Jump to content

Martyn W

Established Member
  • Content count

    315
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Martyn W last won the day on August 28 2016

Martyn W had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

87 Power and Finesse to Spare

About Martyn W

  • Rank
    Well Established Member
  • Birthday 09/15/1957

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    Myrtle Beach SC

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    pro
  • Handedness
    Righty

Recent Profile Visitors

2,311 profile views
  1. Martyn W

    Section 3-5 of the USGA Handicap Manual

    Don't forget to adjust for the course rating also. Course handicaps are based on the Slope but the CH's also need to be adjusted for Course Rating. If the CR from the front is say 71 and from the back 73, the players from the back tees get 2 stokes in addition to their Course Handicap.
  2. Yes, replaying the shot is always an option. Rule 20-5: Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made When a player elects or is required to make his next stroke from where a previous stroke was made, he must proceed as follows: (a) On the Teeing Ground: The ball to be played must be played from within the teeing ground. It may be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed. (b) Through the Green: The ball to be played must be dropped and when dropped must first strike a part of the course through the green. (c) In a Hazard: The ball to be played must be dropped and when dropped must first strike a part of the course in the hazard. (d On the Putting Green: The ball to be played must be placed on the putting green.
  3. Martyn W

    Can an SBD be considered a man-made immovable object?

    If the emission of sufficient intensity, the following Decision could apply: http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-18,d18-1-2
  4. Martyn W

    Can an SBD be considered a man-made immovable object?

    Movable - yes; man-made - assuredly; obstruction - no; relief - for him probably.
  5. Martyn W

    Ball moves in backswing, penalty?

    !8-2 was a lot clearer 8 years ago when there was an 18-2b :"Ball Moving After Address If a player’s ball in play moves after he has addressed it (other than as a result of a stroke), the player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty stroke. The ball must be replaced unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made. :.
  6. Martyn W

    Ball moves in backswing, penalty?

    The new 18-2/0.5 Decision gives the answer. It is quite lengthy with examples but the bottom line is ; "If the weight of evidence indicates that it is more likely than not that the player caused the ball to move, even though that conclusion is not free from doubt, the player incurs a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2 "
  7. Martyn W

    12 HS players DQ’d from Tournament

    Sad to say, this is not uncommon in junior tournaments. I have officiated the Dustin Johnson World Junior the past two years and we have a meeting with all volunteers telling them not to instruct or advise the players. On the NtC, we make it clear that ROs have ID and are the only people who can make rulings. The lesson is if the person does not look like my profile pic, ignore him!
  8. In the OP's scenario, wouldn't answer #4 apply since the player used option a) under 28? i.e. no penalty under 18-2
  9. @DaveP043I hear you and don't necessarily disagree, but the penalty under 18-2 is for lifting the ball "except as permitted by the Rules". Whether he intended to or not (I see no mention of intent under the Rule) he was permitted to lift the ball under 28 . There is also no requirement to announce intent under this Rule (unlike 3-3, 27-2 and 12-2), as far I can see. Can we find a Decision to satisfy the player that he incurred the additional penalty under 18-2?
  10. Martyn W

    Hole in one, with club pinned to left armpit

    Brandon is on of my students at Golf Academy of America, he is a true inspiration and has a wonderful attitude. He has gotten literally hundreds of calls for interviews etc. also Taylormade want to make a set of clubs for him and give him free balls for life!. A life changing moment for sure!
  11. Martyn W

    Caddie picks up ball in hazard- incorrectly?

    I'm not sure if the player ever did see the lie, but if he thought he may have been able to get a club on it he could have replaced the ball playing four rather than take the drop (and penalty) playing five.
  12. Martyn W

    Blown leaf alters putt, you can replay?

    Also: from 18-1/7 "Wind is not an outside agency. However, if an object being moved by the wind moves a ball, the object is an outside agency in the circumstances"
  13. Martyn W

    Plugged ball

    One more point to add: do not repair the pitchmark before you drop, that would be improving your area of intended drop in breach of 13-2. If the ball goes back into the pitchmark, re-drop with no penalty (see Rule 20)
  14. Martyn W

    Winter Rules

    You might say the the Decisions is one very large 'accumulation of leaves' (over 750!)
  15. Martyn W

    Winter Rules

    I was using the words 'leaf rule' the way the Rules Book uses it since this is the RoG forum
×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...