• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.

luu5

Established Member
  • Content count

    629
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

12 Off to a Great Start

About luu5

  • Rank
    Dedicated Member

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    Finland

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    15,3
  1. From R&A rules Q&A about woods, not sure about wedge: Q.The face of my driver has developed a crack through the normal course of play. I want to carry on using the club, but does it conform? A. If the crack is a hairline crack which cannot easily be detected by touch, then it would be regarded as wear rather than damage and, as such, the driver could continue to be used. As soon as the crack becomes more than a hairline crack (e.g. it develops a sharp raised edge, or there is essentially of a hole in the face), it should be regarded as a damaged club which is non-conforming.
  2. Hopefully it makes them better at replacing divots or filling the holes.
  3. All or "nothing", regarding the caddie.
  4. I voted no. And then some OT. On the other hand I would not be unhappy about a rule that would prohibit caddie from stepping on green at all. Players can handle the flagstick as they in 99,99% of golf rounds do anyway. And there is no other role for caddie anymore on green. btw, talking about wasting time and caddie cleaning the ball after "every" putt.
  5. I do not see gamesmanship, I just see confusion. You really think that Pettersen on purpose wanted this to happen? And if someone asks her if the putt was conceded, or if she says it was not conceded then there is not much that can be done.
  6. I would imagine it would be good if it was about same subject, but this was not.
  7. Quote: Originally Posted by wadesworld I'm with you Rick. I believe that absent any other notification, a player has to play the course as marked. I thought Fourputt was saying somewhat contrary when he wrote: Quote: Would you also agree that a player would not be wrong in by playing by the rules in this case, despite the course being marked in direct opposition to the rules? Or perhaps I am lost with the word "despite" in the sentence.