IGNORED

Is This a Hole in One?

RustUK
Note: This thread is 1840 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I’m not a rules expert, but I believe the ball has to rest in the bottom of the cup to constitute it being holed. Having said that, I’d let you count that and take a drink off ya at the clubhouse ☺️

Driver: :callaway: Rogue ST  /  Woods: :tmade: Stealth 5W / Hybrid: :tmade: Stealth 25* / Irons: :ping: i500’s /  Wedges: :edel: 54*, 58*; Putter: :scotty_cameron: Futura 5  Ball: image.png Vero X1

-Jonny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, RustUK said:

I think I got a hole in one yesterday.  Can anyone please confirm that this does count as one?

hole in one.jpg

Doesn't look like it to me. There has to be some part of the ball in the hole below the putting surface and that ball looks like it's entirely above it. If the ball moves when you pull the flagstick you have to replace it.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

34 minutes ago, billchao said:

Doesn't look like it to me. There has to be some part of the ball in the hole below the putting surface and that ball looks like it's entirely above it. If the ball moves when you pull the flagstick you have to replace it.

I agree, its hard to say for sure whether any part of the ball is below the level of the surface.  On the other hand, if the ball is leaning against the flag, that means its center of gravity is over the hole instead of over the surface.  And if you draw that up, with the lowest point of the ball (directly under the CG) within the circumference of the cup, at least a tiny bit of the ball has to be below the surface.  That photo makes it look really close.

Dave