put in the time to get my game going again. Once I decided I was willing to put in the practice time I recommitted, put a new bag together and started playing again. It helped that a buddy started asking me if I wanted to play, but I found myself wanting to play more often than when he was available so I started going out solo and found that I was fine doing that. Since then I have been playing as often as time permits.
I'm okay with Tiger and Phil coaching the guys but don't like the idea of them being a "lifeline"... playing some shots for them.
Also, now that the tour is back in action, I'd see it a a novelty TV event for the Christmas season, when the Tour is inactive.
I can think of no reason to do what the caddie did other than to gain information for the next shot and I agree with the call but have a question.
The rule says you can't touch the sand to gather information on the next shot. Would the DQ have been appropriate if after touching the sand the caddie never spoke or signaled to Pinto and Pinto simply hit his shot without any information from the caddie? That would imply there was no intent to learn information since there was no attempt to communicate it. Would/Should that have changed the call?