• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Sandbagger

About Highdriver

  • Rank

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
  1. Keep in mind, that a ball is in play after the drop. No matter, if the drop was executed correctly or not. 20-4 If the player's ball in play has been lifted, it is again in play when dropped or placed.
  2. Dropping from shouder hight is just a procedure, telling us how to drop, making it easier to decide, if a drop was done properly. The distance to the ground may vary from the size of the player and the ground, on which the player is standing. If you are standing on sloping ground, you are free to drop the ball on either side - even if the distance from shoulder hight to the ground is different on one side to the other side. As long as your ball is not inside the bunker, you may even stand in a deep bunker to drop the ball from maybe five inches to the ground outside the bunker.
  3. An Nearest Point of Relief (NPR) dilemma

    @Dave, Golfingdad and Fourputt Thank you for clearing things up for me!
  4. An Nearest Point of Relief (NPR) dilemma

    Quote: Once that drop is made, physical situations could make a left-handed shot "reasonable,: which would again put the players feet on the cart path. Are you sure about that? IMO the player must drop the ball at a spot, where full relief of the immovable obstruction is given. If he would have to stand on the same IO , from which he is taking relief, he would have to drop somewhere else.
  5. Rake hitting ball in bunker

    Quote: Yes, a bunker is a hazard and yes you are not allowed to touch the ground of a hazard if your ball is lying in it. (Rule 13-4). At the time you are recreating your lie, your ball has been lifted and is not lying in the hazard. But if I read rule 13-4 completely I will learn, that I may not touch the ground in the hazard, if...a ball that is in a hazard or that, having been lifted from a hazard , may be dropped or placed in the hazard ... . I think, the important point is not, that the ball has been lifted before recreating the lie, but the words » Except as provided in the Rules ...« So the second part of your answer is more convincing for me: Quote: Rule 20-3b(iii) explicitly instructs you to recreate the lie anyway. How could you be penalised for doing what a Rule tells you to do?
  6. Are You sure? The rule speaks of a wrong "putting green". The definition for putting green doesn't mention a temporary green. Is a temporary green without a hole "prepared for putting"? I cannot find a decision to back up your statement. Have you got one? I only know golf clubs, which dececlare (by LR) prepared temporary greens, which are not in use as putting greens, as GRU, playing prohibited. This means, that - other than in rule 25-3 - you wouldn't be allowed to stnd on that green while making your stroke. I stand to be corrected, because you are known as one of guys with excellent knowledge of the rules in ths forum.