Jump to content

ColinL

Established Member
  • Content Count

    446
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

40 Moving Up the Leaderboard

About ColinL

  • Rank
    Well Established Member

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    Scotland

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    15.9

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. ColinL

    Failure To Include an Unknown Penalty

    It's clear that the agenda behind this thread is too strong to make it worth the time trying to put up an argument to the contrary in the expectation it will be engaged with rather than bludgeoned. By the way you have misunderstood and misrepresented much of what I have said and so there's nothing more to be said.
  2. ColinL

    Failure To Include an Unknown Penalty

    Yes, I think you may be missing something. There is more than one way of not knowing about penalty strokes you have incurred. There is ignorance of the rule (and that includes DJ's error) and there is knowing a rule but not realising that you have breached it eg by not noticing you touched sand with your backswing in a bunker, not noticing you accidentally moved your ball, not noticing that you had teed up in front of the markers. You cannot know what you have not seen. In such a situation it's right that the player cops the penalty for whatever it was, but not right that he should be further penalised. Exception – Failure to Include Unknown Penalty: If one or more of the player’s hole scores are lower than the actual scores because he or she excluded one or more penalty strokes that the player did not know about before returning the scorecard.
  3. ColinL

    Failure To Include an Unknown Penalty

    A player of integrity who knows the rules but who breaches one without noticing has his attention drawn to it after he has put in his card. He immediately goes to the committee and reports that he has been advised that he had breached this rule but he had not noticed that he had . The penalty is added on to his score and he feels relieved that he did not inadvertently end up with a better score than he should have done. He has, in short, done the right thing, the honest thing. He has shown integrity. Is it just that he be penalised a further two strokes because other golfers might deliberately cheat their way to a better score than they made? [By the way, if I make an honest mistake in a tax return and correct it after the return date, I don't get penalised. Perhaps US tax law is different.]
  4. ColinL

    Failure To Include an Unknown Penalty

    I'm not seeing the advantage. If you breach a rule and know to take penalty you are 1 or 2 strokes worse off than if you hadn't breached it. If you breach a rule and don't know to take a penalty but it is later discovered and added to your score, you are the same 1 or 2 strokes worse off. The only two ways in which you can have an advantage is 1)if you breach a rule and no-one including yourself knows you have; and 2), if you are dishonest and knowingly don't take a penalty you know you have incurred. If I understand correctly, iacas wants the player who has the penalty for a later discovered breach added to be further punished for his ignorance - pour encourager les autres, I presume. In my view, threatening players into learning the rules is not the purpose of a penalty in golf. And considering you see so many players with no knowledge of the rules, as a threat it doesn't seem to working too well, does it? We should also bear in mind that one of the reasons for not knowing you have incurred a penalty is not being ignorant of the rules, but being unaware you have broken one. Take touching sand in a bunker with your backswing, for example. I know perfectly well that is not allowed and I get a 2 stroke penalty for doing so, but I could simply not have realised, not have noticed that I had. That is not ignorance of the rule, but genuinely not knowing there had been a breach. I do not need an additional 2 stroke penalty to encourage me to know the rules. I know them but I might breach one of them without noticing.
  5. ColinL

    Failure To Include an Unknown Penalty

    I just don't get the fuss about this particular rule. The game depends on the integrity of the player and the rules are based on the premise that players will proceed honestly. Why pick out one rule over all the others which can be bent, broken or manipulated by the dishonest?
  6. ColinL

    Failure To Include an Unknown Penalty

    These are loaded questions designed to steer answers to a desired result. .
  7. ColinL

    Provisional Ball Ruling

    Try it at my club and find out.
  8. ColinL

    Question - New Caddy Rule 2019

    My first paragraph was only intended to point out that it wouldn't normally be possible to stand in front of the player and simultaneously see the target and the player's stance. I missed the aspect of the question whereby if you are on the other side of the hole on the green you could see both target and player. Thanks for pointing that out. I see nothing that would prohibit the caddie standing there and guiding his player while he took his stance provided he moved away before his player made his stroke. Attending the flagstick is specifically excepted.
  9. ColinL

    Question - New Caddy Rule 2019

    The prohibition on standing behind the player while he takes his stance is to stop a caddie assisting in lining up his feet and body. That can only be done from behind. If the caddie stood in front and faced the player to line up his feet etc he wouldn't be able to see the target. If he faced the target he wouldn't be able to see his player. Off the green, anyone can stand on your line of play to point it out. The person must move away before the stroke is made, which means he can be there while the player takes his stance. [Rule 10.2b (1)] On the green, your caddie will be able to stand on your line of play while pointing it out as there be no penalty for touching the line of play. He must not stay on or near the line of play while the stroke is being made (except if attending the flagstick) which again means that he could be there while you take your stance. [Rule 10.2b(2)]
  10. ColinL

    Sand Traps - That's Not Right!!

    I had never heard the term "waste area" until meeting it on American forums. There weren't any on the links courses in Scotland I spent my early days of golfing on. Plenty of sand dunes though. 😀
  11. ColinL

    Sand Traps - That's Not Right!!

    WIkipedia has got it wrong then. A bunker is just a bunker wherever it is situated and there is no such thing in the Rules as a "waste bunker".
  12. ColinL

    USGA/R&A Finalize 2019 Rules of Golf

    Thanks for the reference. I'm going to use this as part of a presentation to members on the new rules.
  13. ColinL

    Holed or no?

    I reckon if you were putting down a slope like that, the ball would bounce off the flagstick and continue to accelerate to a position a long, long way away. 😀
  14. ColinL

    Holed or no?

    Yes, it really has to be if the flagstick is at a considerable angle. I've certainly seen it happen that the flagstick has not been properly returned to its hole at the bottom of the cup and is leaning against the edge of the hole. That would mean a ball could be stopped against it without any of it even being over the hole never mind part of it being below the surface. Unusual though. But if in the end it is at all possible, the rule has to cover it. If you try the tap in with the flagstick in I don't suppose many people will say, "That's fine. It's covered in Rule 13.2." 😉
×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...