Jump to content

boil3rmak3r

Established Member
  • Content Count

    428
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

22 Excellent

About boil3rmak3r

  • Rank
    Well Established Member

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    6.5
  • Handedness
    Righty

Recent Profile Visitors

1,770 profile views
  1. In reading the Lexi incident with her four stroke penalty, I read a few things that made me want to post this... It's not relevant to my post, but I am wishy-washy on the additional 2 stroke penalty for an incorrect scorecard... I lean toward her deserving it because it seemed to be extremely careless. Then I ask myself, how can you differentiate from carelessness and an intentional act? I don't think you can, so I think the incorrect scorecard penalty must be in place. What gets me is when people say the rule should not be changed because it's the rule. I find, on this site, that so
  2. I'm at a point in my golf "career" that I'm not sure how much better I can ever get. I'm a short knocker and don't think at my age I have much hope to lower my HI much in the future. Part of the problem is my career and family override my motivation to practice. So, I actually bought the Cobra single length irons as a way to spruce up my golf enthusiasm (believe it or not, my wife supported this :). I thought it'd be something new and would inspire me to practice a bit more. FWIW, my regular clubs are Maltby TE forged 5-GW and a 3 and 4 hybrid. I found it very easy to transition to
  3. You must not understand what I am saying. There were others (in other threads) saying that rule 34-2 was not applicable in DJ's case because DJ gave incorrect information. Per 34-3-8, If that was the case, DJ would have incurred a two stroke penalty. The decision is very clear on this...
  4. Per 34-3-8, if a player's version of facts is subsequently found to be incorrect, a 2 stroke penalty would come into play - even though the player followed the referee's instruction to proceed (right?). The only reason I mention this is people have guessed in other threads that rule 34-2 didn't apply to DJ's situation because DJ gave incorrect information....
  5. Thanks for those references, Dormie... On another note, per 34-3/8, the committee must not have decided that DJ gave incorrect information, otherwise, they would have given him 2 penalty strokes, not just one (at least that's how I read that decision...). Also, I think rule 34-2 should be clarified in the ROG. I'm not sure exactly how, but various decisions make it clear that the referee's decision may not be final when it comes to ruling on whether a player's action was proper or not. Whether he made a ball move or not is the obvious example here. I'm sure there are others, I just ca
  6. ^This It seems like DJ simply answered the question(s) asked of the RO. The RO quickly deemed no penalty. How the USGA could say the player gave misinformation and, therefore, rule 34-2 is not applicable is beyond me. Should 34-2 simply be removed from the rule book? In any case, I am fine with the current Ball at Rest Moved rule.
  7. I like your approach to this. I walk every round at my club and usually am paired with 2 or 3 other riders. It is extremely rare for me to feel rushed, as our course is very easy to walk and I generally play fast. There are times, though, where it can be different. For example, my club pro is a borderline speed golfer. He'll shoot a 72 while trying to finish the round as a threesome in 2 1/2 hrs. If I get paired with him as a threesome and the course is wide open, it becomes very weird. As a 3-some, 3 hours is comfortable for me. Faster than that, and it becomes a foot race. I thi
  8. I appreciate everyone's responses on this. I was out of town all weekend and didn't get a chance to play with my group. I did, however, go out earlier tonight and played "some game that resembled golf." In all honesty, I told myself to try to adhere to all rules. That went out the window on hole 3 where I had an extreme lie in which the ball was a foot above my feet and was downhill. I didn't hit a terrible second shot, but it went to the right. The result was playable. I decided to hit another shot from that lie to see how I might do it better. "Official" round over (I know, official
  9. I could be wrong (and I'm sure the rules gurus on this thread will correct me if I am), but you are'nt supposed to start a round intending for it to count and decide later it's null and void. I understand you want to play fast, but you have to be realistic as a single. It sounds like you quite often abandon a round you intended to be official because the pace of play was not up to your standards. I hope the rules guys can confirm or debunk this, but I think what you do isagainst the ROG...
  10. It's funny, Dave, you told me early on in this thread that I had issues with my life because I couldn't practice during solo rounds. You now admit that you can't commit to the rules either. If you get slowed down, it's a "practice" round. I'd bet a million bucks if you got slowed down on hole 16, you turn it into a "practice" round when you are having a bad round, but play it out when you are shooting a career round. This rule just eliminates vanity cappers. I wish it wasn't in force, as I had only posted scores with others before. I want more vanity cappers.
  11. I would disagree with your bolded statement. If you already know all the rules, playing alone gives ample opportunities to practice. Hitting shots on the golf course is a lot different than hitting into a driving range or pitching into a practice green.
  12. There have been a few posts saying that they will play by the ROG, but if they catch up with a cluster of groups, they turn that round into a "practice" round. I suspect the decision to do that would depend on how their round was going. If they caught up with the other groups on hole 14 and they were playing like crap, sure, it now is a practice round. If they were having a career day when they caught up with the groups, they would plod along and try to finish the round off properly for a chance to post an exceptional score.
  13. That was my original intent... As I said in my OP, I am skeptical that folks that play solo rounds do so consistently by the rules. I can not do that (hence, my solo rounds are practice rounds). The availability to just "practice" on the actual course overrides any thought that it's an actual round of golf. I think I benefit from practicing on the course. I do believe what many others have said, though; folks that post mostly (or only) solo rounds are very likely to be vanity cappers. That doesn't harm any of us. It actually makes it better for us when playing against them in compe
  14. Back on topic... @iacas, I'm curious to here from a pro. If you go out alone, is it tough for you to not want to do a little practice during the round?
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...