Jump to content

FlappyGilmore

Established Member
  • Content count

    64
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Sandbagger

About FlappyGilmore

  • Rank
    Established Member
  • Birthday November 14

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    MN

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    15
  • Handedness
    Righty
  1. FlappyGilmore

    Phil Mickelson Rule

    There are people who think the USGA did not make the correct ruling based on how the rules are currently written. This includes a former president of the USGA. So apparently the rules aren't as cut and dry as they need to be.
  2. FlappyGilmore

    Phil Mickelson Rule

    People saying the committee is wrong.
  3. FlappyGilmore

    Phil Mickelson Rule

    I feel that clear documentation in the form of words is needed. Simply having a verbally passed down policy, "When x occurs apply y." is not enough. There needs to be plain language defining the exact penalty. Having a ruling be at the mercy of the official at hand it not sufficient. It is either a 2 stroke penalty or a DQ, a rules official should not be relied upon to decide. I disagree about you disagreeing. You can look a the situation without the input of the media by asking simple questions: 1. Is what Phil did against the spirit of how the game should be played? 3. What should the penalty be for committing those actions?
  4. FlappyGilmore

    Phil Mickelson Rule

    In Phil's case, yes.
  5. FlappyGilmore

    Phil Mickelson Rule

    1. I guess we have established that the application of the current rule will not be applied fairly to all players. Purposefully hitting your ball while it is still in motion due to a stroke should have a pretty cut and dry penalty. 2. No, now would be a great time to change it.
  6. FlappyGilmore

    Is Phil Mickelson Going Nuts?: Hitting a moving ball at US Open

    If accepting a stroke penalty for declaring a ball unplayable is within the rules of golf, but accepting a 2 stroke penalty for hitting a moving ball is not consider the same, the USGA needs to refine the language they use when writing the rules. If an act is within the rules of the game, why are you being applied a penalty stroke?
  7. FlappyGilmore

    Top ten things to yell after a tee shot

    "Oh no, not again!"
  8. FlappyGilmore

    Is Phil Mickelson Going Nuts?: Hitting a moving ball at US Open

    are the 2 situations really that different in terms of intent and application of penalty strokes?
  9. FlappyGilmore

    Is Phil Mickelson Going Nuts?: Hitting a moving ball at US Open

    I think taking a shot towards the hole is slightly different than deflecting it to gain a better lie.
  10. FlappyGilmore

    Is Phil Mickelson Going Nuts?: Hitting a moving ball at US Open

    Sure he can have an opinion on the matter, he is no longer part of the USGA so all he has in an opinion. But, the USGA as a organization decided it was just a penalty. He even said he would have probably lost his lobbying point.
  11. FlappyGilmore

    Is Phil Mickelson Going Nuts?: Hitting a moving ball at US Open

    If it is right there how come the people IN CHARGE OF THE RULES OF THE GAME did not see it that way? Firstly, Phil did not stop his ball from entering a hazard. Secondly, the rule states the officials should take into consideration all aspects of the incident. Seems like they felt applying the 2 stroke penalty was good enough. You post this as if there has never been a putt where the optimal path to the hole is a break greater than 90 degrees.
  12. FlappyGilmore

    Is Phil Mickelson Going Nuts?: Hitting a moving ball at US Open

    If the rule is so vague that USGA officials don't think it requires a DQing, maybe the rule needs to be changed or a rule added stating, "If a player makes contact with a golf ball in motion in an attempt to better the lie, he shall be DQed." or "The golfer may not touch a ball that has been putted until it is at rest." The game has existed for how long? It shouldn't be hard to put those rules on the books.
  13. FlappyGilmore

    Can an SBD be considered a man-made immovable object?

    I'd be too impressed that a fart had enough force to move a golf ball than anything.
  14. If I am golfing with my mate and he decides to have three breakfast burritos and a case of beer for breakfast. Can get relief from tn inevitable cloud that will hover over my ball?
×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...