Jump to content

iacas

Administrator
  • Content Count

    67,726
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    810

Everything posted by iacas

  1. From the first post: Two players hit with penalties LPGA Q-Series for violating advice rule PINEHURST, N.C. – There’s never a good time for a two-stroke penalty. But the second week of Q-Series, where a whole year’s worth of status is on the line, ranks up there among the worst times to g… Kendall Dye and Dewi Weber (both of these are players) were still in shock about the whole thing after Q-Series ended. The incident took place on the 17th hole during Round 6 at Pinehurst No. 9. As Dye tells it, Christina Kim (Player A) hit first on the par 3. Then Weber (Player B), runner-up at the 2016 NCAA Championship while a freshman at Miami, stepped up to the tee. As Weber (Player B) prepared to hit, Dye (Player C) motioned toward Weber’s caddie to ask if it was an 8-iron. Jacqueline Schram (Player B's caddie) signaled back to confirm that it was, indeed, an 8-iron. So, C asked B's caddie, and B's caddie responded. The rules officials got it right (the one on scene was a bit slow to respond, unsure, as he was a volunteer or something), and the proper penalty was assessed.
  2. They generate almost exactly the same numbers. Why are there two different versions of this ball?
  3. Just read the first few posts. It was a player or caddie. Thus, they were penalized. Three weeks ago or whatever. The thing from Sunday was a different thing altogether.
  4. Nothing shows up. You can embed a JPEG or a GIF or something, but please stick to normal web formats. Basically, like this, but with the stick on the target line and on the FRONT side of the golfer, not the back side: And swing OVER it.
  5. Not much lower body involvement, and an over-the-top steepening move in transition. Very common. You can put a stick on the target line oriented at about 55° or so (from the ground) and swing over it, trying to do so with a better lower body action.
  6. No. Neither Christina nor her caddie were involved.
  7. I always thought the name of that thing was a bit weird.
  8. I get what you’re saying but flashing the on-course reporter in the fairway of a par four is not in the same league as flashing another player or caddie on a par three tee. And it makes for better, more informed TV.
  9. Like our 2008 , 2009 , 2010 , 2011 , 2012 , 2013 , 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019 threads, here's the official thread for 202! The rules are the same as they've been: Post your goals personal golf-related goals for 2020. Be specific and thorough. Elaborate on how you'll go about achieving these goals. Details, people! Post just once, though if you reach all of your goals, you should quote your post and revise them later in the year. And set harder goals next year. Keep the replies to a minimum. This thread is mostly for the posting of goals. If you want to encourage more discussion of your goals, post a copy of them in your Member Swing thread. If you're looking to recap your 2019 goals, that topic can be found right here. Let's hear 'em!
  10. With the year coming to a close, it's time for our yearly self-assessment thread. Here's how this will work... Quote your post from the 2019 Golf Goals topic right here in this topic, then write something below your quoted post to let everyone know how you did! Please keep replies to a minimum. Use your Member Swing thread for deeper discussions about your goals and how well you achieved them. P.S. To quote your post from another topic, you can do one of two things: Quote it, select it (with the little + sign in the top left corner), copy it, and paste it into the reply box here. Click the "+ Multi" button on your post in that topic, reload this topic, and quote it directly into a reply here by clicking the "Quote 1 Post" button/overlay that should appear. The latter is the easier method, and the former won't work very well on tablets or smart phones.
  11. Was it "advice"? If not, then your line of thought ends there.
  12. They have been. There was nobody to signal to at Q-School, and they were on the box of a par three where all players were hitting from the same place, and the players/caddies both asked for and gave advice. The situations are not the same. Furthermore, I'd rather see all rules enforced, but you can get into trouble with the "consistently" part, because if rules have not been enforced, then "consistency" warrants continuing not to enforce them. The Rules on "advice" are fairly clear. Flashing signals to an on-course reporter, particularly when done surreptitiously, does not come anywhere close to the "advice" definition.
  13. Surreptitiously slashing fingers to an on-course reporter is not "giving out unsolicited advice."
  14. Different situation. Which I believe you know.
  15. Ditto here, especially if you’re standing by “average.”
  16. You should have stopped at assuming… because it's pretty easy to go astray at that point. No, I'm not thinking about stuff while I'm telling some story, nor does it matter if I did as it's clearly not a competitive situation. But like I'll say next… back to the topic, please. For good reason. Good luck with that. "Based upon the circumstances"? C'mon. Anyway, the general rule is off topic here. All I'm saying is that adding "must" to the general Rules of Golf that apply to everyone all the time is a bad idea. And reasons like the ones I've given are WHY they're a bad idea. Back to the topic, which is the PGA Tour's policy post-Masters in 2020.
  17. I don't. That's what "should" does, and leaves room as noted for a Committee to institute their own POPP.
  18. Uhm, that's my point. If you make it "must" then it applies ALL the time, to ALL of golf. Which would be stupid. The way it's written in 2019 is fine, because it has a general recommendation (not a "must") in the Rules, and then gives the Committee authority to make their own "must" type rule.
  19. No, it shouldn't say "must," because then that rule applies to everything. So, if I'm out telling a story that everyone in the group wants to hear, and we're neither waiting on anyone nor being waited on (in fact we're the only group for three holes in either direction), I technically would be breaking the Rules of Golf if I didn't play inside of 40 seconds. So no, it should not be a "must" in the Rules of Golf. It should be clearly spelled out and enforced — as it can be now, with the 2019 Rules — in a condition of competition and the pace of play guidelines for that event. But as a general Rule of Golf, no, it should not say "must." For the situation I outlined and a hundred others.
  20. GOLF's Top 100 Courses in the World: A deep dive into the rankings - Golf This year’s numbers reveal trends and tastes that altered the standings like never before. Here’s why some longtime favorites didn’t make the list. A snippet: Ran Morissett of GolfClubAtlas is the new architecture editor for GOLF magazine (and golf.com), so it's interesting to see his influence take hold so quickly.
  21. I liked videos 1 and 2. The third was a bit overdone.
  22. Stop worrying about that.
  23. iacas

    My Swing (Lihu)

    100% wrong. I looked at the FlightScope data not that long ago. I didn't measure you hitting an 8I. Only the driver. You gained almost 60 yards on average (seven or eight tee shots averaged 175, then five at the end averaged 234). You didn't hit an 8I that I measured on the FlightScope. I'm done. You're just lying now.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...