Jump to content


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • They know it's embedded because they saw it land and then cannot find it and the ground is soft. See USGA Embedded Ball FAQ.  Yes, if the ball is "known or virtually certain" lost in an abnormal course condition such as temporary water, then there is free relief referencing the point that the ball entered the abnormal course condition. However, soft ground is not temporary water. Water has to be visible.  
    • Thanks for the welcome. I'm figuring out the kid stuff. My kids are 6th grade and 3rd grade. I bought them a set of top flight clubs to share for now, but my 6th grader is really on the high end of height for the clubs, and I'm going to need a 2nd set. So my youngest one is all set for now, I just need to do some figuring on the oldest one.    As far as actually playing with them, I've got to get that figured out as well, and I'm interested to hear about others' experiences. We have a par 3 course nearby, and that's a good start.  Thus far, I've let them hit a shot off the tee, and then I ask them to take their ball up to the green. I've only had them out twice so far, and they had a blast, so it is something they seem to want to continue doing. Thanks Denny. This seems like a cool place. Yeah, I agree that club technology, especially for irons, hasn't changed that much in recent times. My biggest objection to my clubs is that as the offset gets bigger as I get to the 3 iron, it takes what is usually a mild draw and turns it into a much more pronounced draw bordering on a hook with the longest irons.
    • It’s like anything else, if you make a change and see improvement, then the change was worth it.  Its just golf. 
    • "Choose to do it all at once" is not in the rules. If you do that, you have played from a wrong place. The penalty is 2 strokes, or DQ if it was a serious breach. Usually a cart path is not "right next to" a penalty area, so relief from the cart path after dropping on it could be between the cart path and the penalty area.   It is a question of protecting the field because some players follow the correct procedure and even end up playing from the cart path when their cart path relief would have them closer to and maybe standing in the penalty area. 
    • How does a player know when they should move up to blades? I ask because my son (18 years old, 3 years experience, 5-6 hdcp) seems to think he should consider it.  He was fitted for Wilson C300s 3 years ago. He hits them well. I could be wrong, but I think his 6 iron is his 200+ yard club and that 7 iron is in the 190s.  He practices with a Mevo into a net a lot and should know his distances well because of that (assuming Mevo is accurate). But sometimes on the course even sometimes with the Mevo into the net he gets what he considers a flyer from a fairway lie that goes 10-15 yards farther than expected and ends up causing him to scramble to save par. In a recent round he had about 145 on a par 3 and chose gap wedge over wedge because a short miss is safer than a long miss and still air mailed the green and ended with bogey. I tend to think the inconsistency is just due to inexperience and actual changes in his stroke from swing to swing. He thinks it might be due to the clubs. When should he consider getting fitted again vs just learning to swing more consistently?    
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...