• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
    • iacas

      Win a Cart with Sun Mountain and TST!   06/02/2017

      You can win a Speed Cart GT or a Micro Cart GT from Sun Mountain!

MacDutch

Established Member
  • Content count

    689
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

MacDutch last won the day on June 7 2016

MacDutch had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

84 Power and Finesse to Spare

About MacDutch

  • Rank
    Dedicated Member

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    Utrecht (Netherlands)

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    7.5
  • Handedness
    Righty

Recent Profile Visitors

2,131 profile views
  1. Thanks, no local rule in place, so a two stroke penalty.
  2. So it is not a serious breach? His position after the drop was way better than before the drop, because he did not have to chip over the sprinklerhead. The reason he dropped was to avoid the sprinklerhead. So his intention was to get a better position to play his ball from for free. On the other hand it was Stableford, so with a two stroke penalty there would be no points left for that hole and there is no benefit. You could also argue that the drop could be handled as 'taking an unplayable' so only one stroke penalty. But that was not his intention. His intention was to play it with a free drop. Because he was incorrectly certain he would get the free drop. After the round, the marker and player tried to get advice from the rules committee, but there was no committee.
  3. During a Stableford tourney a player states he is entiteld to take relief for a sprinkler head in his line of play to the green. Some courses have a local rule when your ball is within 2 clublengths of the sprinklerhead and the sprinklerhead is within 2 clublenghts of the green (and the sprinklerhead is in the line of play to the hole), you get free relief. But this course does not have that local rule in place. The player is certain he gets free relief, the marker said he has never heared of this rule. I got two questions: 1. How should they procede, no rules official available? 2. What if the player takes relief and does not play the ball as it lies? So he only takes the incorrect option of free relief. Before signing his card after the round, he and the marker ask how to handle.
  4. A poll would be nice. I believe I read something about the average score that day. Justin shot 9 better, where Miller shot 10 better. My big question would be 'was it lift, clean and place when Miller shot his 63?' If so, my vote would go to JT. Other thing is how strong was the 1973 field against the 2017 field. Think the 17 field was way stronger. So my vote goes to JT anyway.
  5. Yes, the info you gave is new to me. But I could not find anything in the links you gave that supports what you wrote. They all say there will be a new system and that there will be a draft end of this year. No specifics like you gave. So there you got your reason why there was not a lot to discuss. But we can discuss it now Looks as if it's a lot like the USGA system. And it is a lot different from the EGA system (that is the basis for my hcp). I think its better, because it is based on recent scores. If I would play 20 rounds in a row like a 36 hcp, my current hcp would only drop 2 points.
  6. Tried to google, but could not find anything.
  7. The Dutch golf federation stated a draft will be presented by the end of this year. Till then not much to discuss I think.
  8. In the meantime his handicap will change. Would be nice to get updates.
  9. For me thats because there seems to be no info on how this system will work.
  10. Hit them where you wanna be!
  11. Had to think about this thread yesterday. Last hole, a 440y par 4 against the wind. Light dogleg to the right, but not a good drive that came at rest just left of the fairway. Still 240y to the flag and the ball was nicely teed up on the grass. First thought was 'hit hybrid to 80y'. But it was the last hole, not a good round and I wanted to know if driver could do the job. Hit a low ball, that kept on rolling. Just short of the green, but made up and down using the Texas wedge. Will keep on practicing that shot.
  12. It's not that difficult. You can't get less then 0 stableford points on a hole. So if you score a 7 for zero points, you also get zero for a 10. It is somewhat similar to the ESC score for USGA handicaps.
  13. This wednesday I will caddie our most promising clubmember, when he plays the first round of the Dutch national championship matchplay. First round is strokeplay to decide the cut and decide on pairings. The guy I'm caddying is a former (youth) national rugby player, hits it like I've never seen before on amateur level. Yesterday he was 10th at the Dutch strokeplay championship. Last day at hole 16 (no chance to win anymore), he hits driver against the wind on a 370y par 4 and only 50y left to chip it to 3 feet. More next thursday
  14. If water hazard rules are that simple, why are they subject to change? I am not sure about the number of decisions concerning water hazards, but if water hazard rules are that simple, why would there be decisions about them?
  15. Why they don't know the rules? That is because there is a rules book and its big time dull and written in a complicated language. And the rules are so difficult that we need an extra book with uncountable decisions. I got a 2 stroke penalty once, during a serious strokeplay event. I dropped two clublenght at a yellow water hazard. Me and my marker didn't know the rule, but there was a rules official who saw it and was too late in stopping me from hitting the dropped ball.