Jump to content

Golfingdad

Supporter
  • Content count

    16,908
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    112

Golfingdad last won the day on July 6

Golfingdad had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

1,981 Legend of the Game

6 Followers

About Golfingdad

  • Rank
    Super Member
  • Birthday 11/12/1973

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    Orange County

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    6.5
  • Handedness
    Righty
  • GAME Golf Username

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Golfingdad

    Golfer Loses Ball, Didn't Know Was Holed

    How could somebody abandon a ball that was already holed? I don't KNOW the answer, but it has to be what you said - dude got an albatross. BTW, pretty incredible that the guy managed to make a birdie as well with the second ball. :) EDIT: I posted before I saw @MrGolfguy67's post ... (super amused that we both used the exact same phrasing)
  2. Golfingdad

    Premier League 2018-19

    A buddy of mine is a big Fulham fan so he’s very excited for this coming season. Since I went to my first match last year (Tottenham v CP at Wembley) I’ll pull for Spurs. 🙂
  3. Golfingdad

    Bryson Implodes, Shakes Hand of Winner Only Briefly

    The main story of the event should have been a bigger headline ... R. McEvoy is a Champion. (Extra funny/ironic considering it seems like BD needed to pull a Tin Cup for it to have happened.)
  4. Golfingdad

    Cheating in tournament

    I have no problem with this ... except I believe you are incorrect in regards to the bolded comment. And you gave the main reason why in your first paragraph when you said , "it's his word against mine," This is exactly what @Shindig is asking/pointing out, I believe. You have the authority to point it out to him that he has committed an infraction, but if nobody else sees it and he is adamant that he did not commit the infraction, then you don't have the authority to assess the penalty. Without any other information, I believe that a "he said/he" said situation is always going to fall on the side of the player.
  5. After reading the rules and examples, I think I'm against this - seems messy and confusing. Particularly the part about which handwritten notes are and are not allowed. I think I'd rather they just said you can't use the fancy large pre-printed ones, and then regulate the yardage books they do allow, to make sure that the green sizes are small enough for their liking, and then leave everybody free to make whatever handwritten notes they want. Regulating the actual notes that are allowed seems like overstepping. It'll be like NASCAR ... after each tournament, everybody in the top 5 or 10 will have to submit their yardage book materials for inspection/grading to make sure they fit within the regulations before any wins are made official.
  6. Golfingdad

    Finger Down the Shaft Putting

    I can vouch for this post mainly because I was a right-index-finger-down-the-shaft putter for my entire life until relatively recently, and I am now a much better putter than I was before. To be fair, though, it would be hard to pinpoint the amount of my improvement that can be attributed to the grip change. I also believe strongly in: My putter, which is fitted to my eye and stroke. My ability to read the greens with my feet (even if my lazy ass doesn't use my Aimpoint charts much anymore) My current stroke, which was learned after reading the DO NOT accelerate thread linked above. I changed/added all four of those things in fairly a short period of time, so I couldn't begin to guess how much each contributed, but I know I'm definitely not going back to the finger down the shaft putting anytime soon. :)
  7. Golfingdad

    Bryson Implodes, Shakes Hand of Winner Only Briefly

    I'd even go a step further and say its disrespectful to McEvoy of the guy (or girl or guys or girls) trying to make a story out of this instead of just writing about the guy that won. YOU (writer) are the ones taking away from the guys win, not DeChambeau. This is stupid. Yeah, same thing with the Patrick Reed interaction with the change jingler the other day. People don't like Patrick Reed so the stories are about how he handled it wrong. If the same happened to Rory or Tiger or DJ, then the same fans would be wishing for Change Jingler to die a slow painful death.
  8. Golfingdad

    Golf telecasts and the divide between the young and olds

    I’m seeing this more and more now too and realize it benefits everybody. We don’t have to wait for commercial breaks and we are also “forced” to watch the commercials. Win-win. They even do this on American Ninja Warrior - which is kinda funny considering it’s not even a live event. (That’s where it dawned on me that the sponsors might also benefit from the split screen concept) :)
  9. Golfingdad

    Bernhard Langer

    Was it David Hearn? He's the one guy I noticed a couple weeks back that seems to be an "anchorer" on the regular tour. Along with Langer and McCarron on the senior tour, it's like these guys "called the bluff" of the USGA. If they say they're not anchoring, then they're not anchoring and that's the end of it. So it's not really a very good rule in that regard, because it's really not enforceable.
  10. Golfingdad

    2018 Senior Open Championship - St. Andrews

    LOL, I had the same thought watching Tiger last Saturday. EDIT: (Looks like Kirk Triplett, Vijay SIngh, and Jeff Sluman also deserve the award today.)
  11. Golfingdad

    2018 PGA Championship at Bellerive

    Looks like you’re memory is close ... they were supposed to hold a WGC event that was canceled due to 9/11. Ryder Cup that was postponed for a year was in England.
  12. Golfingdad

    2018 PGA Championship at Bellerive

    Interesting. Looks like 10 has been a par 4 in the past, and for that 2008 BMW Championship, 10 and 4 both played as par 4's. They also list the total yardage from that tournament as 7304, so they obviously moved some tees up. Hope the setup has a few more teeth than it did then, -21 or 22 wouldn't make for a very major test.
  13. Golfingdad

    Golf Strategy Choices

    The difference between 100 and 175 is a bunch - I'd take the shorter shot in every instance. You do have me wondering, though, where my cutoff is for each of the first two situations. Maybe if the choices were 100 uneven vs. 115 flat lie, I'd go with the longer one. And the same might be true for the rough vs. fairway question, but that also would depend on the lie in the rough and now much green there is to work with. The third question is the easiest for me. If me "punishment" for going for it is a greenside bunker or a 20 yard pitch, then I'll take that every single time.
  14. Golfingdad

    2018 PGA Championship at Bellerive

    Based on @Club Rat's post up above, looks like it was a 71 for the PGA in '92 and a par 70 in 2008 for the BMW.
  15. Golfingdad

    LPGA's Lincicome will play in PGA Event in July

    I wondered the exact same thing and checked. Most tournaments have many fewer WDs but like was mentioned, and I think it’s proven by the fact that most of them finished a number of holes on Friday, that they likely just didnt want to come back Saturday to finish a round that they already knew wouldn’t get them through to the weekend. (The cut was -4 on this course and all of these guys shot 74-79 on Thursday)
×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...